We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful way to start a trip” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Tracy Aviary

The Tracy Aviary
589 East 1300 South, Salt Lake City, UT 84105
801-596-8500
Website
Improve this listing
Visit The Tracy Aviary like an insider
Top Rated
$31*
and up
Salt Lake City Hop-On Hop-Off Tour
Ranked #24 of 144 things to do in Salt Lake City
Certificate of Excellence 2014
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The oldest aviary in the U.S. features extensive collections, educational programs and exhibits of more than 130 different species of birds.
memphis
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“Wonderful way to start a trip”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2014

After sitting on a plane for hours, it was a welcome change to get outside and enjoy this fine collection of birds. We were lucky to have great weather since this is mostly outdoors. The whole family loved it. The owls were cool and we got some good pictures. I thought condors were extinct, but who knew they had a 53 year old one here.

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

171 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    92
    60
    15
    1
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Harrisburg, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
309 reviews 309 reviews
76 attraction reviews
Reviews in 119 cities Reviews in 119 cities
114 helpful votes 114 helpful votes
“Nice variety of birds”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2014

We were able to walk leisurely through the park with not much of a crowd. They have several owls which were all out during our visit. We also enjoyed going into a few enclosures and feeling like we were right in the midst of exotic birds. Per a sign, the Andean Condor is often walking free throughout the park, but he was enclosed when we saw him.

I would say this park is worth the entry fee. Fun for kids and adults.

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City, Utah
1 review
“Private Park”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2014 credit card Amex Card Member Review

We enjoy the calm and quiet setting that Tracy Aviary provides. It feels like our own private park. The grounds are well-maintained with clean restrooms and we are looking forward to the renovations being completed to upgrade our rating.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Top Contributor
467 reviews 467 reviews
297 attraction reviews
Reviews in 163 cities Reviews in 163 cities
317 helpful votes 317 helpful votes
“Nice selection of birds but it's mostly outdoors”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2013

I was surprised that so much of this was outdoors. It was a snowy cold day and we had hoped to see something indoors, but we ended up looking for birds in the snow. It was interesting, but I think it would be much better in summer. They seem to cater to birthday parties for the locals, so some places may be off limits.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento
Top Contributor
151 reviews 151 reviews
20 attraction reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“Worth Visiting”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2013

I really enjoyed this place and could easily have missed it. It's not well advertised. We took the train from downtown to the aviary. They have many enclosures and the staff are very knowledgeable about their birds as well as ones they don't house (such as penguins.)

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Tracy Aviary also viewed

 
Salt Lake City, UT
 

Been to The Tracy Aviary? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Tracy Aviary, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.