We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous luxury hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Grand America Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Grand America Hotel to your Saves list
Grand America Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   555 South Main Street, Salt Lake City, UT 84111   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 74 Hotels in Salt Lake City
Chicago
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Fabulous luxury hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

We stayed here recently for a weekend and had a great experience. This hotel is up to the standards of a Ritz-Carlton, and we had a great rate. The room was spacious, extremely clean (and I am very picky), and the staff were friendly and helpful. The bathroom was large and had separate shower and soaking tub as well as 2 separate sinks/vanities. My children enjoyed the indoor pool and hot tub and it was worth the $10 extra per day per room to access the spa amenities. Self-parking was free and the location is close enough to walk to many attractions, so we didn't even use the car. We had to check out quite early on a Sunday morning, but were able to have the breakfast buffet that is offered earlier than their big Sunday brunch buffet. This was very good and very reasonablly priced ($15 for adults and $7.50 for kids) for the variety and quality of the food offered. I will definietly come here again if in Salt Lake City and recommend it to people who are looking for a luxury hotel experience.

Room Tip: Ask for a high floor for a good view of the mountains. Even the standard, non-suite room is very sp...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

861 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    662
    136
    41
    14
    8
See reviews for
123
247
38
358
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (211)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
McDonough, Georgia, United States
Top Contributor
374 reviews 374 reviews
64 hotel reviews
Reviews in 117 cities Reviews in 117 cities
96 helpful votes 96 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

I was there on business and really enjoyed myself. Salt Lake is a great city and this hotel is a great hotel! Impeccable service and a most friendly staff along with really nice rooms make this place a must stay if you are in Salt Lake. Well placed in the city and within walking distance of many of the area sights.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grapevine, Texas
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

This place is 100% class. The lobby is astonishing. Around the corner from the lobby you find one of the most unique toy stores ever. The Rube Goldberg machine displayed in the front is mesmerizing.
The rooms at this hotel are nothing short of fabulous. Depending on the room type you choose, you may end up with a separate changing room, living room, a marble bathroom and more. The beds are luxurious, especially after a day on the slopes.
To get into the gym, pool, and hot tub you have to pay an extra fee for access to the spa. It is worth it if you have kids or need to wind down in the hot tub.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

When you walk in, you feel that you are transported from the otherwise relatively sterile surrounding of Salt Lake City to a different place and time. The lobby is incredibly welcoming, with plenty of comfortable sitting room, and the rooms are large and private. The bathroom alone was enough to make this a pleasant stay, and the staff was incredibly accomodating and attentive throughout the day. One thing that was a little disappointing is that maybe this was just bad luck, but it always seemed that the concierge desk was always empty - which was annoying when actually looking for advice on a few things we wished to do in the area.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SusanneMaitzen, Manager at Grand America Hotel, responded to this review, October 26, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience with us.

I am truly delighted that you enjoyed your hotel accommodations including the ambience of the lobby, the spaciousness of your guest room and the luxury of the bathroom. I am pleased you were able to be transported from the day to day happenings in the city and relax. I am especially proud that you recognized and appreciated the attentiveness and service from our staff.

The staff of the Grand America Hotel is truly what sets our hotel apart. I was disappointed to learn that we missed the opportunity to serve you at our Concierge desk. We do have a Concierge staff at the hotel from 8am until 10pm daily. I understand how the lack of service could have a negative impact on your stay and for this I am truly sorry.

I hope that you will return to the Grand America in the future and we look forward to welcoming you back.

Thank you,

Susanne Maitzen
smaitzen@grandamerica.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tahoe City, California
Top Contributor
160 reviews 160 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
153 helpful votes 153 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

The Grand America is a cut above most places that my wife and I have stayed at. The hotel is beautiful, from the welcoming entrance area to the room we stayed in. Everywhere you walk within the hotel the appointments shout "class". Our stay here was supposed to be a treat for us. However, we got in late for our one-night stay and had to leave early the next morning for Paris. As a result, we weren't able to soak up all that the hotel offers. We will go back and stay for a few days and enjoy all that the hotel offers. As it was, our room was reasonably priced. We reserved a Premiere Room - King. It had a wonderfully comfortable bed, a sitting area with a nice sofa, table, and a view of the city. Nothing special with the bathroom.

We were given a coupon for a free room upgrade to be used within a year of our stay. We'll go back and use this coupon and enjoy more of what this hotel has to offer.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

Beyond clean. Stayed on 24th floor very large suite. Most comfortable bed. Two lArge flat screen tvs. Door between den and bedroom for privacy and quite was very nicE. would stay here again. Would vote for free coffee in the morning. Hope you enjoy this hotel!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012 via mobile

So I ended up staying here just because my regular hotel was sold out. I liked it. The hotel itself is gorgeous, by far one of the nicest hotels in salt lake. They have a massive garden outside that you can literally get lost in. The room itself was awesome, exactly what i would expect from a 5 star hotel. The bar was a little dead, welcome to salt lake city i guess... Their candy shop was like eating a taste of heaven! The pistachio covered strawberries seem to have a hint of love put in them because I bought way too many! I would recommend this hotel to everyone.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Grand America Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand America Hotel

Address: 555 South Main Street, Salt Lake City, UT 84111
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Utah > Salt Lake City
Amenities:
Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Salt Lake City
#1 Business Hotel in Salt Lake City
#1 Spa Hotel in Salt Lake City
#2 Romantic Hotel in Salt Lake City
#3 Family Hotel in Salt Lake City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand America Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 775
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Amex, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your Grand America Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Grand America
Grand America Salt Lake City
Grand America Hotel Salt Lake City, Utah

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand America Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.