We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Business Trip Heaven” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Grand America Hotel

Save Saved
You added Grand America Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Grand America Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   555 South Main Street, Salt Lake City, UT 84111   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Deal
Save $100 on select meals
Ranked #1 of 75 hotels in Salt Lake City
Mansfield, Massachusetts
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Business Trip Heaven”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

I stayed at the Grand America Hotel last week while on business. This hotel is absolutely beautiful. My colleagues and I spent multiple nights sipping a glass of wine by the fire in the lobby. The staff is extremely professional. The room was clean and roomy. Every night I arrived to turndown service, complete with slippers, a bathrobe, a chocolate and a room service order form for the next morning. I only wish that I could have enjoyed this hotel with my spouse while on a vacation!

I would recommend this hotel to anyone staying in SLC.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

722 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    550
    120
    32
    13
    7
See reviews for
104
204
37
298
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (167)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Raleigh, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

I booked this to go see my best friend's graduation in SLC. The Hotel is in a perfect downtown location, great walking distance to all of the areas around downtown SLC. Ask for a Mountain View, it's much better than the city view. Staff were all very nice.

Room Tip: Ask for a Mountain View room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rexburg, Idaho, United States
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

My husband surprised me with a trip to Utah for Christmas where we would be able to visit lots of family. He made reservations at the Grand America. What a special time it turned out to be. At first I was a bit concerned about spending Christmas in a "hotel", but we were treated so very well. When we returned to our room on Christmas Eve after dinner with family there was a lovely bottle of sparkling pink lemonade in a champagne bucket with two goblets. What a lovely way to end the evening. Then the next morning we were surprised by a gorgeous Christmas stocking hung on our door filled with goodies and gifts. How delightful! The breakfast buffet was delicious and the price was surprisingly affordable. The entire hotel was decorated as a winter wonderland. The holiday spirit was alive in the service, the decor, and the food. Thank you Grand America for a wonderful Chirstmas!

Room Tip: All rooms are beautiful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arkansas
Top Contributor
115 reviews 115 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

Beautiful does not begin to describe this hotel. Every detail has been anticipated. I was there to visit my granddaughter and mentioned that at the time of reservation. Upon arrival baby bed, diaper genie, stroller, bottle warmer, baby gift set and a rocking chair were all in the room waiting. Nightly turn down service with extra amenities everywhere. Beautiful huge bathrooms with a very large soaking tub, separate shower and toilet areas. Separate sinks to facilitate getting ready. Soft cozy beds, indoor pool and steam room, valet service or underground self parking. Feels like a European castle experience.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Espoo
Top Contributor
212 reviews 212 reviews
66 hotel reviews
Reviews in 81 cities Reviews in 81 cities
187 helpful votes 187 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

I travel all the time and have been in 5 star hotels and resorts all over the world - England, France, Sweden, Germany, Russia, Japan, Bali (Indonesia), Thailand, China, India .... and on and on ... plus many places in the USA itself and must say that the Grand America ranks in the top of the list. My wife and I were truly, pleasantly, happily shocked by how much we enjoyed it. Even before leaving SLC we were planning to return to Grand America.

The lobby is a marble and wood paradise. The rooms are spacious, comfortable and elegant.

The staff everywhere was great with one big exception - it was disappointing in the excellent morning buffet to see the restaurant manager berate the staff. I thought the staff was superb. Perhaps the manager, Ali, felt he was impressing the guests but it was just rude and off putting. We had breakfast 6 days, he was there 2, and both times did that.

We loved the spa! We visited 3 times. Tiffany, Andrea, Alisa were our massage therapists and truly magically gifted. The service is pricey but definitely worth it.

Special thanks to Nina in the business center for her help.

Summary: If you ever want to get away from it all and live in wonderful luxury for a while, visit Grand America, and with that enjoy all that SLC and surrounding ski has to offer.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlottesville, Virginia
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013 via mobile

Great building. Great staff. Great amenities. I didn't try the spa facilities but all the business facilities were spot on. The rooms are huge. The heat system keeps the bathroom 10 degrees warmer than the room. Great bedding. Functional sitting area. Fair minibar (didn't matter to me but beer and soft drinks only). The main bar is gorgeous. Really worth them upgrade from it's competitors.

Stayed January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ventura, CA
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2012

The Grand America is the correct description. The rooms are fabulous, large & spacious. Impeccably decorated, elegant & comfortable. The bed was wonderful. The lobby & other areas in the hotel confirm this is SLC's only five star hotel. We visited at Christmas & really enjoyed the spirit of Christmas displayed throughout. We didn't have a hot water maker in the room but found hot water in the lobby for our hot cocoa. The hotel is located near temple square for their marvelous Christmas lights. Very impreeive!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Grand America Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand America Hotel

Address: 555 South Main Street, Salt Lake City, UT 84111
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Utah > Salt Lake City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Salt Lake City
#1 Romantic Hotel in Salt Lake City
#1 Business Hotel in Salt Lake City
#1 Luxury Hotel in Salt Lake City
#4 Family Hotel in Salt Lake City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand America Hotel 5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Amex, Booking.com, Orbitz, Tingo, Travelocity, getaroom.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda, Priceline and Venere so you can book your Grand America Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Grand America
Grand America Salt Lake City
Grand America Hotel Salt Lake City, Utah

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand America Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.