We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful, well managed and quiet” 5 of 5 stars
Review of University Guest House & Conference Center

Save Saved
You added University Guest House & Conference Center to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
University Guest House & Conference Center
110 South Fort Douglas Blvd, Salt Lake City, UT 84113-5036   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 76 Hotels in Salt Lake City
North Logan, Utah, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Wonderful, well managed and quiet”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2014

We found it a perfect place to stay and just walk to a concert at Red Butte. Clean, nice rooms,
excellent beds. In the area of Fort Douglas-which means it is very quiet and a very nice change from noisy downtown locations. It was a bit hard for us to find from 400 South and we drove to and fro a while. We are going back to spend another night to see Sheryl Crow at Red Butte and are looking forward to staying there again.

Room Tip: I am sure they are all equally nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

508 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    397
    90
    16
    3
    2
See reviews for
174
68
44
150
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (145)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
La Verne, California
Top Contributor
132 reviews 132 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 72 cities Reviews in 72 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2014

Here over the weekend with a large group from southern California for a wedding. this was a great place to stay. The location, while not downtown, is close enough (10 minute drive, also a trolley) that it is quite convenient to all the sites. It is very convenient to the I-80, and you are just over the pass from Park City and all the ski areas. Lots of places to shop and eat nearby also. The university/old fort buildings are lovely. Everything is super clean, inside and out. Staff was extremely friendly and helpful. Did not eat the breakfast but understand it was good! Would definitely stay again. Oh and free Wi-Fi , ALWAYS a plus!

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2014

We love the quiet location on the university campus while with the Trax you are only minutes away from downtown and it's a 20 minute drive by car to the airport. Beds are most comfortable, rooms spacious, sun lit and clean with great desk set up and lighting. The lobby offers coffee, tea and beverages all day long. It is great for meetings. We also enjoy the outdoor terrace for breakfast (included) in the morning sun. Our son is a Utah University student, so we enjoy a very favorable discount but we would recommend this hotel also at the regular rate. It is a very welcoming place.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view. The view of the SLC valley and mountains is spectacular from this hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PerryHacker, Owner at University Guest House & Conference Center, responded to this review, August 11, 2014
Ute M,
Thank you for your wonderful review. It's great to hear we are your favorite place to stay. Our goal is to always provide the best amenities, staff, service and facilities at a great value. We love our students and we are grateful that we can provide a great place for parents to stay when visiting. We agree that our views are spectacular.

The next time you are visiting, please stop by the front desk and say hello.

Sincerely,

Perry Hacker
Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bloomington, Indiana
Top Contributor
157 reviews 157 reviews
68 hotel reviews
Reviews in 75 cities Reviews in 75 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

This was a very nice hotel right on the University campus and close to medical complex. The hotel was very nice, clean and comfortable. The rooms were quite spacious with a separate sitting area with a fridge and microwave. The HVAC was a bit noisy though and we had to turn it off -- thank goodness we were there during cooler evenings. The service was also good. The hot breakfast was outstanding. We also had a meeting here and they were very responsive to our needs. However, the big drawback and I consider it very big is that you are stuck, with very few options for food/drink unless you want to walk the full mile back toward SLC. So, the hotel has a little c-store to sell stuff you can microwave, but that's not what I prefer. In the evening, we had to take the light rail into SLC in order to have options for dinner and a pub. Even though this is a good hotel, I probably wouldn't stay here because of how isolated you are from activities.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PerryHacker, Owner at University Guest House & Conference Center, responded to this review, August 6, 2014
Travel_Buff_BL,
Thank you for your review and your feedback regarding your stay. I apologize for the noise HVAC unit, I know that can be frustrating. I have forwarded your comments to our maintenance manager to address the problem.. I am glad you enjoyed our breakfast and that our staff was able to take care of you. We pride ourselves on our service and cleanliness. In addition to our C-store for food and the light rail service to downtown, we do offer a complimentary shuttle service from 7am - 11pm that can take you to to many of the surrounding restaurants and shops. I apologize if you were not made aware of this.

I am glad you enjoyed your stay overall, and if your travels ever require you to stay near the University of Utah, please consider us again.

Sincerely,

Perry Hacker
Director.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2014

We stayed at the University Guest House while traveling. We stayed a few days in Salt Lake City and use the hotel as our home base. The hotel staff was great, the rooms were clean, and the price was very competitive. We like that the Guest House was out of downtown - but close to get to each of the attractions we planned to attend.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PerryHacker, Owner at University Guest House & Conference Center, responded to this review, August 6, 2014
Brian B,
Thank you very much for your wonderful review. I'm glad you had such a wonderful stay. We are a in a great location for many of Salt Lake City's wonderful attractions. It's great you were able to take advantage of this. I have forwarded your comments on to our staff. They love to hear from satisfied guests.

I hope you will stay with us again the next time you are visiting SLC.

Sincerely,
Perry Hacker
Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2014

Touring the University Campus of Utah from out of State, this was the best and easiest location. The Trax station is a hop,skip and jump away as is walking access to everything on Campus. Red Butte Gardens and The Natural History Museum are less than a minutes drive away. A lovely location with commanding views of Salt Lake City to the front and the Wasatch Mountains to the sides and rear. Every attention is paid to detail from housekeeping to maintaining complimentary Starbucks coffee, fresh water etc. The rooms are well thought out with quality furniture, and fixtures. Many choices for breakfast which was continually maintained, refreshed and again had nice views of SLC - you can also choose to sit outside too. I am SO glad I booked this Guest House and not some of the others I was considering. Once I got here and saw the locations of the other options, I would have had to travel everyday through the city - which is not a great distance but it just takes awhile to get through all the lights etc. The staff were very helpful, knowledgeable and pleasant. This is a great facility and staying here helped our continued positive feelings in considering the University of Utah as a potential college option.

Room Tip: Choose a room at the back if you want complete silence - sometimes, if you are sleeping lightly, you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PerryHacker, Owner at University Guest House & Conference Center, responded to this review, August 6, 2014
Jane J,
Thank you for your wonderful review. I am glad you were able to take advantage of our location and our amazing views. We pride ourselves on the details, and providing the best value and service to our guests. It is truly a team effort.

I hope that we will see you again as a UTE!

Sincerely.

Perry Hacker
Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flagstaff, Arizona
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2014 via mobile

We stay here every time we come to SLC. Great area. Fantastic service. Rooms are wonderful. Every hotel should be this great! Kinda wish it was a chain so I could only stay here everywhere! Love the Starbucks free coffee and tea all day everyday! Been several summers in a row to this hotel and already booked for next summer too!

Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to University Guest House & Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about University Guest House & Conference Center

Address: 110 South Fort Douglas Blvd, Salt Lake City, UT 84113-5036
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Utah > Salt Lake City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Salt Lake City
#2 Business Hotel in Salt Lake City
#2 Best Value Hotel in Salt Lake City
#4 Romantic Hotel in Salt Lake City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our 180-room hotel features spectacular views of the Salt Lake Valley and the surrounding University of Utah campus. Its proximity to both a TRAX train station and a campus shuttle stop allows you to explore both campus and Salt Lake City easily. Add affordable, comfortable rooms with fantastic amenities and you’ll understand why visitors love the Guest House. Our amenities include complimentary hot breakfast and wireless internet, complimentary local shuttle, state of the art fitness room and 30,000 sq ft of conference space. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your University Guest House & Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
University Guest House Hotel Salt Lake City
University Guest House And Conference Center
University Guest House & Conference Center Salt Lake City, Utah

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage University Guest House & Conference Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.