We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellence!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bruges Waffles and Frites

Bruges Waffles and Frites
336 West Broadway, Salt Lake City, UT
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 1,226 Restaurants in Salt Lake City
Cuisines: Belgian
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch
Conway, Arkansas
Top Contributor
213 reviews 213 reviews
84 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 93 cities Reviews in 93 cities
115 helpful votes 115 helpful votes
“Excellence!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012 via mobile

Don't expect a sit down restaraunt like we did. It's a tiny place ( 6 seats ) but so awesome! Had a waffle with 2 chocolate bars in it. The vanilla waffle was so tasty I will get it plain next time. The vanilla bean ice cream on top made it perfect. There are only three items ( huge sandwich, frites, and different types of waffles) but all are fabulous!

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

116 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    74
    38
    3
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Park City, Utah
Top Contributor
140 reviews 140 reviews
95 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“I've only been once but...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

I ate at the Sugar House location and was hoping for a breakfast menu of waffles and eggs but they don't have all that. Their Belgian menu pretty much sticks to sweet waffle dishes and other meat dishes. I settled for the ultra sweet waffle with vanilla ice cream and berries and it was very good. But at almost ten bucks I wouldn't rush back. The service was very friendly; it's a fast food environment (order at the counter).

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orford, Canada
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Way too expensive for what you get!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

We went there for my husband's birthday while in Salt Lake City and were not particularly impressed with the food. We are from Quebec (Canada) and are used to good european cuisine... The fries were good but not amazing, the machine gun was good, but too spicy for my taste and the homemade sausages were OK, but not great. The aioli mayo was very good, but all the other flavors we chose were bad and too sweet (curry, mango-lime and another that I can't remember). The waffles were OK, but nothing incredible, but VERY pricey for their size. Highly overrated in my opinion. Plus, the restaurant was full, we had to wait in line for a long time to order, then wait to have a seat (there is no waiting area).

  • Visited October 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Utah
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Love the waffles!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012

We've been here three different times now and always love our waffles. The fries are good, but the waffles are better. My husband loves the torpedo. I like mine plain - no need for toppings.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bloomington, IL
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Uncanny.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2012

I had a vanilla waffle with blueberries and creme fraiche and it was one of the five best things I have ever eaten.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bruges Waffles and Frites also viewed

 
Salt Lake City, UT
Salt Lake City, UT
 

Been to Bruges Waffles and Frites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bruges Waffles and Frites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.