We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Downtown Luxury” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Marriott Salt Lake City City Center

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Marriott Salt Lake City City Center to your Saves list
Marriott Salt Lake City City Center
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   220 South State Street, Salt Lake City, UT 84111   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points
Ranked #27 of 75 Hotels in Salt Lake City
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Bar Harbor, Maine
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Downtown Luxury”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

Everything was top notch - room was clean & comfortable, staff went above & beyond, we enjoyed dinner at the restaurant and enjoyed the fitness room & pool. This hotel is in a great location to walk around the city and take in the sights. It is even on a pretty plaza (Gallivan Plaza), which has events throughout the year and was a nice place to enjoy our morning coffee. Having a Starbuck's on site was also a bonus.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

393 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    168
    152
    49
    21
    3
See reviews for
44
83
24
180
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis, MN
Top Contributor
877 reviews 877 reviews
207 hotel reviews
Reviews in 211 cities Reviews in 211 cities
538 helpful votes 538 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

I stay at a LOT of Marriott properties every year. This one is very typical and average. The decor is a bit dated. The beds were comfortable, and everything in the room worked except that the TV appeared to have NO HD channels. Maybe it was just my room?

The setting downtown on a park is quite nice. Valet was fast and helpful. The concierge lounge was just average. The eggs for breakfast in the lounge were horrible.

Also, my HVAC made strange noised most of the night.

Room Tip: 12th is the top floor but be aware of noise on the north end as its close to the Concierge lounge an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

Shiny clean, quiet, friendly and central. Five minute walk from anywhere. It felt very safe to walk around during the evening. Harmon's supermarket close by is excellent for supplies. Hotel restaurant very nice.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the front if there is a band playing in the plaza behind the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, South Carolina, United States
Top Contributor
117 reviews 117 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

Held a very large group meeting here for 5 days. The hotel and staff, food and service were all great. Great location as well. I had to walk to Fed Ex Kinkos and it was only about three blocks away. Great location to see Temple Square and also ran up to the Capitol building one morning.
Would highly recommend.

Room Tip: Top rooms have balconies.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

If downtown Salt Lake City is your destination then this is the perfect place to stay. There are numerous tourist sites near by and a variety of good eating establishments within walking distance. The staff is warm and very helpful. The hotel is well kept and up to date and the rooms clean and comfortable, however, a couple a minor issues annoyed me. First was the shower. I can't speak to every room, but my shower was challenging just to turn on and when that was complete the trickle of water was barely sufficient to remove the sweat I worked up! No doubt the hotel is doing its part to conserve water, but really? The second issue was with the add ons. I thought the parking fee and wifi fee (free for first 24 hrs.) were a bit steep, but not outrageous. Obviously the hotel is geared more for the business traveler.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spanish Fort, Alabama
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

Stayed here two nights while visiting Salt Lake City. The location is superb and is close enough to Temple Square to walk. The staff was very nice and helpful. The room was well laid out, clean, and spacious. The bathroom was large and clean and everything functioned as you would expect. The hotel clearly my wife and my expectations and we would be happy to stay there again.

Room Tip: If you can get it, ask for a corner room. We were upgraded due to my frequent Marriott guest status...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Draper, UT.
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013

I take my girls here for an annual trip. We love this location!! It overlooks the City Creek Center. Great restaurants and shopping right out the back door. As far as the hotel itself it is very clean and comfortable. The staff is so warm and welcoming. The gym has lots of great equipment and the pool and spa are large and fun. Our room had a beautiful view of Temple Square. (Also within walking distance.) The only issue I have is that I think we were on the "family" floor, and there were lots of loud families coming and going. We'll be back again next year for the annual girls trip. Love this hotel!

Room Tip: Choose a room on the north side on a higher floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Marriott Salt Lake City City Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marriott Salt Lake City City Center

Address: 220 South State Street, Salt Lake City, UT 84111
Location: United States > Utah > Salt Lake City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Salt Lake City
#15 Business Hotel in Salt Lake City
#22 Family Hotel in Salt Lake City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Marriott Salt Lake City City Center 4*
Number of rooms: 359
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Marriott, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Marriott Salt Lake City City Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Salt Lake City City Hotel Salt Lake City
Salt Lake City Marriott
Marriott Salt Lake City City Center Utah

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Marriott Salt Lake City City Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.