We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Place” 4 of 5 stars
Review of University Guest House & Conference Center

Save Saved
You added University Guest House & Conference Center to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
University Guest House & Conference Center
110 South Fort Douglas Blvd, Salt Lake City, UT 84113-5036   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 75 hotels in Salt Lake City
Honolulu, Hawaii
1 review
“Nice Place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2014

Stayed here with two girlfriends for a wedding recently. We were very pleased with the cleanliness and spaciousness of the room. The staff were all very friendly and professional. The front desk came though in a pinch and provided us with needle and thread to string lei for the bride (which she was extremely happy with). We took advantage of the free shuttle to take us to the wedding site (Red Butte Garden). There was a mini fridge in the room as well as a couch and a view of the mountains. We found the breakfast to be very good for a free hotel breakfast. There were bagels, yogurt, eggs, sausage, fresh fruit, and Starbucks coffee. We also loved that the coffee and tea was available all day in the breakfast area as were apples and bananas. The only complaint raised by one of my friends was that there was no bottle opener in the room which I wouldn't really expect in Salt Lake City, UT. There were bottle openers available for purchase near the front desk though :)

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

479 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    376
    84
    14
    3
    2
See reviews for
163
61
42
146
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (134)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Mexico City
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2014

I have stayed at this place several times. It is a great option if you are visiting or doing business with the University of Utah, or if you are just visiting the Salt Lake Valley. Highly recommendable!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2014

Excellent value, rented a mountain bike from the Outdoor Recreation service and checked out some of the trails right above the University - amazing, reasonably epic trails.

Rooms were great, service was great, university shuttle available for short trips.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2014

We recently stayed at the University Guest House for our son's Graduation, It was the first time we could actually get reservations, and now I know why. It was perfect from start to finish. The staff is friendly and accommodating. The hotel and rooms were very clean, and comfortable. The layout of the room is perfect (deluxe king), with the sitting area separated from the sleeping area which would be great if we were traveling with our kids. The breakfast was always well stocked with many choices. A nice touch is the warm cookies at 4 every afternoon, and they always have ice water, tea & coffee (hot or cold) in the lobby, which was so nice to grab when you were coming and going from the many places there are to visit in SLC. Staying for a graduation, it was the perfect location, we were able to walk over the foot bridge to the ceremony. I would recommend this hotel to anyone!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Top Contributor
158 reviews 158 reviews
49 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
97 helpful votes 97 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2014

I loved this place! We were here for an on campus interview at the University and it is just about perfect. Location is right on campus and right across the street from the TRAX station (the local light rail that will take you downtown). Easy to walk anywhere on campus or to the Red Butte Gardens or the Bonneville trail area. The hotel just felt comfortable. An easy place to stay and enjoy. The rooms are of a good size and clean. The staff was very friendly and helped with any questions I had about places to go, etc. The breakfast is plentiful and they have really good coffee hot and ready 24/7. That is awesome! They also have an amazing gym/fitness center. The best I have ever seen at a hotel of this price range. Weights, kettle bells, balance boards, treadmills, bike, machines, medicine balls, etc. A huge bonus. Overall just a great stay!!! I would stay here again in a heartbeat and definitely recommend to anyone visiting the University of Utah.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stratham, New Hampshire
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2014

A family member recently had surgery and had an extended stay at the University Hospital Inpatient Medical Rehab. The Guest House was the perfect place to stay. It was a 5 to 10 minute walk to the hospital which made it incredibly convenient to go back and forth to the hospital. Sitting high on the hill side provided great views of he valley. It was a quick drive down the hill to run errands or walk out the door to access the hiking trails above the hospital. The folks at the front desk couldn't have been nicer or more helpful. I would highly recommend this place to anyone that has dealings with the hospital or university or just wants a great place to stay at a reasonable price. Mike S., New Hampshire

Room Tip: Valley view rooms a bit noisier than rooms on uphill side of hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pocatello, Idaho
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2014

I too would easily recommend the University guesthouse as one of the most convenient and pleasant hotels that we've stayed at in many a year. We have been coming here for the last three years and the experience just seems to get better every year. The free shuttle is extremely convenient and they are always willing to go that extra mile, as appointments at the hospital can be at various times. One of the best hotel breakfasts!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to University Guest House & Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about University Guest House & Conference Center

Address: 110 South Fort Douglas Blvd, Salt Lake City, UT 84113-5036
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Utah > Salt Lake City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Salt Lake City
#2 Family Hotel in Salt Lake City
#2 Best Value Hotel in Salt Lake City
#4 Romantic Hotel in Salt Lake City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our 180-room hotel features spectacular views of the Salt Lake Valley and the surrounding University of Utah campus. Its proximity to both a TRAX train station and a campus shuttle stop allows you to explore both campus and Salt Lake City easily. Add affordable, comfortable rooms with fantastic amenities and you’ll understand why visitors love the Guest House. Our amenities include complimentary hot breakfast and wireless internet, complimentary local shuttle, state of the art fitness room and 30,000 sq ft of conference space. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your University Guest House & Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
University Guest House And Conference Center
University Guest House Hotel Salt Lake City
University Guest House & Conference Center Salt Lake City, Utah

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage University Guest House & Conference Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.