We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OK - nothing special, but good breakfast” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Radisson Hotel Salt Lake City Downtown

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Radisson Hotel Salt Lake City Downtown to your Saves list
Radisson Hotel Salt Lake City Downtown
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   215 West South Temple, Salt Lake City, UT 84101   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Enjoy Savings of 20%
Ranked #28 of 75 Hotels in Salt Lake City
Seattle, Washington
Top Contributor
197 reviews 197 reviews
194 hotel reviews
Reviews in 168 cities Reviews in 168 cities
152 helpful votes 152 helpful votes
“OK - nothing special, but good breakfast”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2007

The hotel itself was ok - nothing special - rooms were ok, sleep number bed, but nothing spectacular. It was clean and well lit and right across from the light rail.

The first night, I didn't adjust the sleep number, so it was on 100 and hard as a Chinese hotel bed - but once I realized that, it was much better.

The restaurant, however, had a really good breakfast - very nice and good value - always love an omelet bar!

  • Liked — breakfast
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

461 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    174
    171
    66
    29
    21
See reviews for
58
104
43
199
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (94)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Orem, Utah
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2007

Quite possibly the worst $100+ hotel I've ever visited. (I booked late and didn't get a great rate). Staff was indifferent. A/C in the room was loud. Had to turn it off around 1 am. There was valet parking but I honestly never spotted a "valet." The hot tub has some kind of black algae or scum or something growing on the floor.

We were going to stay in the Embassy Suites with our 2 4 year olds, but chose this one because it was closer to downtown and the last minute rate was cheaper. Bad call. The kids wanted to ride the train downtown anyway and the pool at the Raddison is better for kids.

Good, only, for bussiness travelers who don't expect too much and need to be close to the convention center.

  • Liked — Location and in-room wireless worked
  • Disliked — Indifferent staff, loud A/C in room and something growing in hot tub.
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
McKinney, Texas
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2007

I stayed four nights at this Hotel and thought the accommodations were great. We required two beds and the beds were sleep number beds and very comfortable.
The hotel was quiet, clean, and reasonable rates.
I would stay there again.

  • Liked — Clean, comfortable, rates, convenient to Mormon Library
  • Disliked — No continental breakfast
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2007

Just got back from a 2 day business trip in Salt Lake City and chose the Radisson downtown bc of the location and the price ($139/night). I was a little hesitant on staying here since last month I had an awful experience at another Radisson in Orlando but after writing them a letter, they were nice enough to send me a gift certificate so I decided to take a chance.

The room was clean and comfortable, I was very happy w/ the sleep number bed and the bedding and the bathroom I did the online check in a few days earlier since I knew I would be getting in late and they accommodated all my requests such as a single king on a high floor (11th). The staff was helpful and nice as well.

The food for room service was ok, not the best but I’ve had worse.

The only thing I didn’t like was the parking garage which was a little spooky since they were doing some construction work and each day there was plastic tarp that covered different sections, made it kinda confusing when parking your car at night and then the next day, not recognizing if you were in the right spot, o well.

My overall experience was pretty good here, I would stay here again.

  • Liked — value
  • Disliked — parking garage
  • Stayed April 2007, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Idaho
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2007

We needed a hotel in SLC because of an early morning flight. We stayed here for free because of a bad experience at another Radisson. They gave us a gift certificate.
This is a high rise type hotel in the main downtown area. The check in parking is covered and the lobby is quite nice. There is a multi -story parking garage that costs $13/ night but looks fairly safe. Our room was clean and it was very comfortable. The beds were the number adjustable type and they each had a down comforter on them. The bathroom was clean and well stocked.
The biggest negative was the street noise. We were on the 15th floor and we could still hear the street trolley most of the night.
We would stay here again but I honestly did not notice how much a room goes for.

  • Liked — Very comfortable rooms
  • Disliked — Noisy room all night
  • Stayed February 2007, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chicago
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2007

I just returned from a stay at this hotel and was very disappointed. Elevators were not running, parking garage key was malfunctioning, no coffee in room, bed by numbers was broken on my first night there. When trying to voice my concerns with front desk, noone would answer phone for at minimum 10 minutes. Also tried to order room service on first night there and couldn't get anyone to answer phone. When food did finally arrive it was inedible. I would never stay here again. I would pay double at one of their competitors first. Hotel is understaffed which makes me nervous about their safety issues.
I am trying to say one positive comment about the hotel and cannot think of one. Sorry.

Stayed January 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Idaho Falls, Idaho
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2006

Bottom line up front: The Radisson is probably a great hotel, in so long that you receive the right room, are greeted by the right people at check-in and don't mind sleeping in two double beds with your wife.

I booked this for a November trip, while waiting for a flight to go to Mexico. The hotel inside is beautiful. The rooms are small, but clean. Our view wasn't that great.

That said, we got a GREAT rate through Priceline to stay here, so I can't complain on those saving. But, of course, with a priceline booking, you don't receive any of the awards usually associated with frequent stays at a hotel chain. Oh well...

I just didn't like that I asked for a King, but received two doubles for this room. The AC/Heat is NOISY and it was FREEZING in the room when we arrived. But, overall, a nice upgrade.

This hotel is definitely not one that I would recommend to friends and/or ever stay at myself again, but it was just "ALRIGHT."

Could have been better with a more congeniale front staff that actually seems interested in your stay at their hotel. They herded me through like cattle and just was not cheated well...

Lastly, as an FYI, if you're planning on staying here to park for the Airport, DON'T DO IT!!!!! This Raddison does not run a shuttle airport and will also charge you $13 per day for parking. My recommendation is to stay here the one nigt, and then just drive over to the $6 long-term parking available at the airport...

Hope that this helps!

  • Liked — The beds were very comfortable
  • Disliked — The service, staff, and the overall cleanliness/updates of the rooms
  • Tips/Secrets — Stay somewhere else for a GREAT STAY...stay here for a bed and shower
  • Stayed November 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Radisson Hotel Salt Lake City Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radisson Hotel Salt Lake City Downtown

Address: 215 West South Temple, Salt Lake City, UT 84101
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Utah > Salt Lake City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#13 Family Hotel in Salt Lake City
#22 Romantic Hotel in Salt Lake City
#30 Business Hotel in Salt Lake City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Radisson Hotel Salt Lake City Downtown 3.5*
Number of rooms: 381
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Recently renovated, excellent value. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Radisson Hotel Salt Lake City Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Salt Lake City Downtown Hotel Salt Lake City
Salt Lake City Radisson
Radisson Hotel Salt Lake City Downtown Utah

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Radisson Hotel Salt Lake City Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.