We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just OK” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Sheraton Salt Lake City Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Sheraton Salt Lake City Hotel to your Saves list
Sheraton Salt Lake City Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   150 West 500 South, Salt Lake City, UT 84101   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Breakfast for 2 Included
Ranked #43 of 76 Hotels in Salt Lake City
Vancouver
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
“Just OK”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2008

I stayed at this hotel for one night in June 2008. As a Starwood platinum I was upgraded to the club floor on the 10th. The room was a bit old and tired as well as the rest of the hotel. The only good part about the hotel was the Club Lounge which served a better than average breakfast. The pool was a bit dirty with things floating in it but the kids around the pool seemed to enjoy it. I would have to agree with other commenters that the staff wasn't all that friendly.

  • Stayed June 2008, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

505 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    121
    197
    117
    51
    19
See reviews for
93
124
43
168
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (108)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
CA
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2008

I booked through priceline for $50/night, and thought I got a good deal. Turn out they put me on the 2 story building on the back, motel like building without elevator. I had to carry my bag up 2 flights of stair, luckily I only had 1 luggage. The room is spacious, but it has funky smell. Bathtub was clogged. Only a few channels for cable TV. No wireless internet. Be ware of $10/day parking. The scariest part of my stay was around 9:30PM, a guy knocked on the door said maintenance services which I never requested for any services. It was only 1 night stay, but overall the experience was unpleasant.

  • Liked — Nothing
  • Disliked — everything
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NW Ohio
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2008

I stay here 3-5 nights every 2 years for a conference. I have stayed in both the tower and in the 2 story extra rooms. I have noticed the tower has much nicer rooms. This time I had a pillow top mattress, just like at home and a garden tub.

I did have some trouble with the internet and phone on the 1st night there but it was fixed early the next morning. Desk staff was friendly and helpful.

Food preparation was amazing as usual for this business event. I will never know how they can prepare 1200 steaks and serve them still hot, tender, and in a timely manner.

  • Liked — Very organized during a huge conference
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boise, Idaho
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2008

I attended a one-day seminar there in March. The meeting room they gave was a little hard to find, and the setup wasn't the greatest. The seminar was mostly focused on a visual presentation - the ceiling was too low so the screen was too low, and the chairs were too close together (theater style) for the presentation. Few people could see more than half of the screen.

The lunch buffet line was poorly set up also - causing a very long lunch line for a small group (60 people). The continental breakfast was more/better than I expected, but the lunch food was excellent.

So over all I have to give it an average rating. Excellent food, poor meeting room and setup.

Stayed March 2008, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2008

To start with, I did book this room through Priceline and only paid $50 for it so I can't complain. We drove down so that we could put our daughter on a plane the next morning.

They only had double beds. Even though it was comfortable with great bedding I felt like I was going to roll off all night. We aren't used to having such a small bed in this day and age!

The decor is very dated. The bathroom really needs new tile. But things were pretty clean.

We ate breakfast in the dining room and had the buffet. It was pretty pricey for what was offered. Very disappointing.

All of the staff we encountered was very friendly.

  • Stayed March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NoVa
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2008

I did not choose to stay here because I've had horrible experiences with Sheraton in the past, but my business made the travel arrangements for me. The hotel was clean enough, but very dated. The noise is absolutely horrible. I could hear every conversation in the hallway, every person walking past my room, every footstep from the rooms above me, and every door slam. The people in the room next to me had a dog, and when it barked, I could swear the dog was in my room. I would wake up in the middle of the night because a door would slam, people would be talking, etc. The bathroom wasn't the cleanest. There were hairs that did not belong to me all over the floor. I just took all the extra towels they provide and made a huge floormat with them so I didn't have to step on the tiles. The bathtub is very oddly shaped. There is no flat surface on the floor of the tub. The entire thing is curved in on the sides. It was quite uncomfortable, and I always felt like I was going to slip and fall. The shape of the tub also seemed to cause a drainage problem. The drain worked properly, but the water couldn't quite make it to the drain with the way it was shaped. This hotel definitely wasn't the worst I've stayed in, but I wouldn't willingly go there again. The employees were very pleasant, and I would be ok if my business made reservations there again. I just think that in this day and age, where you have cheap but nice chains popping up with Marriott or Hilton as their parent (Hilton Garden Inn, Springhill Suites), the Sheraton should consider an overhaul of their hotels. They are all just too dated.

  • Stayed March 2008, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Paul, MN
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2008

As a flight attendant, I stay at many, MANY hotels. This is one that I beg our hotel committee to change after every visit. I would not continue to choose Salt Lake City layovers if it wasn't for my one true passion in life - snowboarding.

This hotel makes it very convenient to reach Big and Little Cottonwood Canyons for a great day in the powder (especially with the ski rental shops located next door). Unfortunately, though, I don't think that's enough, anymore.

I am fed up with the staff's treatment of us, as crew members, and the expenses incurred with staying here. They charge for EVERYTHING!!!

The hotel offers ethernet but at a cost of $12.95/day. It's not even wireless!!! To use it, I'd have to sit at a small desk and that is not my idea of comfort.

I try to save money by bringing my own food in a cooler. Most hotels I willingly stay at allow me to use their kitchen's refrigerator to store it or they allow me to use a refrigerator in my room at no, or greatly reduced, charge. I do not have either option here.

The biggest complaint I have, in addition to the rude staff, is their van service from the airport. Every time I stay here, I wait a minimum of 45-minutes for a van. This is even after I am told that it is just minutes away! I continue to call back and am, constantly, told the same lie.

This last stay, I was told they mistook another crew for us. How is that possible when their airline is in another terminal?! After working a long day, it just adds insult to injury.

For the price this hotel charges, I would highly, HIGHLY recommend checking out another property in the area. There are so many to choose from, including others along the ski bus route. Stay away and be thankful!

  • Stayed February 2008, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sheraton Salt Lake City Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Salt Lake City Hotel

Address: 150 West 500 South, Salt Lake City, UT 84101
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Utah > Salt Lake City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Salt Lake City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Sheraton Salt Lake City Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 362
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Relax in one of our 362 comfortably spacious guest rooms or 30 suites. Experience the celebrated "ahhhh" of the Sheraton Sweet Sleeper (SM) Bed. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Starwood, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Sheraton Salt Lake City Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Salt Lake City Hotel Utah
Salt Lake City Sheraton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sheraton Salt Lake City Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.