We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Grand America Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Grand America Hotel to your Saves list
Grand America Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   555 South Main Street, Salt Lake City, UT 84111   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 75 Hotels in Salt Lake City
Windsor, Canada
2 reviews
“Perfect”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

Random choice of this hotel for a recent conference. Wow. Spotless housekeeping. The staff were friendly and engaging. Turndown service at night, complimentary wifi, reasonably priced fantastic breakfast buffet. I would not stay anywhere else in Salt Lake.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

803 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    621
    126
    35
    14
    7
See reviews for
113
230
38
332
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (196)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2013 via mobile

The Grand America is about 10-15 years but has the look and feel of world class hotel and gardens, with good restaurants. One could easily get "lost" in the hotels, it is huge yet small. A bellman pointed out a pattern in the hallway rugs which "lead one" to the elevator banks. Very clever touch. Rooms are spacious, comfortable, and "nicely" finished. There is one very nice touch, every evening the room is turned down, and music is playing softly. Another nice touch, when you turn on the TV, the sound is set to "soft" rather than blasting. The best part however, is the staff across the board. Desk, concierge, bell persons, wait persons, whomever, pleasant, considerate, very helpful. This has been a delightful six days, feeling very much at home even being far from home.

Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bozeman, Montana
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2013

For medical reasons, we have to come to Salt Lake City at least twice, up to four times a year. Ever since we started staying at the Grand, those trips are something I look forward to!
We love the spacious suites, the deep bathtub, the plush robes, and the balcony. The turndown service is great. And the staff is wonderful. On one of our trips we were delayed by car trouble, and arrived after midnight, tired and hungry. I had asked for some cheese and fruit to be waiting for us in the room, and there was a wonderful spread. Not cheap,but I didn't expect that in a five star hotel. Even when there is a problem, in our experience, if you make your complaint known right away, the staff will do their utmost to make things right.
The decor in the hotel is old-fashioned, classy European, which we appreciate.
We recently stayed in the Ritz-Carlton in Moscow, Russia, and while there thought longingly of the Grand, for the friendly staff, attentive service, and airy rooms.
It is our home away from home!

Room Tip: Higher floors, as said many times in the previous reviews.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorba Linda, California
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013

What luxury. Spacious, well lit suite. His and Her bathrooms :) Comfortable bed and seating area. Good size working desk. Rooms and hallways were quiet. Wonderful, relaxing massage for stress reduction. The spa was under renovation so hotel rooms had been converted temporarily. That is the only reason the spa didn't get 5 stars. Cafe was quiet with delicious food. I had the most beautiful bowl of oatmeal for breakfast. We like and use the trax trains to get around town. It is so convenient to have it at the closest intersection.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013

I am staying here for a Conference that takes place at The Salt Palace, and I am happy to say I have never stayed anywhere so elegant, beautiful, and fantastic. This place has everything you could need and / or want, and very well accommodates business travelers. Not only is the hotel itself exquisite, but the mood it immediately creates is one of high end comfort. (Harpist playing in the lounge entrance, large comfortable chairs, sparkling chandeliers, older paintings.)

The bathrooms are incredible in size, have a huge COMFORTABLE tub, plus an all glass-sided stand-up shower with a multi-setting shower head. It becomes hard to decide where to do your makeup or get ready, as there are 2 very large vanity areas, one inside the tub room, one in the ante-room.

I came back to my room after a long evening of shopping at the Temple Square, and found a lovely tray of assorted items on my bed, along with the completed bed turn down service, the shades had been closed, and a few things in the room mildly rearranged for my evening convenience. It was perfect. The complementary slippers were comfortable, and the robes were nicely big and heavy.

I did get Room Service, which was nice. The presentation was beautiful and the man brought it right into my room and set it up on the portable table. The food quality was alright, just slightly below the standards now had in my head for this particular hotel. The Mango sorbet was alright, and Chicken Alfredo was very creamy and cheesy, but not over-bearing.

All of the staff were wonderful, courteous, asking how my evening was, how I was enjoying the conference, and helping me with my simple requests.

My only complaint would be that the sheets were a little stiff / hard, like maybe there was a lot of starch in the wash. The beds themselves were pretty soft and comfortable though. Everything else here has been superb and thank you to all the staff who made our stay so wonderful!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anchorage, Alaska
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

The Grand America was magnificent - not a detail not thought of, the food marvelous, the service and staff, and everything else absolutely 5-stars. My favorite was standing on our private balcony at night after it cooled down. Second favorite was meals in the restaurant, each course building on the next, everything fresh and local.

Room Tip: Request a room with a private balcony overlooking the city - magnificent views
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katy, Texas
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

This is an absolutely beautiful hotel. We had a suite that swallowed us in luxury. The bed was very comfortable and the sitting room nice as well. We had 2 separate sinks to get ready at and there was more than enough room in the shower/tub area to stay out of each other's way. The evening turn down service was a nice touch. We were there on business and enjoyed dinner in the smaller restaurant. The food was predetermined, but was very good.I had the trout and was very happy.
The hotel lobby has a very nice atmosphere and the lounge area is a great place to relax in the morning and evening. We enjoyed coffee and pastries in the morning there. They have music in the evening that is not too loud.
The location sits on the corner of one of the light rail stops. We took the rail from the airport for $2.50 each. Taking the rail throughout downtown is free when you stay within a certain square radius, which the hotel is in. It was very convenient to hop on and off toward Temple Square.
We loved our weekend here! The staff was very nice too!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Grand America Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand America Hotel

Address: 555 South Main Street, Salt Lake City, UT 84111
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Utah > Salt Lake City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Salt Lake City
#1 Romantic Hotel in Salt Lake City
#1 Business Hotel in Salt Lake City
#3 Family Hotel in Salt Lake City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand America Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 775
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Grand America Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Grand America
Grand America Salt Lake City
Grand America Hotel Salt Lake City, Utah

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand America Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.