We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Prince Of The West” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Grand America Hotel

Save Saved
You added Grand America Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Grand America Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   555 South Main Street, Salt Lake City, UT 84111   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 76 Hotels in Salt Lake City
Long Beach, New York
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Prince Of The West”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2014

I traveled to Salt Lake on business with low expectations for the area living in New York and being slightly spoiled. I was immensely surprised not only at the opulence of the executive suite but also at the willingness of the staff to go out of their way to help. Room service was a 70/30 experince but breakfast across the street at Little America in the diner was spectacular. Eggs Benedict if that is your thing. The Trax is right down the block and nothing is out of reach. Make sure to take a dip in the pool as well.

Room Tip: If it is in your budget, get the executive suite, the windows in ALL of the rooms open.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

759 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    582
    124
    33
    13
    7
See reviews for
112
215
37
310
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (179)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
MIDLOTHIAN
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2014

We always get an E.facing suite. A great,user friendly room offering.. Food is way above norm,for Ut.. if you play it right,you can escape w/o paying for parking..This ISN'T Manhattan. Figure out the one way streets quick and learn how to dodge the trolleys.

Room Tip: East facing rooms for great sunrises and NOT the hot afternoon sun.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GAHotelsandResorts, Public Relations Manager at Grand America Hotel, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
Dear GEORGE H -

On behalf of the Grand America Hotel staff we sincerely thank you for the opportunity to have been your lodging choice in Salt Lake City once again. We are humbled by your kind remarks. Again, thank you for your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2014

This is a beautiful hotel. I stayed for 3 nights in February. The beds are very comfortable and the rooms are quiet and exceptional. The staff was very helpful and pleasant. I took the transit system from the airport that dropped off across the street of the hotel, so transportation was super easy. The Brooklyn Nets and Boys II Men were in the hotel at the same time I stayed, so I know this is the preferred place to stay in SLC. The food was great. I stayed to attend a conference and all meals were catered and no complaints on anything. No detail was missed during my stay. I would definitely return if ever in SLC again. Oh, and if you visit the hotel, visit JouJou the toy store in the hotel.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2014

This is our kind of hotel. Large, well furnished room. Large public areas. Large outdoor swimming pool. As so many guests were there on business, it was quiet during the day, which we liked.
We ate in the dining room one night and the food was absolutely fine, if a little unexciting. The cakes in the patisserie were excellent.
It's an easy tram ride into the city centre.
We would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

This place is fancy...and the people staying there reflect it, generally. The suites are beautiful; everything you touch and see is top-notch...from the lobby to your room, nothing is overlooked. But, because of the formality, it's a bit stuffy.

The staff is very helpful with ANYTHING you need...just know that it's gonna be a high-end experience in all ways.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GAHotelsandResorts, Public Relations Manager at Grand America Hotel, responded to this review, August 6, 2014
Dear Dowdy D-

Thank you again for your most thoughtful feedback and for recommending us so highly. We certainly recognize there are many options available for your consideration in the Salt Lake City area. We are honored you chose the Grand America on this occasion and for the opportunity to earn your trust. Have a happy and safe rest of your summer! We look forward to welcoming you and back in the future and until then, we will remain at your service.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Maine
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2014

We stayed at this hotel for two nights; it is certainly grand. The indoor pool and spa are super nice and great for relaxing. Massage could have been better as well as the food in the cafe. Large, gorgeous flower bouquet in the lobby upon entering. The bellhops are friendly and professional. Definite sweet spot in Salt Lake City.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GAHotelsandResorts, Public Relations Manager at Grand America Hotel, responded to this review, August 6, 2014
Dear sarahlikesthat-

Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience at the Grand America Hotel. We were delighted that the service quality and facility met your expectations and will share your comments with our staff. We are humbled by your kind remarks about our team and the Grand Spa. We will look forward to the opportunity of welcoming you back again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2014

I stayed here for a conference and immediately I was impressed with its luxurious interior. First class service and accommodations. My bathroom looked like versailles… it was an experience not to be missed or forgotten!

Room Tip: do the afternoon tea! its lovely
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Grand America Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand America Hotel

Address: 555 South Main Street, Salt Lake City, UT 84111
Location: United States > Utah > Salt Lake City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Salt Lake City
#1 Luxury Hotel in Salt Lake City
#1 Spa Hotel in Salt Lake City
#1 Romantic Hotel in Salt Lake City
#3 Family Hotel in Salt Lake City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand America Hotel 5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Tingo, getaroom.com, Reservation Counter, Odigeo and Venere so you can book your Grand America Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Grand America
Grand America Salt Lake City
Grand America Hotel Salt Lake City, Utah

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand America Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.