We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Grand in (almost) Every way!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Grand America Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Grand America Hotel to your Saves list
Grand America Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   555 South Main Street, Salt Lake City, UT 84111   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 75 Hotels in Salt Lake City
Minot, North Dakota
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“Grand in (almost) Every way!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

The Grand American Hotel is worthy of every praise and is a destination in itself. We set aside days just to enjoy the hotel's many grand venues. We simply won't stay anywhere else in Salt Lake City. You can read other reviews to get a better feel, but I'll clue you in on a few extras.

All dining venues are worth patronizing. The Sunday Brunch is popular and at first pricy, until you see the quality and quantity of offerings. If you are choosy, you CAN make it pay (fresh oysters on the half shell anyone?) There is a bakery on the premises with artisan bread, delightful deserts and gelato. The toy store is as eclectic and fascinating as they come. The pool area is a delight and during our visit, an adult oasis -- no bratty screaming kids.

As expected in an LDS community, booze is expensive and often hidden from view. There is a state wine store several blocks from the hotel, but generally alcohol is discouraged. There are some venues in the hotel where one can enjoy a cocktail is that is desired, but while we didn't imbibe, we found the Gibson Girl Lounge a disappointment. It seems an intimate place to share a beverage with a friend, until one spies the huge screen TV blasting football games. The male employees of the lounge congregate to watch TV and ignore patrons! The TV is incongruous and totally tacky. The lounge isn't a sports bar by any stretch of the imagination. Note to management: get it out of there and tell the boys to get back to work!

While the hotel is elegant and convenient to the Trax light rail, don't ever -- and I mean EVER -- think it is in a safe neighborhood, particularly after dark. There is a nasty side to Salt Lake City that few talk about, but believe me, it is there. Police presence isn't. Graffiti, criminals, druggies, drunks and mean streets are but a block away in any direction from the Grand America. Pedestrians cross streets at their peril while drivers run red lights and aim for pedestrians lawfully in a crosswalk. Again, don't ever be deluded into thinking SLC is crime-free. Stay in the hotel at night, it's safe, elegant and has plenty to do.

Go to the concierge desk and ask for the self-guided hotel art tour. It is a little secret and the art and antiques in the hotel are amazing. You can do it in one day or in several, and you are certain to be delighted.

Another little secret is that from 4 p.m. to 6 p.m. appetizers are half price ("Appy Hour") in the Lobby Lounge/Café. You can dine on half price crepes, shrimp cocktails, antipasto, sandwiches, soups, and still enjoy all of the amenities. On some days you may need to wait for a table as the 3:30 p.m. seating of afternoon tea may be still in session, but for half price goodies, it is worth the wait. We enjoyed several times and never had a bother or a wait.

On a last note, some rooms are noisier than others and sometimes there are service failures with staff. Don't stew about it and then gripe when you get home. Go straight to the front desk and let them work any problems. We did and they did, and we are totally satisfied.

Room Tip: Upgrade to a suite and try for a higher floor. Be flexible in whether to have two queen beds or a k...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

805 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    622
    126
    36
    14
    7
See reviews for
113
232
38
332
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (197)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
ontario
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

What more accolades could I add to all the others before me? This place is wonderful. I am a stickler for detail and this place leaves no opening for criticism ( rare for me ). Truly a 5 star hotel experience at a very reasonable price. Also worth mentioning is that the Hotel restaurant,The Garden Café, is excellent. Great meals, friendly service, 5 star ambience, again at reasonable prices. Go there, Stay there. Eat there. See for yourself.

Room Tip: The higher floors looking out on the Wasatch Range are the best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, MD
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

We received a smiling welcome as we entered the hotel and quick, flawless service at the registration desk. Our room had a marvelous view of the Wasatch Mountains. Our roomy and comfortable suite was nicely appointed and first rate. Meals at the Garden Cafe were wonderful. The location of the hotel is within an easy walk of downtown Salt Lake City and the Temple Square with the opulent Mormon buildings and gardens. The toy store in the hotel is unique, wondrous and unlike any I have every seen. It alone is worth the trip. There is also a delightful candy store, beautiful lobby and hallways, and other niceties too numerous to mention. In short we loved it.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheGrandAmerica, Public Relations Manager at Grand America Hotel, responded to this review, September 25, 2013
Dear Robert-

Thank you for taking the time to review The Grand America Hotel. We're glad to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and were able to explore the property. We hope to see you back at The Grand upon your next visit to Salt Lake City.

Hotel Staff-
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

I have stayed here multiple times. Staff is extremely well trained, very expensive construction, great bar, great restaurant, on the train line.

I really can't think of any improvements they could make. I wish i could live here. Salt Lake City is a really beautiful place also.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stamford, Connecticut
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

The Grand America hotel was truly grand in every way. The scent of fresh flowers from their oversized floral arrangement in the lobby greeted us as we easily checked in. Thought we'd get hosed for the buffet breakfast but it was only $15! Our room was bigger than expected with a small balcony so we could take pictures of the magnificent sunrise over the mountains. I think the highlight was the center gardens, but every conference room was magnificently decorated in elaborate marble and curtains. Find the little French pastry shop for luscious treats. Staff was everywhere to answer questions or for speedy checkout. I can't imagine any improvement. Also was able to take light rail for $2,50 to within a block of hotel directly from the airport!

Room Tip: Ask for mountain views from a hgher floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheGrandAmerica, Public Relations Manager at Grand America Hotel, responded to this review, September 25, 2013
Dear Aileyfan,

Thank you for your review and such generous compliments about The Grand. We look forward to welcoming you back to our property upon your next visit to Salt Lake. Until then, we remain at your service.

Hotel Staff -
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eugene, Oregon
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013

This 5 star hotel lived up to its rating. I was loving the traditional style of the hotel vs many of the new contemporary hotels that are so slick. Heavy drapes, classy wallpaper, formal but comfortable furniture. Large screen flat TVs, large room and well laid out bathroom with shower and seperate bath. The hotel staff were helpful and courteous. A very comfortable place to stay.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
68 hotel reviews
Reviews in 64 cities Reviews in 64 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013

Lovely hotel. Grand, as the name suggests, but SLC this particular stay in June 2012 was also gorgeous, so that helped. Unbelievable friendly staff from all over the world (impressive), huge luxurious suite, decent value, well located ... overall, a good stay and I would return if I had to go to SLC again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Grand America Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand America Hotel

Address: 555 South Main Street, Salt Lake City, UT 84111
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Utah > Salt Lake City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Salt Lake City
#1 Luxury Hotel in Salt Lake City
#1 Romantic Hotel in Salt Lake City
#3 Family Hotel in Salt Lake City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand America Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 775
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Grand America Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Grand America
Grand America Salt Lake City
Grand America Hotel Salt Lake City, Utah

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand America Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.