We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyed the Stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Grand America Hotel

Save Saved
You added Grand America Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Grand America Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   555 South Main Street, Salt Lake City, UT 84111   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Deal
Save $100 on select meals
Ranked #2 of 75 hotels in Salt Lake City
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Enjoyed the Stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

We stayed here for a conference and the hotel is very good. We had a corner room that looked out to the mountains and city. It's centrally located and right down from the train stop. We were two stops from the mall. The atmosphere was fun and the room was very comfortable. They have very good room service and a nightly turn down service. The bar area in the atrium is considered a restaurant, so you have to buy food; didn't really care for that too much. The rooms are a little pricey, but very nice and we did get to see the Atlanta Hawks.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

722 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    550
    120
    32
    13
    7
See reviews for
104
204
37
298
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (167)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lehi, Utah, United States
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

We chose Grand America for our Anniversary weekend again this year and it did not disappoint. It is such a beautiful property with large, comfortable rooms-Love the bathrooms too! This time we were on the 24th floor (the highest one) and had two balconies, which was very nice. I would not recommend, however, staying in a south facing room on the weekend. We were right across the street from a night club and the base was booming until the wee hours. I had really hard time getting asleep, but with some ear plugs and white noise from my app I finally did. We love the bakery and the charming toy shop in the hotel and even though we were only 20 miles away from home, it really feels like a nice getaway.

Room Tip: If you are looking for relaxation or romance (assuming on the weekend) avoid the south facing rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reno, Nevada
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

I spent two nights in a King suit. The staff was very helpful and pleasant. I liked the security. I was also asked of they could help me when I was wondering around and I am an older white woman. Sorry second 22 but I don't think it had anything to do with you being black. One problem with the decor. It is all very pastel. It is boring. There are no pops of color anywhere. The restaurant was nice but the lighting was awful. We were told that it is being redone because it is just not good. The food was great and the wait staff excellent. The real downside were the add ons. The rooms are just too expensive to have such add ons. $10 everyday for parking. $10 every time you use the pool or exercise room. I have stayed in many very nice hotels and this is unheard of. To judge from the talk I heard in the elevator, everyone seemed to feel the same way. It is so petty. It makes it look like the hotel is pinching pennies to survive. Not a good look. What ever you do, don't miss the lovely garden in the center of the hotel. It is special in the middle of a city.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

I stayed 4 nights in an executive king suite before and after a recent ski trip to Park City. The entrance and lobby are very impressive, ranking up there with a Four Seasons or Ritz. The rooms are the same caliber, except that the bed and pillows could have been, both in my opinion and that of my wife, more comfortable. We had an incredible breakfast each day at the hotel (try the banana pancakes). The only reason for a very good vs. excellent rating is the service. By no means was it poor. People were friendly and helpful, albeit a little slow at the front desk check in. Given the decor and formality of this hotel, I continually, perhaps unconsciously, compared its service with the experiences I have had at other 5 star properties, including those hotels named above. I did not feel the service met my other experiences. However, for the money, it’s a great hotel nonetheless.

Room Tip: executive king rooms, for the slight additional cost, is well worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boulder
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

It was the most amazing thing i have ever seen. Even if you can afford to stay there, you still should go see it. Even the bathrooms make you feel like a princess. We had drinks in the bar and also bought chocolate from the little french shop!! It was an amazing thing to see!!!!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

I tell you, this hotel is awesome. Most of the staff is nice, the lobby is large and quiet and everything in this hotel is grand indeed. My daughter recommended it. We had some kind of cocktail hour in the lobby and toured the whole place. Just nice! The rooms were grand and elegant, just a beautiful hotel. Even the muffins are grand and on July 4th, they had a nice reception for the guests and spared nothing. There were the appetizers, and the fireworks which we were able to observe from the top. We had a welcoming gift from the manager, with beautiful chocolate and fruits. Just nice. The only downside, and I will be honest with you, is that some of the employees we met near the parking, maybe housekeepers were not friendly at all. I was standing at the garage and one drove roughly in, almost ran into me and barely said a word to me. And when I was touring the hallways, looking at some of the displays or decors, one guy, seems like a securiy guard, asked, can we help you? I am a black lady and I did not like the way I was approached. I remember that very well. Apart from that, the staff was excellent.

Room Tip: It is all good, they are all grand in service.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013 via mobile

Stayed at the Grand America for a work conference. While it wasnt my first choice, it turned out to be a great stay. The service is exceptional and probably one of the top qualities of the hotel and the property is well maintained. The lobby and first impression is grand in the sense that there is lots of marble and wood panelling. The reason I'm giving 4 stars instead of 5 is because the property can feel dated, particularly due to the amount of brass fixtures and floral pattern carpets and upholstered furniture. Looks more like the type of room my grandmother would have enjoyed during the 90's, but the room size and great bathroom makes up for it. Overall would stay again.

Special mention for their breakfast. The omelet's are awesome, especially if you get one with roasted tomatoes.

Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Grand America Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand America Hotel

Address: 555 South Main Street, Salt Lake City, UT 84111
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Utah > Salt Lake City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Salt Lake City
#1 Romantic Hotel in Salt Lake City
#1 Luxury Hotel in Salt Lake City
#1 Business Hotel in Salt Lake City
#4 Family Hotel in Salt Lake City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand America Hotel 5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Amex, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Tingo, Travelocity, getaroom.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Grand America Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Grand America
Grand America Salt Lake City
Grand America Hotel Salt Lake City, Utah

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand America Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.