We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Chicken Curry EvER!!!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Kathmandu

The Kathmandu
3142 South Highland Dr, Salt Lake City, UT 84106
801-466-3504
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #85 of 1,212 restaurants in Salt Lake City
Cuisines: Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
Jackson, Wyoming
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Best Chicken Curry EvER!!!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

This place has ample choices on the menu. We wish we could have tried their buffet as well but they just serve off the menu on Sundays. Next time you are there and if you like spicy food,just ask for Khatmandu Hot sauce-it is just excellent spicy....

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

38 reviews from our community

89% Recommend
    25
    9
    2
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hurricane, Utah, United States
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Wonderful and unique!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

Great vegan and vegetarian choices. All unique and very tasty!!! As good or better than any Indian food at any price anywhere. Each dish was special and very flavorful. You will be pleased you tried it. Our new fav Indian Cuisine when we visit Salt Lake City.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City
Top Contributor
102 reviews 102 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
“Our New Favorite”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2012

Our neighbors told us about this place -boy are we glad they did! We had a regular Indian restaurant, which we frequented and thought was the best. That was until we ate at The Kathmandu! There are Nepali & Indian specialities -the Mango Rice on the children's menu is to die for! We ordered it for our four year-old daughter, but ended up eating it as a sweet after meal treat. The naan is light & fluffy -much better than our old favorite restaurant. Every dish we ordered was fabulous. Since we were eating with our two children we didn't want the dishes too spicy; the waitress suggested mild plus, which was spot on. The dishes had enough kick for my husband and me but weren't too spicy for the kids. Also, the entire staff is always smiling & coming by your table to ask how the food was -everyone is friendly. On another note, there is a little gift shop behind the cash register counter (which I didn't know because we ordered take out every time). A lot of the items in the gift shop are hand-made in Nepal -very beautiful.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mapleton, Utah
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Surprisingly Incredible!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2012

My favorite Indian place has always been Bombay House in Provo, but I have to say that I may have a new favorite. The atmoshere is nice, the staff is so friendly and accomodating, and the food is SO good! I love Vegetable Coconut Korma, theirs is delicious, my sons had Chicken Tikka Masala and Tandoori Chicken. They LOVED theirs. Really loved it. They have a lot of spiciness levels to choose from, which is nice, even on the Tandoori chicken, which was a surprise. I loved that our food came with Naan. We ordered extra garlic Naan. It was very good.
We went on a Saturday around 6:30 and went right in to be seated. We had no wait.
I noticed on their card that they have a lunch buffet, so I really want to get to SLC during the day to try it!

  • Visited May 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandy, Utah
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Tasty Consistancy”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2012

We have enjoyed The Kathmandu MANY times. Last night, once again, we left full and happy. The staff is friendly, the menu has an extensive selection, and the dinning room is filled with Tibetan flags, pictures, trinkets-plenty to look at.
The portions are more than satisfying and the spice level is, well, spicy. Mild is mild while hot is HOT.

  • Visited April 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Kathmandu also viewed

 

Been to The Kathmandu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Kathmandu, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.