We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Can't beat free” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sheraton Salt Lake City Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Sheraton Salt Lake City Hotel to your Saves list
Sheraton Salt Lake City Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   150 West 500 South, Salt Lake City, UT 84101   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Breakfast for 2 Included
Ranked #43 of 75 Hotels in Salt Lake City
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Can't beat free”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2014

We stayed here on 7/5/14. I used points, so the room was free.
Our room had 2 double beds, but obviously was made for 1 king as the door hit bed # 1 when opened. The bathroom was nice and roomy. The beds were comfortable. The rooms was clean and the staff was friendly and helpful. Overall, a great place, just not our specific room. Could be because it was free. One negative: no outlets to charge our devices.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeff N, Director of Sales at Sheraton Salt Lake City Hotel, responded to this review, September 4, 2014
Dear Heathbul,

Thank you for staying with us! I'm glad you enjoyed the comfort of our famous Sheraton Sweet Sleeper beds!

Sincerely,

Jeff N.
Director of Sales & Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

509 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    122
    199
    117
    52
    19
See reviews for
94
124
43
170
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (111)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Fall River, Massachusetts
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2014

Would recommend staying here!!! Very close to the airport, free parking, close to restaurants and downtown. We began our trip here before moving on. Definitely worth the money. Clean room and bathroom. They have a Starbucks right in the hotel, but they close early, only complaint!!! lol Very nice hotel

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeff N, Director of Sales at Sheraton Salt Lake City Hotel, responded to this review, September 4, 2014
Dear C L,

Thank you for the compliments!

Sincerely,

Jeff N.
Director of Sales & Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, New Hampshire
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2014

Super friendly staff. They will shuttle you around town, or they are close to light rail. Nice lobby. Nice executive lounge with complimentary drinks in the evening.

Only negative (really, just a goofy thing). They have the large packets of Starbucks for in room coffee (thank you!) BUT the coffee pot is one of those little ones that take the tiny pods. There is NO way to brew the coffee without making a horrible mess and you still get more coffee on the floor than in the cup. I used 2 towels to clean up and left an apology to housecleaning. When I mentioned it at checkout, the desk clerk said "yes, I've heard that those really don't fit and it is quite the mess".....REALLY,? How does something like this continue? I would think housekeeping would have said something to management. Please replace the coffee makers with the larger versions. (Dont switch to those little pods - they are awful).

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeff N, Director of Sales at Sheraton Salt Lake City Hotel, responded to this review, September 4, 2014
Dear milklady58,

Thank you for the compliment on our staff and I sincerely appreciate hearing from you about the in room coffee makers! These comments are important to us!

Sincerely,

Jeff N.
Director of Sales & Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Elsinore, California
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

Driving with family and small dog from So Cal to Northwest Montana on vacation. Always a challenge to find a nice hotel with the dog. BringFideo.com told us about the Sheraton. We stayed there on drive up and back home. They have pet friendly rooms that are on the ground level with sliding glass doors so it is easy to take your dog out to the grassy area for a walk. Would stay again. Only downside, this being Utah, you couldn't bring food and drink from the restaurant or bar to your room, it had to be room service, so a bit pricy. Also they made you sign an agreement saying you would not leave dog in room, so you couldn't go to restaurant.

Room Tip: If you are traveling with pet, make sure you tell them when you book
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeff N, Director of Sales at Sheraton Salt Lake City Hotel, responded to this review, September 4, 2014
Dear BernDude,

Thank you for staying with us and for bringing your dog! We are certainly happy to give our guests the opportunity to travel with their pets. Additionally, we wish we could be more accommodating about taking alcoholic beverages out of the restaurant, but guests can definitely take the food from the restaurant back to their room.

We hope you will return again soon!

Sincerely,

Jeff N.
Director of Sales & Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boise, Idaho
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2014 via mobile

I am not one to complain about horrible service, but I had to about this hotel just horrible. The maid service is horrible, if I could share pictures I would. It was a job that a three-year-old would have done. The bathroom was dirty. The parking is bad. The only remotely good thing about this hotel is the location.

I am only posting this to warn people and to hopefully get the hotel to take notice of the horrible conditions.

If you enjoy mediocrity, stay here.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeff N, Director of Sales at Sheraton Salt Lake City Hotel, responded to this review, September 4, 2014
Dear Dwight P,

I'm very sorry, we take pride in the cleanliness of our rooms but we certainly failed to follow our standards during your stay. I will share your comment with our housekeeping staff for their follow up. Thank you for brining this to our attention.

Sincerely,

Jeff N.
Director of Sales & Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, TX
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2014

Stayed here for two nights during business. Originally I was put in the non-tower portion of the hotel on the northern end. This area has the option to combine rooms with a shared door which would be useful if you are traveling a family but was too noisy for me (I think the guys next door were doing calisthenics or something all evening). I moved to the 5th floor of the tower and this room was quiet.

The shower on the 5th floor room had issues with hot water. Overall, this hotel is ok, paid ~130 for the room which is a decent rate but probably the most I'd be willing to pay again. One nice thing is that there is a free hotel shuttle (which isn't too common for a downtown hotel) which worked very well for my needs and I arrived around 11:30 pm and left the hotel at 5:30am...there is also ample parking. Beware that a walk to most of the downtown attraction is probably around 20 minutes and that the south side of Salt Lake is kind of sketchy.

If you are a runner, run to City Canyon which is around 1.5 miles away and you can run up the canyon (don't be deceived by the term canyon, its uphill) for 5+ miles.

Room Tip: Tower, as high as possible
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeff N, Director of Sales at Sheraton Salt Lake City Hotel, responded to this review, September 4, 2014
Dear Joey S,

Thank you for being our guest and we appreicate your review and feedback. I'm glad you enjoyed our complimentary airport shuttle. Our guests certainly love this feature!

Sincerely,

Jeff N.
Director of Sales & Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2014

Stayed here 16 July - 19 July 2014. Had a double bed room on the 10th floor, the club level. The A/C was not working, contacted the front desk. The maintenance man came to look at the A/C, and stated it was not working properly. He contacted the front desk and we were moved to a room on the 9th floor. This next room was smaller than the 10th floor room, however the A/C was working properly. The rub was oval-ish shaped, larger than our 1st room tub. The view we had was looking out onto the main street in front of the hotel. You could hear the sirens or loud trucks very well even up on the 9th floor. The room was nice, bed was soft. The toilet paper holder kept coming off - it was missing a screw and wouldn't stay on. The shower head I could never get to move for different massage / power levels. The club level breakfast area was ok. It was a bit on the small size for the amount of people who were eating in their daily. We had to share tables with other hotel guests. The breakfast server was more on the grouchy side. She questioned people who had access to enter why they were in there. Their key let them in I wanted to tell her. There was eggs, bagels, bread, cereal, coffee, and a cappuccino machine, which the breakfast attendant guarded like a her own baby. If you used it, it was your fault you broke it, or made it hiss. The last day, 19 July, we were taking luggage down to the car, on several trips, and the housekeeper left her cart in the middle of the hallway. We asked her to move this, and she didn't understand English enough to move the cart. On the last trip we said we were not down in the room, and we had not checked out of the hotel as of yet. When we got back into the room, she had the beds stripped and the towels from the bathroom gone. We still needed to put on makeup, and do other bathroom things, and she basically took over our room. We then checked out of the hotel and used the bathroom in the lobby to complete things. I did fill rushed that last day trying to keep out of her way, after we were left room less. The front desk staff was nice and pleasing to talk with.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeff N, Director of Sales at Sheraton Salt Lake City Hotel, responded to this review, August 7, 2014
Dear Heather629,

Thank you for being our guest and I'm grateful to have your feedback on the Sheraton Club. It sounds like some additional training is needed and we'll review internally. I apologize that our staff made you feel rushed, that's not acceptable on our part.

Sincerely,

Jeff N.
Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sheraton Salt Lake City Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Salt Lake City Hotel

Address: 150 West 500 South, Salt Lake City, UT 84101
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Utah > Salt Lake City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Salt Lake City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Sheraton Salt Lake City Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 362
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Relax in one of our 362 comfortably spacious guest rooms or 30 suites. Experience the celebrated "ahhhh" of the Sheraton Sweet Sleeper (SM) Bed. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Starwood, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Sheraton Salt Lake City Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Salt Lake City Hotel Utah
Salt Lake City Sheraton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sheraton Salt Lake City Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.