We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Opulence” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Grand America Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Grand America Hotel to your Saves list
Grand America Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   555 South Main Street, Salt Lake City, UT 84111   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 76 Hotels in Salt Lake City
New Hampshire
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Opulence”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013 via mobile

This hotel is large and seems a bit out of character for Salt Lake. Lobby/ hotel are quite grand with lots of marble and wood; harp strumming in background. Location is great, just off Main St. though somewhat on periphery of downtown. Free trolley runs just outside hotel front door.
Outdoor pool about 20 meters long and acceptable for lap swimming. Nice, pretty large workout room.
Rooms are very large and pretty formal..... very comfortable and quiet, Bathroom was very large with shower and bathtub.
In summary, beautiful, formal and very comfortable grand property in close proximity to downtown. A little too stuffy for my tastes but I would generally recommend.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

784 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    605
    125
    34
    13
    7
See reviews for
113
225
37
322
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (187)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Salt Lake City
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

The Grand America is beautiful and extravagant. From the moment you step into the lobby, you'll be very impressed with the grandeur- chandeliers, marble, gold accents, fresh flower arrangements, etc. The service is well executed.
My issue lies with the lack of placards or signs to direct you to elevators for the rooms and for parking. When I did find the elevators for the room, the hallway numbering was very confusing even though it was numbered. I thought my room was down the hallway in front of me, but it was actually a hallway behind me. I would chalk it up to something else but when my husband did the same exact thing when coming up to the room, I figured it must not be just me.
We stayed in the most basic room they had. People are gaga over the "old time charm" of the decorations in the room, but me not so much. It felt like I was staying in my grandma's house with all of the pink couches, green carpet and pictures of pink and green roses. I wanted the room to feel luxurious and the décor just didn't do it.
The bathroom was gorgeous. I wish the tub had some jets in it to enhance the relaxing experience. The robes were comfortable and the bed was unbelievably comfortable. I appreciated the separate living area with a tv and the bedroom area with another tv.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013 via mobile

I stayed 4 nights for a business meeting. Staff was top drawer. Hotel rooms are very large and nice. The hotel is beautiful. The rooms were quiet and the finishes were nice. Just a great place to spend 4 nights for business or pleasure. It's not cheap but worth a stay. I hope I get a chance to stay here again.

Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
orlando
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

We spent four nights at the Grand America Hotel in Salt Lake City during the "Pioneers Days"
celebrations in July, 2013. We booked a one bedroom suite with small balcony on the hotel's own website. Room rate was attractive and not much more expensive than a standard room with king bed. It was well worth every penny!

Upon entering the Grand America, we were impressed by the beauty of the structure, the calm
welcoming lobby and the warmth of the front desk staff. We chose an east facing suite on a higher floor with views of the Wasatch Front stretching across the horizon. The view alone was worth the price of the room! The living room was spacious and well suited for entertaining. We invited friends to view the Pioneer Days fireworks display from our suite and we all enjoyed the best viewing spot in the Salt Lake Valley!

Our well furnished accommodation featured comfortable upholstered furniture in the living room,
a very comfortable king bed with "top of the line" bedding, a large walk in closet area (with an additional sink and vanity) and one of the most luxurious bathrooms we have ever enjoyed in a hotel. Large tub and stall shower as well as plenty of storage space. We could have lived here for a month and never felt short of space. Housekeeping was superb as could be expected.

The Grand America's location could not be better. It was an easy walk to many downtown venues, and all four "Trax" light rail lines stopped one block from our front door. We used Trax to travel to the University of Utah, Temple Square, the Arena (where we enjoyed a great rodeo performance) and even the airport! Our friends in Sandy were only 20 minutes away, via light rail.
Other U.S. cities would do well to build their own systems to cut down on local traffic.

We found the cost of meals at the Grand America a bit out of line in a city noted for its low food prices. Room service breakfasts while excellent, were very expensive, but we simply walked across the street to the Little America Hotel (lower priced "sister" to the Grand America and enjoyed huge breakfasts at reasonable rates. The dining room at the Little America was packed with guests and locals, attesting to the good food served here.

The one "must" during your stay at the Grand America is to enjoy Afternoon Tea in the beautiful
lobby lounge. My wife and I invited local friends to this wonderful repast and we were all impressed with the attractive setting, the gracious atmosphere and the traditional "cream" tea service complete with a selection teas and coffee, sweets, sandwiches and savories. A touch of Britain along the Wasatch Front! We could not eat dinner that evening!

Will we return to the Grand America during our next visit to Salt Lake City? Wild horses could not keep us away!

Room Tip: Choose an east facing room on a high floor. These rooms provide panoramic views of the Wasatch Front...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheGrandAmerica, Public Relations Manager at Grand America Hotel, responded to this review, October 4, 2013
Dear ameltz-

On behalf of our entire stay we would like to kindly thank you for your review. Thank you for taking the time to point out the details that made your stay so memorable. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Grand in the near future!

Hotel Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarasota, Florida
Top Contributor
174 reviews 174 reviews
71 hotel reviews
Reviews in 70 cities Reviews in 70 cities
114 helpful votes 114 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

Just finished up a meeting with clients at the Grand Hotel in SLC. I have stayed there before however this was my first time with a group. Twenty in total.

Rooms are top notch - plenty of room and well appointed. The hotel is on par with other premium properties such as Ritz Carlton, Four Seasons, etc. Beds are comfortable, bathrooms are marble and upkeep is above average.

Our meeting services were above average. Service was great and the staff is extremely friendly and inviting. The food quality was excellent as we had several meals - breakfast lunch and dinner. Found the meeting space to be excellent. There were several decent size meetings going on at once and there is plenty of room.

The grounds of the hotel are in tip top shape. Everything is well manicured and very well maintained. Lobby bar/lounge is a great spot to have a drink or their is a formal tea on most days. Ate dinner at the Garden Cafe and had an excellent meal - lamb dish. The hotel is known for their Sunday brunch though i did not get to enjoy due to work.

All in all this is probably the best choice for a stay in SLC. Will definitely return for business or pleasure.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miamisburg, Ohio
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

Loved the Grand America. Our room, an executive suite, was fabulous and the service here top notch. Loved the outdoor pool. Wish the weather had been more accomodating so we could have enjoyed it more. The daily breakfast buffet was awesome, just sorry we had to miss Sunday brunch. Great location and just a quick walk to free in city rail transportation. If you need to stay in Salt Lake City look no farther than the Grand America.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheGrandAmerica, Public Relations Manager at Grand America Hotel, responded to this review, October 4, 2013
Dear Karen3873,

Thank you for taking the time to review The Grand America Hotel. It is great to hear you enjoyed your stay and liked your breakfast at The Garden Café as well as the outdoor pool area. We hope you’ll stay with us again should you travel through Salt Lake City once again.

Hotel Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minot, North Dakota
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

The Grand American Hotel is worthy of every praise and is a destination in itself. We set aside days just to enjoy the hotel's many grand venues. We simply won't stay anywhere else in Salt Lake City. You can read other reviews to get a better feel, but I'll clue you in on a few extras.

All dining venues are worth patronizing. The Sunday Brunch is popular and at first pricy, until you see the quality and quantity of offerings. If you are choosy, you CAN make it pay (fresh oysters on the half shell anyone?) There is a bakery on the premises with artisan bread, delightful deserts and gelato. The toy store is as eclectic and fascinating as they come. The pool area is a delight and during our visit, an adult oasis -- no bratty screaming kids.

As expected in an LDS community, booze is expensive and often hidden from view. There is a state wine store several blocks from the hotel, but generally alcohol is discouraged. There are some venues in the hotel where one can enjoy a cocktail is that is desired, but while we didn't imbibe, we found the Gibson Girl Lounge a disappointment. It seems an intimate place to share a beverage with a friend, until one spies the huge screen TV blasting football games. The male employees of the lounge congregate to watch TV and ignore patrons! The TV is incongruous and totally tacky. The lounge isn't a sports bar by any stretch of the imagination. Note to management: get it out of there and tell the boys to get back to work!

While the hotel is elegant and convenient to the Trax light rail, don't ever -- and I mean EVER -- think it is in a safe neighborhood, particularly after dark. There is a nasty side to Salt Lake City that few talk about, but believe me, it is there. Police presence isn't. Graffiti, criminals, druggies, drunks and mean streets are but a block away in any direction from the Grand America. Pedestrians cross streets at their peril while drivers run red lights and aim for pedestrians lawfully in a crosswalk. Again, don't ever be deluded into thinking SLC is crime-free. Stay in the hotel at night, it's safe, elegant and has plenty to do.

Go to the concierge desk and ask for the self-guided hotel art tour. It is a little secret and the art and antiques in the hotel are amazing. You can do it in one day or in several, and you are certain to be delighted.

Another little secret is that from 4 p.m. to 6 p.m. appetizers are half price ("Appy Hour") in the Lobby Lounge/Café. You can dine on half price crepes, shrimp cocktails, antipasto, sandwiches, soups, and still enjoy all of the amenities. On some days you may need to wait for a table as the 3:30 p.m. seating of afternoon tea may be still in session, but for half price goodies, it is worth the wait. We enjoyed several times and never had a bother or a wait.

On a last note, some rooms are noisier than others and sometimes there are service failures with staff. Don't stew about it and then gripe when you get home. Go straight to the front desk and let them work any problems. We did and they did, and we are totally satisfied.

Room Tip: Upgrade to a suite and try for a higher floor. Be flexible in whether to have two queen beds or a k...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Grand America Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand America Hotel

Address: 555 South Main Street, Salt Lake City, UT 84111
Location: United States > Utah > Salt Lake City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Salt Lake City
#1 Spa Hotel in Salt Lake City
#1 Luxury Hotel in Salt Lake City
#1 Romantic Hotel in Salt Lake City
#3 Family Hotel in Salt Lake City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand America Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 775
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Amex, Orbitz, Priceline, getaroom.com, Reservation Counter, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Grand America Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Grand America
Grand America Salt Lake City
Grand America Hotel Salt Lake City, Utah

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand America Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.