We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This is such a beautiful hotel !!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Grand America Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Grand America Hotel to your Saves list
Grand America Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   555 South Main Street, Salt Lake City, UT 84111   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 74 Hotels in Salt Lake City
Kingston, Washington
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“This is such a beautiful hotel !!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2014

You have got to stay here at least once. The rooms are amazing. The staff was so helpful. This was our second time at the Grand America, and we can't wait to go back! You have to eat at the Garden Cafe, it is in the hotel.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

858 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    660
    135
    41
    14
    8
See reviews for
122
246
38
357
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (209)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
los angeles
Top Contributor
118 reviews 118 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2014

Ok. I haven't stayed there but my boyfriend said that it was better than the Plaza. This is a really first class hotel. The staff is warm and helpful and the place is gorgeous! We got to the hotel at 10:00 a.m. even though check in time isn't until the afternoon. The receptionist said, "no problem" when we asked to check in so early although they didn't have a room with a king size bed. We were willing to take two queens. The room was beautifully appointed and huge. I can't think of anything we could have asked for. We spent some time at the pool which was great--not too crowded and the temperature was perfect. This morning we had a deluxe Continental breakfast in the lobby location where they serve tea later in the day. The price was good (perhaps $12 or $13) and it was enough for two meals for me. Definitely treat yourself. You won't regret it.

Room Tip: Hard to imagine that there are bad rooms in this hotel--only great and excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GAHotelsandResorts, Public Relations Manager at Grand America Hotel, responded to this review, August 25, 2014
Dear valleytrekke -

Thank you for your recent review on TripAdvisor. We are always delighted to hear from our guests as part of our continual effort to improve guest experience. It is always a pleasure to hear that our guests were able to enjoy everything the property has to offer. We are honored to have earned your trust and look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale, Arizona
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2014

The service was amazing! I travel a lot and this is one of the most beautiful hotels I have ever seen or stayed in. The marble appointments in the bathroom are quite a nice touch and if you are not careful, you may want to decorate a room in your house like the hotel room! :)

Room Tip: Mountain View side
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GAHotelsandResorts, Public Relations Manager at Grand America Hotel, responded to this review, August 13, 2014
Dear Shan143 -

Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience at The Grand with us. Feedback is such an important part of our effort to keep improving the Grand's hospitality experience. Thank you again for your kind remarks and for recommending us so highly. We will look forward to the opportunity of welcoming you back again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2014

I booked the hotel based on the tripadvisor review without that much of expectation
We enjoyed very much trip form yellow stone to fly to LA

Swimming pool was great and sunday brunch is must to try.

Glad we stayed..:)

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Sauveur des Monts, Canada
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2014

Very luxurious hotel with exceptional service. Rooms are super clean and spacious with everything you need. Rooms have small balcony which is pretty nice to enjoy the view. Hotel is also well located near almost everything in the city. Maids come to your room every evening to prepare your bed, close the curtains and lights so you can jump right in your bed when you come back after dinner. Beds are ultra comfy!
I will definitely return to the Grand America Hotel.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GAHotelsandResorts, Public Relations Manager at Grand America Hotel, responded to this review, August 13, 2014
Dear crccrew -

Thank you again for your most thoughtful feedback and for recommending us so highly. We certainly recognize there are many options available for your consideration in the Salt Lake City area. We are honored you chose the Grand America on this occasion and for the opportunity to earn your trust. Have a happy and safe rest of your summer! We look forward to welcoming you back to the Grand in the future and until then, we will remain at your service.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
derwood, md
Top Contributor
102 reviews 102 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
84 helpful votes 84 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2014

My spouse and I stayed here last weekend and loved the hotel. The architecture looks like it is an old hotel that is updated, but a staff member told me it was built in 2001. Wood paneling abounds the hotel. Our room was fantastic, large with a sizable sitting area. It had two bathroom type areas with separate sinks. The bathtub was big with high capacity water fixtures. There was also a separate shower and a separate commode area. Overall, we wished that we had scheduled additional nights to stay here, our view from the 24th floor was fantastic. We would stay here again in a heart beat. It is about a 15 minute walk to LDS Temple square, if that is a concern.

Room Tip: Ask for a high room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Beach, New York
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2014

I traveled to Salt Lake on business with low expectations for the area living in New York and being slightly spoiled. I was immensely surprised not only at the opulence of the executive suite but also at the willingness of the staff to go out of their way to help. Room service was a 70/30 experince but breakfast across the street at Little America in the diner was spectacular. Eggs Benedict if that is your thing. The Trax is right down the block and nothing is out of reach. Make sure to take a dip in the pool as well.

Room Tip: If it is in your budget, get the executive suite, the windows in ALL of the rooms open.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Grand America Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand America Hotel

Address: 555 South Main Street, Salt Lake City, UT 84111
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Utah > Salt Lake City
Amenities:
Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Salt Lake City
#1 Spa Hotel in Salt Lake City
#1 Luxury Hotel in Salt Lake City
#2 Romantic Hotel in Salt Lake City
#3 Family Hotel in Salt Lake City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand America Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 775
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Amex, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your Grand America Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Grand America
Grand America Salt Lake City
Grand America Hotel Salt Lake City, Utah

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand America Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.