We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added University Guest House & Conference Center to your Saves list
University Guest House & Conference Center
110 South Fort Douglas Blvd, Salt Lake City, UT 84113-5036   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 74 Hotels in Salt Lake City
Certificate of Excellence 2014
San Francisco, California
1 review
“TOP”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2014

Best place to stay. No matter if you are young, old or travelling with kids, I would recommended 100%. Free Wifi, breakfast, fitness, close to the University, Hospital and Clinics, and super friendly staff!

Room Tip: All in One!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

639 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    496
    116
    21
    4
    2
See reviews for
217
78
57
201
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (180)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Smithfield, Utah
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2014

A nice little gem in Salt Lake City. It looks and acts like a nice hotel, but with touches of a B&B which makes it a guest house! I stayed in a king room, deluxe. Clean, well kept. Unfortunately the old fashioned wall mount heating and cooling units were a disappointment. The lobby has nice touches, I forgot my cell phone charger, but there was a charging station, very convenient. A variety of coffees, teas, and ice water were available throughout the day. The staff was helpful and friendly. I missed having a pool, but instead I enjoyed walking around the most interesting surroundings. Historic Ft Douglas, Red Butte Gardens, and the Boneville Shorline trail are all close. Restaurants require driving or ordering delivery. Breakfast was good, varied, well presented.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tracy, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2014

I came from california, my niec was in hospital, we were shuttled to hospital twice a day, drivets were friendly and polite. Hotel staff were very friendly, helpful place very clean. Breakfest you at e given so many choices, which is awesome when traveling with children.
The rooms were very clean, beds comfortable.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glendora, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2014

My son & I checked in to visit the University of Utah for Red, White & U day. The Guest House is located on campus near the medical center complex adjacent to Fort Douglas.

The hotel is a great value. The staff was friendly & accommodating. Our room was clean and had a great view of SLC. Breakfast, parking and WiFi are included.

Our family will be staying here again!

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Annapolis, MD
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2014

I just returned from a two week stay. I'll stay there again in a heart beat but here's the skinny.
The good:
It's located near the hospitals, near the University campus, near museums, near Fort Douglas (walking distance, 2 blocks) and the train. Parking was convenient. For the services offered it was a bargain. Full hot/cold breakfast buffet. Coffee, tea, cocoa, ice water, fresh apples all day long. Good size fitness room with cardio and weights, complimentary earbuds. In the lobby there was a bookcase with lots if board games which was a nice surprise. The free wifi was spotty with my Mac but someone at the desk gave me an access code to use that connected me to a different router that worked. The front desk staff are all college students...mostly cheerful and helpful, but definitely young. The laundry machines were less expensive than others but a little persnickety; one of the times I used it, had to call maintenance since it wouldn't start but he did respond promptly and fixed it.
The bad:
The train..the first room was on the corner, it backed up near to the tracks. The trains run every 15 min from 5:30AM-11PM, if you're bothered by noise, this will get you. I asked to change rooms on day two to a quiet room, explaining that the noise kept me up and I really needed to be away from the trains. I was moved to the "quiet area" looking over the glen. Unfortunately, just under my windows were the huge fans of the AC units/ air handlers for this wing? Even though I turned my A/C unit to "off" so it wouldn't kick on, I heard the fans whip up for everyone else's a few times a night. They offered earplugs which I tried but didn't like the feeling of, I didn't ask to move again.
I just went to bed earlier.
The ugly:
The decor was...worn, a little old fashioned. I got used to it after a few day but they could use a face lift in the rooms. The bathtubs was super slippery. They offer a rubber floor mat with suction cups for the tub, I would suggest using it and avoid straining your back as you slip getting in.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silver Spring, Maryland
Top Contributor
108 reviews 108 reviews
71 hotel reviews
Reviews in 69 cities Reviews in 69 cities
108 helpful votes 108 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2014

This guest house has accommodations similar to a mid-chain motel, such as, for example, the Hampton Inn. The front desk is very friendly. It is very clean. There is no option for eating within easy walking distance-it is at least a 20 or 30 minute walk to the closest restaurants. Apparently, they have a shuttle to bring you to or from that area, though I didn't use it. There is free wifi, but it extremely slow, and so I was not able to get much work done there. I traveled for government work, but the front desk personnel had no idea how to handle the tax free documents, and charged me tax anyway, which was somewhat frustrating, especially since she said she just had a military customer with the same form and that she couldn't help him, either. Note that this facility is adjacent to Fort Douglas.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view of the mountains. I did, though none was available (so I got one with a v...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PerryHacker, Owner at University Guest House & Conference Center, responded to this review, April 10, 2014
kyoto5301,
Thank you for your review. I appreciate your comments regarding our friendly front desk and cleanliness of our hotel, which are both part of our mission. Our shuttle is available from 7am - 11pm to take our guests to many of the surrounding restaurants and shops. We do offer two levels of free internet. An open service for anyone to use with not log in necessary, and a more secured service which requires log in credentials. This should have been explained to you at check in, and I do apologize for that. The State of Utah is very strict regarding tax exemption, even for government travelers. The laws are confusing, not only to our clerks, but to many of our guests as well. There are only a very few circumstances where tax exemption is offered. In all cases, funds used must be directly from a government agency in the form of a check or from a list of credit card prefixes which we are given from the State, regardless of what paperwork is presented. Tax exemption is never offered when rooms are paid for with personal funds. I do sympathize with you as this is frustrating for us and for our guests.

Thank you again for your feedback. If I can help in any other way, please contact me at 801-587-1010 or email me at phacker@universityguesthouse.com.

Sincerely,

Perry Hacker
Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hubbardston, Massachusetts
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2014

We stayed at the University guest house for two nights and we're very pleased. We took the Trax from the airport directly to the Fort Douglas station where the hotel was a short walk away. The room was comfortable and the complimentary breakfast was good. A great stay, convenient access to campus, reasonable price, overall great value. Would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to University Guest House & Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about University Guest House & Conference Center

Address: 110 South Fort Douglas Blvd, Salt Lake City, UT 84113-5036
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Utah > Salt Lake City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Salt Lake City
#2 Business Hotel in Salt Lake City
#2 Best Value Hotel in Salt Lake City
#4 Romantic Hotel in Salt Lake City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 180
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our 180-room hotel features spectacular views of the Salt Lake Valley and the surrounding University of Utah campus. Its proximity to both a TRAX train station and a campus shuttle stop allows you to explore both campus and Salt Lake City easily. Add affordable, comfortable rooms with fantastic amenities and you’ll understand why visitors love the Guest House. Our amenities include complimentary hot breakfast and wireless internet, complimentary local shuttle, state of the art fitness room and 30,000 sq ft of conference space. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your University Guest House & Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
University Guest House And Conference Center
University Guest House Hotel Salt Lake City
University Guest House & Conference Center Salt Lake City, Utah

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage University Guest House & Conference Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.