We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exceptional Quality” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Grand America Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Grand America Hotel to your Saves list
Grand America Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   555 South Main Street, Salt Lake City, UT 84111   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 74 Hotels in Salt Lake City
Houston
Level Contributor
36 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Exceptional Quality”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

The Grand America is an excellent choice if you're staying in Salt Lake City. Our schedule only allowed us to stay one night, but, we would have liked to have stayed longer! The hotel is immaculate! Everything was bright and fresh. And, our room was VERY spacious. The staff was extremely friendly and ready to help us if needed. The hotel is conveniently located near the airport. Only a 10 minute drive. I would highly recommend the Grand America Hotel!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

938 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    725
    143
    46
    16
    8
See reviews for
133
267
39
399
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (240)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
65 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

What a magnificent property. This is truly a world class hotel. While Salt Lake City may be a bit on the sleepy side make no mistake about it the Grand America hotel is as wonderful as any world class hotel I have ever seen. No expense was spared and the architecture and decoration of the hotel will remind you of the finer hotels in Europe or NYC. the grounds of the hotel are as perfect as I have ever seen with beautiful box-woods and sculpted topiary.

We had an amazing mini-suite with spectacular views. I am not sure I would go back to Salt Lake anytime soon, but this hotel makes a stay in Salt Lake, well worth it.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

Points of discussion:

1) Low-definition TV reception in hotel rooms, as well as at the hotel bar (Gibson Girl). Inexcusable in 2013 for luxury hotel.

2) Lobby coffee is $3. Really-- they are that cheap and tacky?

3) Bathroom in hotel was clean and large-- however, we could hear every disgusting noise coming from the neighbor man in the room next door.

4) Stale macaroons. So glad I purchased one of each flavor-- to discover all were clearly stale.

5) Service-- less than expected for a luxury hotel. The waitstaff in hotel restaurants were clearly not trained in hospitality-- could have worked at the local chain restaurant. One server tried to argue with me when I pointed out a missing portion of my order (I had to refer back to the menu to get my point across).

Bottom line-- this hotel attempts to achieve 5 star status but falls short.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheGrandAmerica, Manager at Grand America Hotel, responded to this review, February 13, 2013
Dear maroontheta ,

Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts about your recent stay.

I was disappointed to read that we missed key service opportunities during your visit. Please be assured, I shared your experience with all of our staff, so that these lapses may be avoided in future for you and for all of our guests. I understand how these experiences negatively impacted your stay and for this I am truly sorry. Providing the finest guest service, which includes incorporating the most modern technology, is very important to us. We are in the process of upgrading to high definition television in all of our guest rooms and in the hotel lounge, and anticipate completing the upgrade in the near future.

I hope that time and travel schedules will permit a future return to the Grand America. We look forward to an opportunity to welcome you back.

Susanne Maitzen
smaitzen@grandamerica.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mansfield, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

I stayed at the Grand America Hotel last week while on business. This hotel is absolutely beautiful. My colleagues and I spent multiple nights sipping a glass of wine by the fire in the lobby. The staff is extremely professional. The room was clean and roomy. Every night I arrived to turndown service, complete with slippers, a bathrobe, a chocolate and a room service order form for the next morning. I only wish that I could have enjoyed this hotel with my spouse while on a vacation!

I would recommend this hotel to anyone staying in SLC.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
69 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

I booked this to go see my best friend's graduation in SLC. The Hotel is in a perfect downtown location, great walking distance to all of the areas around downtown SLC. Ask for a Mountain View, it's much better than the city view. Staff were all very nice.

Room Tip: Ask for a Mountain View room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rexburg, Idaho, United States
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

My husband surprised me with a trip to Utah for Christmas where we would be able to visit lots of family. He made reservations at the Grand America. What a special time it turned out to be. At first I was a bit concerned about spending Christmas in a "hotel", but we were treated so very well. When we returned to our room on Christmas Eve after dinner with family there was a lovely bottle of sparkling pink lemonade in a champagne bucket with two goblets. What a lovely way to end the evening. Then the next morning we were surprised by a gorgeous Christmas stocking hung on our door filled with goodies and gifts. How delightful! The breakfast buffet was delicious and the price was surprisingly affordable. The entire hotel was decorated as a winter wonderland. The holiday spirit was alive in the service, the decor, and the food. Thank you Grand America for a wonderful Chirstmas!

Room Tip: All rooms are beautiful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arkansas
Level Contributor
122 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

Beautiful does not begin to describe this hotel. Every detail has been anticipated. I was there to visit my granddaughter and mentioned that at the time of reservation. Upon arrival baby bed, diaper genie, stroller, bottle warmer, baby gift set and a rocking chair were all in the room waiting. Nightly turn down service with extra amenities everywhere. Beautiful huge bathrooms with a very large soaking tub, separate shower and toilet areas. Separate sinks to facilitate getting ready. Soft cozy beds, indoor pool and steam room, valet service or underground self parking. Feels like a European castle experience.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Salt Lake City hotels
0.1 mi away
Little America Hotel
Little America Hotel
#21 of 74 in Salt Lake City
4.0 of 5 stars 1,177 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Monaco Salt Lake City - a Kimpton Hotel
Hotel Monaco Salt Lake City - a ...
#10 of 74 in Salt Lake City
4.5 of 5 stars 768 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Salt Lake City Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
University Guest House & Conference Center
0.2 mi away
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hotel Salt Lake City
0.5 mi away
Hampton Inn Salt Lake City - Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand America Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand America Hotel

Address: 555 South Main Street, Salt Lake City, UT 84111
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Utah > Salt Lake City
Amenities:
Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Salt Lake City
#1 Business Hotel in Salt Lake City
#2 Romantic Hotel in Salt Lake City
#3 Family Hotel in Salt Lake City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand America Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 775
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo, Agoda, getaroom.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Grand America Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Grand America
Grand America Salt Lake City
Grand America Hotel Salt Lake City, Utah

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand America Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.