We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel in Salt Lake City (3.5 stars)” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Marriott Salt Lake City City Center

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Marriott Salt Lake City City Center to your Saves list
Marriott Salt Lake City City Center
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   220 South State Street, Salt Lake City, UT 84111   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
FREE Wi-Fi
Ranked #25 of 74 Hotels in Salt Lake City
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Zurich, Switzerland
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
71 hotel reviews
Reviews in 66 cities Reviews in 66 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
“Nice hotel in Salt Lake City (3.5 stars)”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

The Marriott in Salt Lake City is located not to far from Temple Square and hence is in a good location to explore the city by foot. The hotel is nice and clean and the rooms were OK. The service was very good and friendly. Overall I would stay here again and would give 3.5 stars (the special something to get 4 stars was missing).

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

401 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    172
    155
    50
    21
    3
See reviews for
46
83
25
185
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Alexandria, Virginia, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

The accommodations are wonderful and for 2 days we had breakfast, lunch and dinner there. The food was excellent. Always plated beautifully and delicious. The staff was friendly and always went the extra mile to meet our requests.

Room Tip: If you have an even numbered room, you look out over a plaza with a bandstand. If you are on the lo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Idaho Falls, Idaho
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

I booked a conference for communications professionals after reviewing 5 other hotels in the SLC area. This hotel was the perfect fit for our group of around 125 people. The regional sales director and convention manager went out of their way to make sure all our needs were met both before and during the conference. The hotel and conference facility is beautiful and well kept. Many, many attendees praised the delicious food -- six meals -- over two days. I received lots of positive feedback on the great food served. The luncheon buffets were both beautiful and tasty. When we had last-minute AV needs, their technician was immediately available to help us with unexpected request from presenters. When a rock concert was scheduled in the Galvan Center the evening of a dinner program, they gave us a heads-up as soon as they learned of the concert and offered to move our dinner to a quieter room -- we took them up on the generous offer. Based on personal experience, and feed back from attendees, Marriott City Center in SLC earned an A+. I would definitely book again for a similar size group.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the Galvan Center have a nice view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, MN
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

My husband and I recently stayed at the Marriott City Center, in SLC, Utah while attending a USANA Convention. The hotel was nice, had wonderful shuttle service back and forth to the Convention and we especially thought the bed and linens were exceptionally comfortable!

We did experience a glitch when checking in (on a Wed). We were sharing a room and the room had been 'reserved' on the other party's credit card. We had already 'settled' the bill with the other party, so had expected the actual charges to be placed on their credit card. When checking in, the front desk said that both parties needed to present credit cards. My husband gave them our's which is a Visa Debit Card from our bank. Well, they promptly put a 'pending' charge on our account for $732.66 (four days stay plus taxes). They ALSO put a pending charge on the other party's card... Not sure why they had the charges on both cards...

Since our's was a 'debit' card, that meant that our bank was withholding those funds. Put a wrench in our spending plans some! On Friday we brought the attention to the front desk who apologized and said they could 'move' all the charges to the other party's card, and did so.

Turns out that doesn't automatically release our funds at our bank. Unfortunately, due to the time of day and it being the end of the business week, the Marriott was unable to reach our bank but assured us that the 'charge would "fall off" in a day or two'. Well, three days later (Mon - and we had already returned home), our bank was still holding the funds. I called our bank who said that the hotel had to issue a letter to them saying that they should cancel the pending transaction because they had already received payment. It was a bit messy but the Marriott was super responsive and faxed the letter immediately. After another day, our bank finally released our funds.

So... in a nutshell - VERY HIGH MARKS FOR MARRIOTT, however, if you are sharing a room and want all the charges on one party's card - be VERY specific when you are checking in, and only give them ONE card, even if they request two.

We had a very frustrating experience with our bank, but it wasn't really Marriott's fault and they went out of their way to assist us in getting resolution!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wichita, Kansas, United States
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013

While the facility itself is clean, modern and well kept, the customer service is abysmal. The desk clerk at check in was cold and snarky. Bell hops didn't say a word and even refused to make eye contact. The drinks were so weak at the bar it tasted like soda water, the bourbon nonexistent. The internet connection was horrible and unreliable, with little help from tech support. Beds a rock hard, without the regular topper usually found at Marriott's. The food at the conference was all horribly overcooked, soggy and tasteless. Customer service shouldn't be so difficult. Is it really so hard just to smile at people? Will not stay at this rather expensive hotel again and will think twice before coming back to Salt Lake City. Not a friendly city.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burbank, California
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

The staff was great and accommodating. A bit more than I expected. Great location with lots of things within walking distance, gift shop in the lobby open late selling snacks. I booked late when a big convention was in town so the rate was higher than I would have liked.

My big issue was with the layout of the corner suite I had. the HVAC was in the far corner of the suite and no real airflow in the front of the suite where the bathroom and closet were. Seems odd and during the 100 degree temperatures a challenge. I kept the AC on all the time to keep the room cool but I also have to say I am always sensitive to heat.

I would definitely come back as it was a solid business property with free wifi in my room. A great bonus.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ny
Top Contributor
174 reviews 174 reviews
78 hotel reviews
Reviews in 77 cities Reviews in 77 cities
129 helpful votes 129 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

My family of five just stayed here for one night before a flight out of SLC Intl Airport. I chose this hotel because I received a wonderful rate with my AAA/Marriott Rewards status. We booked two rooms and each room had two double beds. Rooms were comfortable and clean; they were standard Marriott hotel rooms. Location was great - it was just a few blocks from City Creek - an indoor/outdoor mall. We all had the breakfast buffet and it was great. I was able to easily print out my boarding passes in the morning. One slightly negative thing was that there was little to no assistance with getting our bags into the hotel. The valets seemed short staffed and we just had carryon but had to carry them up the stairs and felt it was odd that there was no one there to offer assistance with that. Marriott should think about having a ramp here to help people out; we would have appreciated that!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Marriott Salt Lake City City Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marriott Salt Lake City City Center

Address: 220 South State Street, Salt Lake City, UT 84111
Location: United States > Utah > Salt Lake City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Salt Lake City
#15 Business Hotel in Salt Lake City
#22 Family Hotel in Salt Lake City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Marriott Salt Lake City City Center 4*
Number of rooms: 359
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, EasyToBook, Priceline, Marriott and Hotels.com so you can book your Marriott Salt Lake City City Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Salt Lake City City Hotel Salt Lake City
Salt Lake City Marriott
Marriott Salt Lake City City Center Utah

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Marriott Salt Lake City City Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.