We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Location in SLC” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Marriott Salt Lake City City Center

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Marriott Salt Lake City City Center to your Saves list
Marriott Salt Lake City City Center
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   220 South State Street, Salt Lake City, UT 84111   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
FREE Wi-Fi
Ranked #25 of 74 Hotels in Salt Lake City
Peoples Republic of PDX
Level Contributor
58 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Excellent Location in SLC”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

This hotel is in very nice shape and in close proximity to the attractions, restuarants and night life.
There is AMPLE street parking available. There is no reason to pay the daily parking charge unless you drive a very expensive car.

Room Tip: All views are excellent. The city is ringed by snow capped mountains. My favorite would be the sou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

430 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    183
    169
    53
    22
    3
See reviews for
48
91
26
201
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (90)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level Contributor
38 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

This hotel is in a great location for business travelers coming to Salt Lake City. Across the street from the Convention Center, blocks from Temple Square; lots of local restaurants and lounges. Rooms were small but clean, only issue was the really scratchy sheets. Reasonably priced on-site parking.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

This was my second stay in Salt Lake City for business. I stayed at this hotel for a 6 day business trip, which included a weekend stay (and a Saturday and Sunday morning off). I enjoy staying at Marriotts for the service, gyms, business services and concierge lounges. The nice aspects about this hotel were its the service, the restaurant, and that the food in the concierge lounge was typically good and the concierge lounge attendants were attentive and personable. However, food service and the drink service in the conceirge lounge was limited to certain hours during the week---not including Saturday (at all) or Sunday (until the evening). Additionally, at the cocktail hour, rather than having complimentary beer and wine, it was a cash bar. The location of the hotel is very good, being just a block away from the mall and a block away from Main street where a number of very nice restaurants, coffee shops and bars are located. The restaurant and bar was nice and the service good. However, I only ate there twice as there are many very good restaurants within a few blocks. As I had a rental car, it was also not too far from the ski resort areas, which were about 30 to 45 minutes away. I spent Saturday at Brighton Ski Resort, which is mostly "locals", and which provided some relief from the President's Day weekend crowds. Sunday was a little odd for me in that downtown Salt Lake City was a total ghost town. Not even the mall was open. As I had been warned of this, I woke up early (still on Eastern time) and headed to Park City for some breakfast and shopping. The food in Park City was phenomenal. And the shopping was decent too. I would mention a few other small issues: (1) the bed was a little stiffer than I expect from Marriotts; (2) the TV was definitely NOT HD; (3) the pool and hot tub (nice to sit in after a day of skiing) had an overwhelming amount of chemicals that started to hurt my eyes after only 15 minutes; and (4) there was no Starbucks or other coffee shop on site (but there were three within a block or so of the hotel). All in all, I was very pleased with the Marriott City Center. It was close to the offices I had to visit in Salt Lake and served as a good home base.

Room Tip: Stay in the rooms facing the ice skating rink.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013 via mobile

This hotel is a great value for a downtown stay--it's on the same block as the new downtown shopping plaza, close to good (independent) restaurants, and easy to find. The service during our stay has been very good. The rooms are updated, though small. Free wifi. A nice pool, though too highly chlorinated. Self- and valet parking are both under $20. Overall, a really good value at under $100 for the night.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
65 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013 via mobile

I had a fantastic week-long stay for the Adobe Summit in Salt Lake City. The staff and service was excellent. I especially enjoyed the beautiful fitness center with a great view of the city and mountain landscape. The rooms were very clean and comfortable. Plenty of plugs to charge up the electronics at your fingertips. Any questions or concerns and the staff was right there to help. Room service was quick and tasty!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Logan, Utah
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013

For a category 5 Marriott, I did not receive the service I expected. I am also a Platinum Marriott member. The wifi service was available in the pool and fitness areas, but only to meeting room books, if you were an overnight guest, even paying $9.95/night for internet, they would not provide you access to wifi in those areas. Wow. Better service even at a Fairfield! Disappointed.

Room Tip: Rooms on the west side have better views and are quieter. Don't expect wifi service outside of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antimony, Utah
Level Contributor
88 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

The first thing I notice in hotels. Dirty flooring and light bulbs out. Seems a reflection of overall upkeep on most any hotel. The City Center Marriott is spotless. From the main entrance, to the lobby, elevator, hall corridors and rooms. All kept orderly and clean! Rooms well stocked, plenty of towels and the comfy beds I have come to love at Marriott.

I had a corner room, king bed and I think it was their executive king room on the 8th floor. The views of Salt Lake City were very nice from the two windows.

Overall great location and very nice hotel. Well done Marriott City Center!!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Salt Lake City hotels
0.4 mi away
Salt Lake Marriott Downtown at City Creek
Salt Lake Marriott Downtown at C...
#33 of 74 in Salt Lake City
4.0 of 5 stars 409 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Monaco Salt Lake City - a Kimpton Hotel
Hotel Monaco Salt Lake City - a ...
#10 of 74 in Salt Lake City
4.5 of 5 stars 770 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hilton Salt Lake City Center
Hilton Salt Lake City Center
#16 of 74 in Salt Lake City
4.0 of 5 stars 823 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hotel Salt Lake City
0.5 mi away
Grand America Hotel
Grand America Hotel
#2 of 74 in Salt Lake City
4.5 of 5 stars 944 reviews
0.5 mi away
Little America Hotel
Little America Hotel
#22 of 74 in Salt Lake City
4.0 of 5 stars 1,179 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marriott Salt Lake City City Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marriott Salt Lake City City Center

Address: 220 South State Street, Salt Lake City, UT 84111
Location: United States > Utah > Salt Lake City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Salt Lake City
#15 Business Hotel in Salt Lake City
#23 Family Hotel in Salt Lake City
#23 Romantic Hotel in Salt Lake City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Marriott Salt Lake City City Center 4*
Number of rooms: 359
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, EasyToBook, Hotwire, Marriott, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Venere so you can book your Marriott Salt Lake City City Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Salt Lake City City Hotel Salt Lake City
Salt Lake City Marriott
Marriott Salt Lake City City Center Utah

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Marriott Salt Lake City City Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.