We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Downtown Luxury” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Marriott Salt Lake City City Center

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Marriott Salt Lake City City Center to your Saves list
Marriott Salt Lake City City Center
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   220 South State Street, Salt Lake City, UT 84111   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Double Rewards Points!
Ranked #25 of 75 Hotels in Salt Lake City
Bar Harbor, Maine
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Downtown Luxury”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

Everything was top notch - room was clean & comfortable, staff went above & beyond, we enjoyed dinner at the restaurant and enjoyed the fitness room & pool. This hotel is in a great location to walk around the city and take in the sights. It is even on a pretty plaza (Gallivan Plaza), which has events throughout the year and was a nice place to enjoy our morning coffee. Having a Starbuck's on site was also a bonus.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

441 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    188
    171
    54
    22
    6
See reviews for
50
91
27
209
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (91)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis, MN
Level Contributor
1,066 reviews
217 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 538 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

I stay at a LOT of Marriott properties every year. This one is very typical and average. The decor is a bit dated. The beds were comfortable, and everything in the room worked except that the TV appeared to have NO HD channels. Maybe it was just my room?

The setting downtown on a park is quite nice. Valet was fast and helpful. The concierge lounge was just average. The eggs for breakfast in the lounge were horrible.

Also, my HVAC made strange noised most of the night.

Room Tip: 12th is the top floor but be aware of noise on the north end as its close to the Concierge lounge an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

Shiny clean, quiet, friendly and central. Five minute walk from anywhere. It felt very safe to walk around during the evening. Harmon's supermarket close by is excellent for supplies. Hotel restaurant very nice.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the front if there is a band playing in the plaza behind the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, South Carolina, United States
Level Contributor
135 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

Held a very large group meeting here for 5 days. The hotel and staff, food and service were all great. Great location as well. I had to walk to Fed Ex Kinkos and it was only about three blocks away. Great location to see Temple Square and also ran up to the Capitol building one morning.
Would highly recommend.

Room Tip: Top rooms have balconies.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
57 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

If downtown Salt Lake City is your destination then this is the perfect place to stay. There are numerous tourist sites near by and a variety of good eating establishments within walking distance. The staff is warm and very helpful. The hotel is well kept and up to date and the rooms clean and comfortable, however, a couple a minor issues annoyed me. First was the shower. I can't speak to every room, but my shower was challenging just to turn on and when that was complete the trickle of water was barely sufficient to remove the sweat I worked up! No doubt the hotel is doing its part to conserve water, but really? The second issue was with the add ons. I thought the parking fee and wifi fee (free for first 24 hrs.) were a bit steep, but not outrageous. Obviously the hotel is geared more for the business traveler.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spanish Fort, Alabama
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

Stayed here two nights while visiting Salt Lake City. The location is superb and is close enough to Temple Square to walk. The staff was very nice and helpful. The room was well laid out, clean, and spacious. The bathroom was large and clean and everything functioned as you would expect. The hotel clearly my wife and my expectations and we would be happy to stay there again.

Room Tip: If you can get it, ask for a corner room. We were upgraded due to my frequent Marriott guest status...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Draper, UT.
Level Contributor
52 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013

I take my girls here for an annual trip. We love this location!! It overlooks the City Creek Center. Great restaurants and shopping right out the back door. As far as the hotel itself it is very clean and comfortable. The staff is so warm and welcoming. The gym has lots of great equipment and the pool and spa are large and fun. Our room had a beautiful view of Temple Square. (Also within walking distance.) The only issue I have is that I think we were on the "family" floor, and there were lots of loud families coming and going. We'll be back again next year for the annual girls trip. Love this hotel!

Room Tip: Choose a room on the north side on a higher floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Salt Lake City hotels
0.4 mi away
Salt Lake Marriott Downtown at City Creek
Salt Lake Marriott Downtown at C...
#29 of 75 in Salt Lake City
4.0 of 5 stars 420 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Monaco Salt Lake City - a Kimpton Hotel
Hotel Monaco Salt Lake City - a ...
#11 of 75 in Salt Lake City
4.5 of 5 stars 788 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hilton Salt Lake City Center
Hilton Salt Lake City Center
#17 of 75 in Salt Lake City
4.0 of 5 stars 857 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Grand America Hotel
Grand America Hotel
#1 of 75 in Salt Lake City
4.5 of 5 stars 974 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hyatt House Downtown Salt Lake City
Hyatt House Downtown Salt Lake C...
#5 of 75 in Salt Lake City
4.5 of 5 stars 40 reviews
0.5 mi away
Little America Hotel
Little America Hotel
#22 of 75 in Salt Lake City
4.0 of 5 stars 1,214 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marriott Salt Lake City City Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marriott Salt Lake City City Center

Address: 220 South State Street, Salt Lake City, UT 84111
Location: United States > Utah > Salt Lake City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Salt Lake City
#16 Business Hotel in Salt Lake City
#22 Romantic Hotel in Salt Lake City
#23 Family Hotel in Salt Lake City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Marriott Salt Lake City City Center 4*
Number of rooms: 359
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Marriott, Hotwire, Priceline, Orbitz, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Marriott Salt Lake City City Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Salt Lake City City Hotel Salt Lake City
Salt Lake City Marriott
Marriott Salt Lake City City Center Utah

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Marriott Salt Lake City City Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.