We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Marriott Consistently Delivers” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Marriott Salt Lake City City Center

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Marriott Salt Lake City City Center to your Saves list
Marriott Salt Lake City City Center
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   220 South State Street, Salt Lake City, UT 84111   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points!
Ranked #22 of 75 Hotels in Salt Lake City
Gorham, Maine
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
200 helpful votes 200 helpful votes
“Marriott Consistently Delivers”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2006

I am a frequent customer of Marriott brand hotels so when I was in Salt Lake City on a business trip 7/16 - 7/20 and stayed at this hotel for 4 nights. The room was excellent, marble bathroom, plush towels, and the beds were very comfortable (as always with Marriott). Some of the things that stand out at this Marriott were:

The staff, Front Desk, Gift Shop, Valets, waitstaff and housekeeping were all very helpful and friendly.

The location was hard to beat, very centrally located and close to many of the attractions. Also the park in the back of the hotel was a nice place to sit and relax in the evening.

The valet parking ($12 a day vs $10 for self-park) the guys working the valet parking were efficient and friendly. They were quick to offer directions and assistance with by computer case and packages.

The free internet was a huge plus, as a business traveler this service is very important to me. Every night I was able to connect at no cost and stay in touch with my office.

The restaurant (Piastra) was exceptional I was traveling alone and I always hope the hotel will have a decent restaurant. I would classify this restaurant as high-end with fair prices. The food options were Italian and Mediterranean. I ate there 3 out of the 4 nights, and service was consistent and more important the meals were wonderful. The first night they gave me a coupon for a free dessert with the purchase of a entree, I used it the following night and words cannot describe the decadence of those chocolate crepes.

There were really no negatives with this hotel, I will stay here next time I travel to SLC.

  • Liked — Great Beds and quality bedding.
  • Stayed July 2006, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

368 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    160
    145
    43
    17
    3
See reviews for
41
80
22
167
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2006

My husband and I arrived late after our flight from NYC. We were quickly checked in and had a king size room assigned. The room was large- with a couch and luxury bathroom. Marriott now provided Bath and Body Works amenities in the bathroom which is a nice touch. We had breakfast on site and enjoyed several evenings in the hotel bar. The hotel staff was excellent- helping us plan our time in and out of the city. Valet parking was quick and courteous.

Location was excellent- minutes away from Temple Square and the main sites. The Starbucks on site was a definite plus as well.

All in all it was a top notch stay- VIP treatment at a Marriott price. You cannot go wrong with this location!

  • Stayed July 2006
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salisbury, Maryland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2006

Stayed at the Marriott City Center on Saturday May 20, 2006. Valet parking was prompt and friendly upon arrival and departure. Only cost $2.00 more than self park. Hotel itself is gorgeous and centrally located. Room was wonderful and clean. Beautiful large lobby and hotel bar. We had coffee in the bar (Starbucks closes at 8PM+/-), very relaxing, not expensive, less than $5.00 for a whole pot. You just need to fill out a membership form (which is free to hotel guests), to be served in the bar as it is a private club.

Anyone that would complain about this hotel would have to be a hard to please, never satisfied person. It was absolutely wonderful, fantastic, beautiful, and friendly. I recommend it to anyone staying in the area. Rates are good too, less than $100 night for two doubles.

If you are there on Sunday morning and not busy you must see the Mormon Tabernacle Choir perform at 9:30AM on Sunday morning in their convention center in Temple Square. Only lasts a half an hour. Be sure to be seated by 9:15AM as you can hear the speaker tell all about the broadcast, choir, and magnificent theater. Breath Taking!!!

  • Stayed May 2006, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NJ
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2006

Stayed a total of 3 nights in a suite. Nice hotel but not very clean! 2nd day NO maid service. Arrived back at my room at 3pm and it was not cleaned. Called front desk. Housekeeping came in and replaced towels in bathroom and left in 7 minutes leaving behind unmade beds, dirty bathroom, no toilet paper,full garbage cans, dirty coffee cups from the morning and did not replace the water glasses or wipe down the bathroom! Called front desk 2 hours later and housekeeping came back with the supervisor and left the room 3 minutes later and still did not clean the room AT ALL! By this time it was 9pm and the the manager came and was horrified and he offered to send them up a 3rd time so we asked for a refund and they WOULD not. They took 75.00 off of the bill to stay in an uncleaned room and figured they would appease us to send us a "cheese and cracker plate" to get us to write a good review. Sorry guys it did not work for this New Jersey pair! When paying 150 a night for a room I expect it to be cleaned and not the person to be cleaning it to be ME.

Stayed May 2006
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
162 helpful votes 162 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2006

The quintessential Marriott experience here. Very good central location combined with spacious, well-appointed rooms, a good restaurant, a Starbucks and a very reliable staff. You can't ask for alot more than that!

  • Stayed August 2005, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
97 hotel reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
130 helpful votes 130 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2006

I stayed at the Salt Lake City Marriott City Center on a recent business trip. I was in town on business at the convention center; while it is not exactly across the street from the convention center, it was well worth the two block walk to stay in the comfort of this hotel. While the hotel can not be compared to a Four Seasons Hotel, this hotel has to be one of the best hotels by a Marriott I have ever stayed in and I've stayed in many. The beds are comfortable, the carpets looked clean, free internet access, and one of the best hotel gyms I have seen. Its not the Four Seasons SF hotel gym, but compared to a Hyatt or a Hilton; this hotel is at the top of the class. I would go out of my way to stay at this hotel again. The food from room service was excellent.

  • Stayed February 2006, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2005

Great location. Located on an outdoor square. Only two blocks from the Convention Center and within walking distance of Temple Square.
Rooms are good size with large bathroom.Lots of thick towels. Duvets on the beds. Nice lounge chair with a foot stool, and a large desk. Twelfth floor has a nice concierge service. Room service food is excellent. Great breakfast buffet in the main restaurant. Starbucks on main level. The pool area and jacuzzi is large and very clean. The fitness room has large glass windows and lots of machines.
If you like Thai food try the Five Star restaurant next door. Good Mexican food at the Red Iguana, about a block away.

Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Marriott Salt Lake City City Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marriott Salt Lake City City Center

Address: 220 South State Street, Salt Lake City, UT 84111
Location: United States > Utah > Salt Lake City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Salt Lake City
#11 Family Hotel in Salt Lake City
#14 Business Hotel in Salt Lake City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Marriott Salt Lake City City Center 4*
Number of rooms: 359
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Marriott, Expedia, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Marriott Salt Lake City City Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Salt Lake City City Hotel Salt Lake City
Salt Lake City Marriott
Marriott Salt Lake City City Center Utah

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Marriott Salt Lake City City Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.