We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfort food extraordinaire!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bayleaf Cafe - CLOSED

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Bayleaf Cafe
159 South Main Street, Salt Lake City, UT 84111
801-359-8490
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Late Night
Bloomburg, Texas, United States
1 review
“Comfort food extraordinaire!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2012

Wonderful food and great service! We're from Texas and the homemade gravy, grits, chicken fried chicken and fried pickles were fantastic; just like home cooking. Portions are plentiful, the waitress was friendly but not 'in your face' and the prices were great. Well worth coming again.

  • Visited April 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

22 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    5
    7
    5
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Salt Lake City, Utah
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Great Concept - Average Execution”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2012

From the sounds of it, Bayleaf sounds like a great southern food retreat in Salt Lake City. In reality, the food is quite average and lacks any distinct flavor or character. I was left feeling like I was eating Sysco-typical food with southern descriptions. The fried pickles are great, but the rest of menu is lackluster. They do have a full bar with a few good tap beers.

  • Visited March 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orem, Utah
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Amazing Chicken and Waffles”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2012

Went with a friend for lunch and was blown away by this small joint tucked away on Main Street. I feared for the name that it would be a vegetarian cuisine and was amazed to see it's actually southern comfort food with a huge selection of alcohol and brews. I ordered the chicken and waffles with a white meat chicken. It was a boneless breast breaded and fried and was absolutely perfect. Still extremely juicy and a good size dish as well. I'm left craving that dish every day and at only $10/plate I'll probably be going back quite often. Best part, open 24 hours.

  • Visited March 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
128 reviews 128 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
101 helpful votes 101 helpful votes
“OPEN 24 HOURS ON WEEKENDS”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2012

We came here because it was the only restaurant open near the convention center. Once I had the meatloaf and another time i ordered an omelet. The place looks very busy, probably because it is the only restaurant open 24 hours a day, on weekends, near the convention center. They serve good comfort food and plenty of it. You won't leave this place hungry. My son had the waffles and fried chicken, both times were were there, that should tell you how much he liked this particular dish. There is a bar ad those who don't wish to wait for a table may choose to sit at the bar. They have a nice selection of national and local brews, my favorite was the "Polygamy" porter.

Visited February 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middletown
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Good Southern Cooking”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2011

Unique restaurant. Looks trendy from the outside but has a down home menu with Southern classics like Chicken & Bisquits, and Collard Greens. Try the Fried Pickles. Reasonably priced with generous portions.

  • Visited November 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bayleaf Cafe also viewed

Salt Lake City, UT
Salt Lake City, UT
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bayleaf Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.