We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful hotel and good location for downtown” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Grand America Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Grand America Hotel to your Saves list
Grand America Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   555 South Main Street, Salt Lake City, UT 84111   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 75 Hotels in Salt Lake City
Katy, Texas
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Beautiful hotel and good location for downtown”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

This is an absolutely beautiful hotel. We had a suite that swallowed us in luxury. The bed was very comfortable and the sitting room nice as well. We had 2 separate sinks to get ready at and there was more than enough room in the shower/tub area to stay out of each other's way. The evening turn down service was a nice touch. We were there on business and enjoyed dinner in the smaller restaurant. The food was predetermined, but was very good.I had the trout and was very happy.
The hotel lobby has a very nice atmosphere and the lounge area is a great place to relax in the morning and evening. We enjoyed coffee and pastries in the morning there. They have music in the evening that is not too loud.
The location sits on the corner of one of the light rail stops. We took the rail from the airport for $2.50 each. Taking the rail throughout downtown is free when you stay within a certain square radius, which the hotel is in. It was very convenient to hop on and off toward Temple Square.
We loved our weekend here! The staff was very nice too!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

819 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    629
    130
    39
    14
    7
See reviews for
118
235
38
336
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (203)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

The Grand America exceeded my expectations and our stay turned out to be one of the best experiences I have had. The rooms are beautifully decorated with attention to every detail and very, very clean. We were greeted with smiles throughout our stay and everyone went out of their way to serve our needs. We also loved the little touches like chewy chocolate chip cookies available 24/7 near the check in desk and the little samples of sorbet by the lounge. There is a lovely restaurant with incredible food and several lounges so you really don't need to leave the hotel for meals or drinks but if you decide to everything is within walking distance or a short cab ride away. The beautiful grounds outside are a perfect place for photo ops. The only down side was that the indoor pool was closed for renovation, something my daughter was looking forward to. It would have been nice to have been told about this at the time of making a reservation or at least a small discount off our hotel bill would have been nice. I would absolutely stay here again. Also make sure not to miss the Sunday brunch which is $45 for adults and $22 for children and worth every penny. It beats the Sunday brunch at the Bellagio hotel in Las Vegas hands down.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
McLean, VA
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

Clearly the best hotel in town. Beautiful entrance. Wood, gold and imported tapestries on the main floor. Nicely appointed rooms with large bathrooms and closets. We loved it that you can walk to the free trolly to take us downtown.

Room Tip: Ask for a room high enough for a good view the mountains.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

I've stayed in many four and five star hotels around the world but the Grand America has to be one of the nicest. It's located in the unlikely place of Salt Lake City. My son and I were doing a cross country trip and I sprang for a Junior Suite. It was quite the room with nice views, incredible beds, a beautiful sitting room and an exquisite bathroom (all marble). The staff was very helpful and the property very well maintained. I did have a package delivered there and I didn't appreciate being charged for them just to receive my small package and hold it for the same day arrival. My only complaint is that the hotel facilities like the pool and spa closed way too early. After a day of driving, we were looking forward to a nice swim and spa. By the time we got back from dinner, everything was closed. Apparently, this is the way life is in Salt Lake City, so try and arrive early. The Grand America was pricey for SLC, $225 for the suite but well worth it.

Room Tip: I gave the spa only two stars, I was able to walk through and it looked quite nice but it closed so...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013 via mobile

I cannot think of one thing to criticize. It was opulent, luxurious, gorgeous, and completely comfortable. I wanted to bring my room home with me, especially the bathroom. The Gibson Girls Lounge was fun! Everyone was polite, professional and concerned with my comfort. Fabulous in every way. 10 out of 10!

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheGrandAmerica, Public Relations Manager at Grand America Hotel, responded to this review, October 11, 2013
Dear Natchittychat-

Thank you for such a generous review. We appreciate your feedback and look forward to sharing it with our staff. If your travels bring you to Salt Lake City once again, we hope you'll stay at The Grand. Until then, we remain at your service.

Hotel Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona, Spain
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013 via mobile

My room was spacious, elegantly decorated and totally comfortable!
Very surprising for a large conference hotel. The service at the sunlit bar off the lobby was impeccable. Just wish I'd had my wife and children with me...my room was next to the pool and the weather was perfect. Salt Lake City is not my kind of city but if you go this is the place to stay.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairbanks, Alaska
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

We had our best hotel experience ever at the Grand America. It was our honeymoon and they definitely made us feel special. We were able to check in early and given a congratulatory card from the staff.

Everyone we came across was friendly and helpful, even before we checked in. My husband called the hotel from the airport asking for the name of an emergency dentist. The concierge was happy to help.

Our room was beautiful, including the bathroom. It was large, well-decorated and very quiet. The view from our small balcony was great.

The pool and hot tub were very nice too.

We had a cocktail and snack in the lounge, which has a great happy hour. We wish we could have made afternoon tea.

There are many great restaurants within easy walking distance of the hotel. There's also a new outdoor mall.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheGrandAmerica, Public Relations Manager at Grand America Hotel, responded to this review, October 11, 2013
Dear akchick3-

Thank you for taking the time to write your review. We appreciate your feedback and are glad to hear you were able to enjoy a nice honeymoon stay with us. We hope you’ll stay with us again should you travel through Salt Lake City once again!

Hotel Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Grand America Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand America Hotel

Address: 555 South Main Street, Salt Lake City, UT 84111
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Utah > Salt Lake City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Salt Lake City
#1 Business Hotel in Salt Lake City
#1 Romantic Hotel in Salt Lake City
#3 Family Hotel in Salt Lake City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand America Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 775
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Amex, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Grand America Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Grand America
Grand America Salt Lake City
Grand America Hotel Salt Lake City, Utah

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand America Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.