We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Wonderful Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Grand America Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Grand America Hotel to your Saves list
Grand America Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   555 South Main Street, Salt Lake City, UT 84111   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 76 Hotels in Salt Lake City
Sydney, Australia
1 review
“A Wonderful Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2011

We stayed at the Grand America for 3 nights in September. Our trip also included staying at high end hotels in New York and Las Vegas, but this hotel was the standout of the the trip. It really does feel like a grand hotel as soon as you step into beautiful lobby. The rooms are lovely - spacious and beautifully furnished. The grounds and pool are also lovely and immaculately maintained. My husband, who has worked in the hotel industry for 30 years remarked that it was the cleanest hotel he'd ever seen - everything was spotless. The freshly made cookies available in the lobby every day were yummy and a really nice touch.

The staff were all extremely courteous and helpful. We had a very stressful day where we needed to get some documentation urgently sent from Australia and Kathryn (The Convention Services Manager) could not have been kinder and more helpful.

We would recommend this hotel to anyone visiting Salt Lake City.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelOps, Director of Hotel Operations at Grand America Hotel, responded to this review, October 11, 2011
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience at the Grand America.

We are humbled by you kind remarks and honored that you have recommended us so highly.

It was most rewarding to learn that Ms. Jennings, our Convention Services Manager had exceeded your expectations. We could not be more proud when our colleagues touch the heart and soul of our guests. We will certainly recognize Kathryn for her efforts in personalizing your experience and pass along your sincere appreciation.

Thank you again for such high praise. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Grand America in the future. Until then, we remain at your service.

Sincerely,

Anthony Bartholomew
Director of Hotel Operations
The Grand America Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

803 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    621
    126
    35
    14
    7
See reviews for
113
230
38
332
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (196)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Top Contributor
171 reviews 171 reviews
52 hotel reviews
Reviews in 91 cities Reviews in 91 cities
149 helpful votes 149 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2011

Enormous hotel fully geared up for mid-size conferences (hundreds of delegates, not thousands). Good standard of US-style food & a nice pool. Rooms large, clean, usual amenities & quiet. For a change, the hotel shops actually yieded items suitable for taking home as presents - a good things as there are no shops within easy reach of the hotel (not even a drugstore)
Recommended for business but not leisure

Room Tip: Go high! Wonderful views & no noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelOps, Director of Hotel Operations at Grand America Hotel, responded to this review, October 8, 2011
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience with us. I was delighted to read you enjoyed many of the Grand America’s features and amenities. I was especially pleased to read your favorable remarks regarding our retail outlets. Please visit our web site to see the newest addition to our retail family of shops, "Jou Jou". Opening this November.

Kindly be advised the completion of the billion dollar City Creek project is just months away. This “walkable” urban community development will cover 20 acres and host a wide variety of restaurant, shopping and entertainment alternatives. Also the city’s light rail has a stop in front of the Grand and will transport you free of charge throughout the City Creek and downtown area.

I hope this information is useful. Please rest assured that your comments are taken to heart to aide our continual effort for improvement.

Thank you again for your thoughtful remarks. We hope to see you back at the Grand so and until then, we remain at your service.

Sincerely,

Anthony Bartholomew
Director of Hotel Operations
The Grand America Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Top Contributor
129 reviews 129 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
94 helpful votes 94 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2011

We often find ourselves needing somewhere to recover for a night having just flown in from Australia en route to engagements of various kinds in Utah. We experimented with the airport hotels, which are OK, but nothing special. A very good internet deal (directly with the hotel) in 2010 hooked us on the Grand America, and we have now stayed there twice, even though it was quite a lot more expensive this year than last.

The hotel is easy to get to, conveniently located, and quiet. We choose the Premier King Room, which is spacious and comfortable, and offers a good night's sleep.

This is one of those hotels where you walk in and immediately feel comfortable, relaxed, slightly pampered, but at home.

For us this is the perfect place to recover from our trip across the Pacific, and now the only place to stay in Salt Lake.

[Oh, and did you notice - management responds to each review - a nice touch that I've not seen from any other hotel.]

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelOps, Director of Hotel Operations at Grand America Hotel, responded to this review, October 3, 2011
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your most thoughtful feedback.

We are delighted by your comments and honored to have earned your trust since 2010.

We also thank you for recognizing our effort to listen to our guests. Quite simply, it’s the best way we know to improve the hospitality experience at the Grand America. That is a constant endeavor within our industry and certainly one we are passionate about here…at every level.

Thank you again for your kind remarks. We look forward to welcoming you and your family back to the Grand in the future and until then, we remain at your service.

Yours sincerely,

Anthony Bartholomew
Director of Hotel Operations
The Grand America Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2011 via mobile

Stayed for three nights at the end of a two week trip throughout the West, and stayed two days longer than originally planned.
Very large rooms, well appointed, with excellent spa and gym. My wife had the "best massage ever" in the spa and the indoor pool was quiet, nice salt water, and excellent for relaxing. The rates do move quite a bit depending on the day of booking, so try to maintain some flexibility for the best pricing. We would definitely stays there again.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelOps, Director of Hotel Operations at Grand America Hotel, responded to this review, September 29, 2011
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing feedback from your recent stay. We very much appreciate hearing the experiences from seasoned travelers such as you.

It is especially rewarding when the details which give the Grand America it’s heart and soul, are recognized…it is the vision of our ownership to simply offer the very best in facilities, amenities and service at an exceptional value. We could not be more pleased that we successfully executed our service principles for you.

Thank you again for such kind remarks, we are truly honored to have earned your trust and look forward to welcoming you back to the Grand soon. In the meantime, we remain at your service.

Sincerely,

Anthony Bartholomew
Director of Hotel Operations
The Grand America Hote
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Uintas
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2011 via mobile

Although on the pricey side for the Salt Lake City area, compared to other 5-star properties at which we've stayed, we feel the Hotel Grand America compares with the best of them. We usually choose the entry level suite, which is a very large room. The hotel staff is professional , yet they , ( unlike other 5-star properties we've sampled), feel genuine in their interaction. The Trax transit system is located just down the road , making getting around simple. The property is immaculate. Last year I found an excellent room rate on the net, and the hotel agreed to match it. Request a mountain view room. The views of the mointains are incredible! For dinner and a great view of Temple Square, try the Roof Restaurant down the road. Overall, the nicest hotel in SLC.

  • Stayed December 2010
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelOps, Director of Hotel Operations at Grand America Hotel, responded to this review, September 29, 2011
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. We are humbled by your kind remarks and flattered that you have recommended us so highly.

We are deeply honored to have earned your trust and look forward to welcoming you back to the Grand America in the future.

Until then, we remain at your service.

Sincerely,

Anthony Bartholomew
Director of Hotel Operations
The Grand America Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holly Springs, North Carolina
Top Contributor
144 reviews 144 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2011

This was our first trip to Salt Lake City and we were not familiar with this hotel. It was built to accomodate the Olympics in 2002. It was conveniently located downtown only a block from the tram. The overall hotel experience was excellent and it was a beautiful property. They have a wonderful breakfast buffet and the rooms are spacious. If/when we go back this is definitely where we will stay again.

Room Tip: Many are small suites so I doubt that there are too many bad rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelOps, Director of Hotel Operations at Grand America Hotel, responded to this review, September 27, 2011
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing feedback from your recent stay. We are delighted you found the Grand America Hotel on your first visit to our city and hope your favorable experience will bring you back to us in the future.

Thank you for such kind remarks, we are truly honored to have earned your trust and will look forward to welcoming you back to the Grand soon. In the meantime, we remain at your service.

Sincerely,

Anthony Bartholomew
Director of Hotel Operations
The Grand America Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morgantown, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2011

The room was beautiful, enjoyed the outdoor pool, the staff was very courteous. Tried to get boarding passes printed and were frustrated to find out that the business center closed at 6pm and we were not able to use our room key for access-asked at the front desk if they would be able to print out the passes and were told we would have to go across the street to their sister hotel to print them at a cost of $6. Not that $6 is a lot of money but at a "5 diamond" hotel I expect to be able to get the passes printed on location and as a courtesy.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelOps, Director of Hotel Operations at Grand America Hotel, responded to this review, September 27, 2011
Dear guest,

Thank you for taking time to share your most helpful feedback.

We are delighted that overall your stay was very good but disheartened to read of the procedural gymnastics we put you through to get a boarding pass printed. I am terribly sorry for this imposition and I can assure you that we are keen to overcome such shortcomings.

Our front desk, concierge and guest service departments gladly print boarding passes as a courtesy. We will also look into a 24-hour kiosk as supplement to those departments, as well.

Thank you again for your constructive feedback. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Grand America and restoring your complete confidence. Until then, remain at your service.

Sincerely,

Antony Bartholomew
Director of Hotel Operation
The Grand America Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Grand America Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand America Hotel

Address: 555 South Main Street, Salt Lake City, UT 84111
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Utah > Salt Lake City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Salt Lake City
#1 Romantic Hotel in Salt Lake City
#1 Business Hotel in Salt Lake City
#1 Luxury Hotel in Salt Lake City
#3 Family Hotel in Salt Lake City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand America Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 775
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Amex, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Grand America Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Grand America
Grand America Salt Lake City
Grand America Hotel Salt Lake City, Utah

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand America Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.