We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well Done and Comfortable” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Grand America Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Grand America Hotel to your Saves list
Grand America Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   555 South Main Street, Salt Lake City, UT 84111   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 75 Hotels in Salt Lake City
Reno, Nevada
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Well Done and Comfortable”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

I spent two nights in a King suit. The staff was very helpful and pleasant. I liked the security. I was also asked of they could help me when I was wondering around and I am an older white woman. Sorry second 22 but I don't think it had anything to do with you being black. One problem with the decor. It is all very pastel. It is boring. There are no pops of color anywhere. The restaurant was nice but the lighting was awful. We were told that it is being redone because it is just not good. The food was great and the wait staff excellent. The real downside were the add ons. The rooms are just too expensive to have such add ons. $10 everyday for parking. $10 every time you use the pool or exercise room. I have stayed in many very nice hotels and this is unheard of. To judge from the talk I heard in the elevator, everyone seemed to feel the same way. It is so petty. It makes it look like the hotel is pinching pennies to survive. Not a good look. What ever you do, don't miss the lovely garden in the center of the hotel. It is special in the middle of a city.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

806 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    623
    126
    36
    14
    7
See reviews for
114
232
38
332
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (197)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Miami, Florida
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

I stayed 4 nights in an executive king suite before and after a recent ski trip to Park City. The entrance and lobby are very impressive, ranking up there with a Four Seasons or Ritz. The rooms are the same caliber, except that the bed and pillows could have been, both in my opinion and that of my wife, more comfortable. We had an incredible breakfast each day at the hotel (try the banana pancakes). The only reason for a very good vs. excellent rating is the service. By no means was it poor. People were friendly and helpful, albeit a little slow at the front desk check in. Given the decor and formality of this hotel, I continually, perhaps unconsciously, compared its service with the experiences I have had at other 5 star properties, including those hotels named above. I did not feel the service met my other experiences. However, for the money, it’s a great hotel nonetheless.

Room Tip: executive king rooms, for the slight additional cost, is well worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boulder
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

It was the most amazing thing i have ever seen. Even if you can afford to stay there, you still should go see it. Even the bathrooms make you feel like a princess. We had drinks in the bar and also bought chocolate from the little french shop!! It was an amazing thing to see!!!!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

I tell you, this hotel is awesome. Most of the staff is nice, the lobby is large and quiet and everything in this hotel is grand indeed. My daughter recommended it. We had some kind of cocktail hour in the lobby and toured the whole place. Just nice! The rooms were grand and elegant, just a beautiful hotel. Even the muffins are grand and on July 4th, they had a nice reception for the guests and spared nothing. There were the appetizers, and the fireworks which we were able to observe from the top. We had a welcoming gift from the manager, with beautiful chocolate and fruits. Just nice. The only downside, and I will be honest with you, is that some of the employees we met near the parking, maybe housekeepers were not friendly at all. I was standing at the garage and one drove roughly in, almost ran into me and barely said a word to me. And when I was touring the hallways, looking at some of the displays or decors, one guy, seems like a securiy guard, asked, can we help you? I am a black lady and I did not like the way I was approached. I remember that very well. Apart from that, the staff was excellent.

Room Tip: It is all good, they are all grand in service.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013 via mobile

Stayed at the Grand America for a work conference. While it wasnt my first choice, it turned out to be a great stay. The service is exceptional and probably one of the top qualities of the hotel and the property is well maintained. The lobby and first impression is grand in the sense that there is lots of marble and wood panelling. The reason I'm giving 4 stars instead of 5 is because the property can feel dated, particularly due to the amount of brass fixtures and floral pattern carpets and upholstered furniture. Looks more like the type of room my grandmother would have enjoyed during the 90's, but the room size and great bathroom makes up for it. Overall would stay again.

Special mention for their breakfast. The omelet's are awesome, especially if you get one with roasted tomatoes.

Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City, Utah
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013

Very large hotel with plenty of staff to settle you in. I have slept in more comfortable beds. Built to accommodate guest for the Winter Olympics, this hotel certainly knows how to maneuver a crowd. Perfect choice for convention attendees. The lobby bar service is slow but the food is as good as in the dining room. Sunday brunch has everything from sushi to pasta. It is not walking distance to City Creek or the Gateway Mall. The east facing rooms do have spectacular views.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buffalo, New York
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013

This is a wonderful hotel; beautifully furnished rooms and public areas; spotless throughout; staff uniformly polite and helpful; excellent restaurant. It deserves a 5 rating in every respect; well worth the price, which is not at all unreasonable given the quality.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Grand America Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand America Hotel

Address: 555 South Main Street, Salt Lake City, UT 84111
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Utah > Salt Lake City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Salt Lake City
#1 Luxury Hotel in Salt Lake City
#1 Business Hotel in Salt Lake City
#3 Family Hotel in Salt Lake City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand America Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 775
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Grand America Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Grand America
Grand America Salt Lake City
Grand America Hotel Salt Lake City, Utah

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand America Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.