We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This was in line with a Ritz Carlton for for less!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Grand America Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Grand America Hotel to your Saves list
Grand America Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   555 South Main Street, Salt Lake City, UT 84111   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
$100 Hotel Credit
Ranked #1 of 76 Hotels in Salt Lake City
Scottsdale, Arizona
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“This was in line with a Ritz Carlton for for less!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2014

The service was amazing! I travel a lot and this is one of the most beautiful hotels I have ever seen or stayed in. The marble appointments in the bathroom are quite a nice touch and if you are not careful, you may want to decorate a room in your house like the hotel room! :)

Room Tip: Mountain View side
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GAHotelsandResorts, Public Relations Manager at Grand America Hotel, responded to this review, August 13, 2014
Dear Shan143 -

Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience at The Grand with us. Feedback is such an important part of our effort to keep improving the Grand's hospitality experience. Thank you again for your kind remarks and for recommending us so highly. We will look forward to the opportunity of welcoming you back again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

794 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    614
    125
    34
    14
    7
See reviews for
113
226
37
331
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (191)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2014

I booked the hotel based on the tripadvisor review without that much of expectation
We enjoyed very much trip form yellow stone to fly to LA

Swimming pool was great and sunday brunch is must to try.

Glad we stayed..:)

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Sauveur des Monts, Canada
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2014

Very luxurious hotel with exceptional service. Rooms are super clean and spacious with everything you need. Rooms have small balcony which is pretty nice to enjoy the view. Hotel is also well located near almost everything in the city. Maids come to your room every evening to prepare your bed, close the curtains and lights so you can jump right in your bed when you come back after dinner. Beds are ultra comfy!
I will definitely return to the Grand America Hotel.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GAHotelsandResorts, Public Relations Manager at Grand America Hotel, responded to this review, August 13, 2014
Dear crccrew -

Thank you again for your most thoughtful feedback and for recommending us so highly. We certainly recognize there are many options available for your consideration in the Salt Lake City area. We are honored you chose the Grand America on this occasion and for the opportunity to earn your trust. Have a happy and safe rest of your summer! We look forward to welcoming you back to the Grand in the future and until then, we will remain at your service.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
derwood, md
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
82 helpful votes 82 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2014

My spouse and I stayed here last weekend and loved the hotel. The architecture looks like it is an old hotel that is updated, but a staff member told me it was built in 2001. Wood paneling abounds the hotel. Our room was fantastic, large with a sizable sitting area. It had two bathroom type areas with separate sinks. The bathtub was big with high capacity water fixtures. There was also a separate shower and a separate commode area. Overall, we wished that we had scheduled additional nights to stay here, our view from the 24th floor was fantastic. We would stay here again in a heart beat. It is about a 15 minute walk to LDS Temple square, if that is a concern.

Room Tip: Ask for a high room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Beach, New York
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2014

I traveled to Salt Lake on business with low expectations for the area living in New York and being slightly spoiled. I was immensely surprised not only at the opulence of the executive suite but also at the willingness of the staff to go out of their way to help. Room service was a 70/30 experince but breakfast across the street at Little America in the diner was spectacular. Eggs Benedict if that is your thing. The Trax is right down the block and nothing is out of reach. Make sure to take a dip in the pool as well.

Room Tip: If it is in your budget, get the executive suite, the windows in ALL of the rooms open.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isle of Palms, South Carolina
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2014

We always get an E.facing suite. A great,user friendly room offering.. Food is way above norm,for Ut.. if you play it right,you can escape w/o paying for parking..This ISN'T Manhattan. Figure out the one way streets quick and learn how to dodge the trolleys.

Room Tip: East facing rooms for great sunrises and NOT the hot afternoon sun.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GAHotelsandResorts, Public Relations Manager at Grand America Hotel, responded to this review, August 25, 2014
Dear GEORGE H -

On behalf of the Grand America Hotel staff we sincerely thank you for the opportunity to have been your lodging choice in Salt Lake City once again. We are humbled by your kind remarks. Again, thank you for your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2014

This is a beautiful hotel. I stayed for 3 nights in February. The beds are very comfortable and the rooms are quiet and exceptional. The staff was very helpful and pleasant. I took the transit system from the airport that dropped off across the street of the hotel, so transportation was super easy. The Brooklyn Nets and Boys II Men were in the hotel at the same time I stayed, so I know this is the preferred place to stay in SLC. The food was great. I stayed to attend a conference and all meals were catered and no complaints on anything. No detail was missed during my stay. I would definitely return if ever in SLC again. Oh, and if you visit the hotel, visit JouJou the toy store in the hotel.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Grand America Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand America Hotel

Address: 555 South Main Street, Salt Lake City, UT 84111
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Utah > Salt Lake City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Salt Lake City
#1 Business Hotel in Salt Lake City
#1 Spa Hotel in Salt Lake City
#1 Luxury Hotel in Salt Lake City
#3 Family Hotel in Salt Lake City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand America Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 775
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Grand America Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Grand America
Grand America Salt Lake City
Grand America Hotel Salt Lake City, Utah

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand America Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.