We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Marriott meets expectations” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Marriott Salt Lake City City Center

Save Saved
You added Marriott Salt Lake City City Center to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Marriott Salt Lake City City Center
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   220 South State Street, Salt Lake City, UT 84111   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points
Ranked #22 of 75 hotels in Salt Lake City
Miami, Florida
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
96 hotel reviews
Reviews in 95 cities Reviews in 95 cities
345 helpful votes 345 helpful votes
“Good Marriott meets expectations”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2008

This is a fairly large Marriott in a new building (built in 2000). It is located in the city center but is a little far to walk to Temple Square. The room is typical Marriott, perhaps a little too typical. Bathroom on the other hand was more spacious and upscale than average. The breakfast and snack offerings in the exec lounge were a little disappointing considering the size of the property.

Property: 4/5 - Service: 4/5 - Cleanliness: 4/5 - Location: 3/5
Room: 4/5 - Amenities: 4/5 - Views: 3/5
Value: 5/5 (paid $109 weekend rate)
OVERALL: 4/5

  • Stayed September 2008
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

317 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    142
    122
    35
    16
    2
See reviews for
36
67
19
139
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Maryland
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2008

We enjoyed our stay very much. The staff were exceedingly friendly and helpful. Our 9th-floor King room was spotless and a very nice size. We had an eastern exposure and watched the sun rise over the mountains: Glorious. Also, the breakfast (not included) was excellent. The first day we had the buffet. The second day, I ordered a dish of granola with fresh fruit, and when it didn't come out right away, I was puzzled. Turns out some nice prep work was going on back in the kitchen. the waiter brought a HUGE bowl of custom-tossed granola with honeyed almonds, and a lovely plate of sliced banana with a mint garnish. The coffee was outstanding and the orange juice fresh squeezed. We asked for a take-home box for the granola and snacked on the contents for the next three days. For our Saturday/Sunday stay in September, our rate was only $104/night. Also, one can park free on the street over the weekend until 8 a.m. Monday. For those reviewers who feel this is a blah hotel, it all depends on what you are looking for. We thought it was absolutely fine and a very good value.

  • Liked — Clean, courteous, great views, excellent price.
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Irving, Texas
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2008

Excellent valets. Clean room. Good bed. Nice location. Above average hotel.

Stayed September 2008
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2008

I stayed at the Marriott with my Sister attending a convention. The rate was decent, but between the lack of housekeeping and the pop machines we stayed next to, I was a bit disapointed. The desk agents weren't overly excited about any questions my Sis had about access to the convention center, and room service took too long and wasn't worth the wait- Could it have been an off day? Sure- But I'm not headed back.... I like Salt Lake and enjoy the Monaco more (especially the free wine!)

  • Stayed August 2008
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Logan, Utah
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2008

Usually when you book with priceline you get the crummy room they don't ever book. We loved our spacious room. The bathroom was huge. We had an Eastside view which was spectacular. The view from the swimming area at night was incredible-overlooking the Gallivan Plaza. We were also within walking distance of almost everything downtown. We traveled with our 5 year old and appreciated the number of channel selections. Our visit was perfect.

  • Liked — Family friendly, comfortable beds, great pool.
  • Disliked — $$ for parking
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NY, NY
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2008

No question. I have stayed at all the hotel in downtown SLC and this hotel is the best value. Clean, convenient, and courteous.

  • Disliked — Lack of free parking.
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, NY
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2008

This Marriott provides very smooth and polished service. Room service was prompt and generally very good, and staff were without exception competent and helpful.

The location is very convenient to downtown, and I think this is a great choice for business travelers. I was impressed with the level of service. My one quibble is that the location in downtown Salt Lake is not somewhere you'd particularly want to linger or explore much on foot -- but that's not the fault of the hotel.

Stayed February 2008
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Marriott Salt Lake City City Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marriott Salt Lake City City Center

Address: 220 South State Street, Salt Lake City, UT 84111
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Utah > Salt Lake City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Salt Lake City
#9 Family Hotel in Salt Lake City
#16 Business Hotel in Salt Lake City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Marriott Salt Lake City City Center 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Marriott, Expedia, Travelocity, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Marriott Salt Lake City City Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Salt Lake City City Hotel Salt Lake City
Salt Lake City Marriott
Marriott Salt Lake City City Center Utah

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Marriott Salt Lake City City Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.