We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mother's day weekend” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Grand America Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Grand America Hotel to your Saves list
Grand America Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   555 South Main Street, Salt Lake City, UT 84111   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 75 Hotels in Salt Lake City
Salt Lake City, Utah
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Mother's day weekend”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2012

My boyfriend and I had a wonderful experience at this hotel. The staff was very nice and the hotel was absolutely beautiful. We attended a wedding there and stayed in one of the rooms that night. We had a view of the garden area. Everything was great except the pillows.. Bring your own pillow!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelOps, Director of Hotel Operations at Grand America Hotel, responded to this review, July 22, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience with us. We are truly delighted you enjoyed the Grand America and honored to be chosen for your get-a-way weekend.

I’m terribly sorry our pillows did not contribute to a satisfactory sleep experience. Kindly be advised, as of August 15th, 2012 we will be introducing a new pillow at the Grand America. I am sure you will find it more to your liking.

Thank you again for your kind remarks. We hope to see you back at the Grand in the near future and until then, we remain at your service.

Sincerely,

Anthony Bartholomew
Director of Hotel Operations
Grand America Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

976 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    760
    147
    46
    16
    7
See reviews for
140
278
41
415
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (255)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
northern California
Level Contributor
39 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2012

We just returned from a trip to SLC. The weather left something to be desired but the Grand America did not. Its spacious rooms, comfy beds and mountain views are outstanding, and the hotel staff is friendly, knowledgeable about the area, and genuinely helpful. The Grand is perfectly located, with a tram stop a half a block north of the hotel. The tram is FREE if you are traveling within the city center, for example to the City Creek Center shopping mall. Within walking distance were several good restaurants and bookstores, and the city is safe and very walkable. We loved the turn down service (with chocolate!) and the soft plush robes. The room's appointments are well-thought out; the bathroom has dual sinks which we loved--and the Grand has the best pillows we have ever slept on.

This hotel will not appeal to those who are militantly modernist in their design tastes. While it may be expensive for SLC, if you come from one of the world's more expensive cities, the Grand will seem like an incredible bargain. My partner went to the Grand Spa and said it was excellent as well. A hotel without fault? Yes! Paradise really exists.

Our only complaint: there is no in-room coffee-maker, but if you ask, they will bring one. Coffee is available downstairs for a fee in the morning.

Room Tip: Ask for a city view room, as SLC is surrounded by mountains, you will get both a mountain view and a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelOps, Director of Hotel Operations at Grand America Hotel, responded to this review, July 23, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing feedback from your recent stay, we are humbled by your kind remarks.

We are always grateful to hear the experiences of our guests and it is especially rewarding when the details which give the Grand America its heart and soul are recognized…it's the vision of our ownership to offer the very best in facilities and amenities but especially service. We could not be more pleased that we successfully executed our service values for you.

Thank you again for your generous remarks, we are honored to have earned your trust and look forward to welcoming you back to the Grand soon. Until then, we remain at your service.

Sincerely,

Anthony Bartholomew
Director of Hotel Operations
The Grand America Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2012

We stayed at the The Grand America Hotel in Salt Lake City and my wife (who has Celiac) called room service and asked if the chips and salsa were gluten-free. If she gets gluten in her system, she will quit absorbing nutrients for months while her intestines repair themselves. The woman on the phone said she would check, and a minute later said they were. My wife ordered them and they were delivered. When they arrived, they also had a dip, so my wife called them again to verify they were gluten-free. The woman said they absolutely were. My wife ate the chips and dip/salsa and then about 15 minutes later we received an in-room call from the Chef saying that they did have gluten after all. Too late for my wife, her stomach has now already been damaged.

When we checked out the next day, we complained about this, and the shift manager really didn't care. I asked if we could file a formal complaint, and she said no, only on the website (which I have checked and there is no place to do it that I can find). I am concerned about people who have food allergies staying at this so called "five diamond" establishment. Please, if you stay there, don't eat there. Not worth it!

Room Tip: Don't eat here if you have a food allergy!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Director of Hotel Operations at Grand America Hotel, responded to this review, July 16, 2012
Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience during your recent stay at The Grand America Hotel. We sincerely appreciate the open feedback you have given us.

We are terribly sorry for the communication issue which occurred with our in-room dining department. Please accept our sincere apology for this lapse within such a critical area of service. An experience such as the one you described is particularly disheartening as we truly pride ourselves in being able to adapt our service to the special needs of our guests.

I can tell you with all sincerity that the associate who took the initial IRD order and then placed the follow-up call to your room also wrote a note to her director apprising of the situation, then called the hotel while off-duty to check on your wife’s condition.

We have shared the notes on your wife’s experience with our entire food service team and I assure you, we have taking the necessary steps to avoid this issue from affecting the experience of our current and future guests.

Thank you again for your valuable feedback. I hope other apsects of your stay were more positive, we understand how our failures can impact our guests and hope to see you back at the Grand America in the future to regain your trust. Until then, we remain at your service.

Sincerely,

Anthony Bartholomew
Director of Hotel Operations
Grand America Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alpine, Utah
Level Contributor
107 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2012

My wife and I visited SLC for our anniversary and stayed in the Grand America. WOW is all I can say. This is one of the nicest hotels I have ever stayed in and by far the best in SLC. The location is great as it is close to pretty much everything in town. I have also had the opportunity to have thanksgiving at this hotel. AMAZING! Best place to stay in Salt Lake. Can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Director of Hotel Operations at Grand America Hotel, responded to this review, July 14, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience with us. We were humbled by your kind and thoughtful remarks.

On behalf of the Grand America family, we are honored to have earned the trust of your family through the years and especially proud you choose us for your most special occasions.

We look forward to the opportunity to serve you again in the very near future and until then, remain at your service.

Sincerely,

Anthony Bartholomew
Director of Hotel Operations
Grand America Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
29 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

The hotel is gorgeous - stunning lobby and sitting area. My standard room was equally impressive. Very comfortable bed, very generous sitting/working area, and amazing bathroom (floor to ceiling marble, separate glassed in shower, big tub, etc.).

I was in Salt Lake for a conference at the Salt Palace. This hotel is a bit of a hike to the convention center, but the conference supplied a very convenient shuttle. I found this to be a perfect combination - a busy day of meetings in downtown, and then a nightly escape to a beautiful and comfortable hotel to recuperate. Highly, highly recommended!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Director of Hotel Operations at Grand America Hotel, responded to this review, July 10, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience with us. We certainly recognize the Grand America is not the closest hotel to the convention center and are honored you chose us while in Salt Lake City for your conference.

We also recognize that there are organizational and personal objectives connected to the success of every event. We were delighted to read our facilities, staff and service were able to contribute to the success of yours.

Thank you again for such kind remarks. We hope to see you back at the Grand soon and in the interim, we remain at your service.


Sincerely,

Anthony Bartholomew
Director of Hotel Operations
The Grand America Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

I lived in Salt Lake for several years, so I had the opportunity to stay at the Grand America in the past. I recently went back to Salt Lake for my parent's 50th wedding anniversary and we celebrated the special occasion at the Grand America.

Needless to say, the Hotel, Staff and Food were truly amazing. The hotel staff went out of their way to make my parents celebration a truly memorable event.

Room Tip: Request a room facing East if you would like a great view of the Wasatch Mountains
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Director of Hotel Operations at Grand America Hotel, responded to this review, July 10, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience with us. We are delighted that you’ve enjoyed the Grand America in the past and so appreciative of the opportunity to welcome you back for your parents 50th wedding anniversary…a most remarkable occasion!

My colleagues and I recognize the tremendous amount of lodging options available in Salt Lake City, especially for our local guests. We thank you for your trust and the confidence you have to recommend us so highly.

We hope that we may see you and your family back at the Grand in the future and until then, we will remain at your service.

Sincerely,

Anthony Bartholomew
Director of Hotel Operations
Grand America Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
28 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

I only stayed at this hotel for one night on business, so I didn't spend any time at the restaurant, gym, etc but I will review the hotel itself and the rooms. Here goes...

This is my favorite kind of hotel - a vintage-looking building with modern luxurious amenities. The decor is just stunning. Grand entrances, luxe furniture in the common rooms, beautiful chandeliers. The rooms are just as lovely, with a nice sitting area, large windows that actually open (!), and HUGE marble bathrooms with a separate tub and shower. And the little bathroom amenities are really fab - all the usuals, plus a little box containing a shower cap, sewing kit, nail kit, etc. (I am a devotee of hotel bathroom amenities and these are as nice as they come.) The bed itstelf is comfortable, set with crisp white sheets and fluffy comforters. The location is great too. Right downtown, in easy walking distance of the light rail system. The staff at the front desk were efficient and friendly.

Although I only stayed for one night, my experience was really superb and I would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Director of Hotel Operations at Grand America Hotel, responded to this review, July 10, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience with us. We are indeed a classically designed hotel and are delighted you appreciate the level of design and luxury we offer.

It is also rewarding when the details which give the Grand America its soul, are recognized. The hotel bath amenities and sleep experience are new additions to the Grand and we are delighted to hear such favorable feedback in our continual effort to enhance the Grand America experience.

Thank you again for such kind remarks, we are truly honored to have earned your trust and look forward to welcoming you back to the Grand soon. In the meantime, we remain at your service.

Sincerely,

Anthony Bartholomew
Director of Hotel Operations
The Grand America Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Salt Lake City hotels
0.1 mi away
Little America Hotel
Little America Hotel
#22 of 75 in Salt Lake City
4.0 of 5 stars 1,214 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Monaco Salt Lake City - a Kimpton Hotel
Hotel Monaco Salt Lake City - a ...
#12 of 75 in Salt Lake City
4.5 of 5 stars 788 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Salt Lake City Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
University Guest House & Conference Center
0.2 mi away
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hotel Salt Lake City
0.5 mi away
Hampton Inn Salt Lake City-Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand America Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand America Hotel

Address: 555 South Main Street, Salt Lake City, UT 84111
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Utah > Salt Lake City
Amenities:
Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Salt Lake City
#1 Luxury Hotel in Salt Lake City
#2 Romantic Hotel in Salt Lake City
#3 Family Hotel in Salt Lake City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand America Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 775
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Grand America Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Grand America
Grand America Salt Lake City
Grand America Hotel Salt Lake City, Utah

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand America Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.