We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming, friendly” 5 of 5 stars
Review of University Guest House & Conference Center

Save Saved
You added University Guest House & Conference Center to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
University Guest House & Conference Center
110 South Fort Douglas Blvd, Salt Lake City, UT 84113-5036   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 75 hotels in Salt Lake City
Anaheim
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Charming, friendly”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2014

The location was perfect for us to see our granddaughter's play at the Pioneer Theater on Campus. The staff was outstanding--friendly, helpful, knowledgeable and charming. The afternoon cider, hot chocolate and cookies was a treat that our younger grandchildren really enjoyed! We used the games from the lobby and took advantage of the seating area on our floor to play board games. The mini-market was also reasonably-priced with a variety of items--we bought hair spray, ice cream, and chips, as well as a University T-Shirt! The rooms are extremely clean and comfortable. We'll stay there again.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

464 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    366
    80
    13
    3
    2
See reviews for
158
59
41
141
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (132)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Ramstein
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2014

This hotel is on the campus of U of U. It is close for dorm check in and parents weekend. The staff is extremely helpful. Both times we've stayed I had to change our plans and they had no problem helping. Breakfast is good. Internet works. There is a small gym which is convenient. Laundry machines on site. We will stay here every time if possible.

Room Tip: Not sure if there are any bad rooms. Ours have always been nice and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2014

It's always a relief to visit Salt Lake City and find lodging at the University Guest House. Just returned from my third stay there. While this was not a leisure trip, the lodgings were relaxing, quiet and top notch. Staff is high caliber especially the young folks on the front desk. Helpful, personal treatment and lots of little extra assists. Always my first choice for SLC lodgings.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2014

We were in Salt Lake to see a play at the Pioneer Theater on campus so the Guest House was a good choice. It's about a 10 minute walk from the light rail line. After arriving we discovered there is a hotel shuttle which we used to take us home from the theater and to a light rail stop the next morning. The drivers and other hotel staff were terrific, ready to answer all questions. Rooms were spacious and had good reading lights, comfortable beds and very clean.
The Salt Lake light rail system is wonderful. We took it from airport to Guest House stop for senior rate of $1.50 each with one line change and noticed that it went thru the heart of downtown and Tabernacle Square so used it again the next day for some sightseeing and return to airport. Cars come every 15 minutes so we saved a bunch on taxi fares.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Top Contributor
205 reviews 205 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 81 cities Reviews in 81 cities
89 helpful votes 89 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2014

This hotel was along the lines of a Hilton Garden Inn, with modern, clean rooms. The rooms are compact, but have plenty on connections for your electronics as a University hotel should. The included breakfasts, have bacon or sausage as well as pre-made omelets and other items. Being on campus makes the location quite, but also on the end of the downtown trolley line. The google map puts 110 Fort Douglas in the middle of a field, but go a another quarter mile north or drive up 282 and turn right after the pedestrian bridge and an immediate right again to Fort Dodge and right again to the driveway on the right.

Room Tip: Third floor was quiet and easy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2014

I have stayed at many "Guest Houses" from various universities and this one is by far the nicest. The staff is always courteous and helpful. The rooms are large and comfortable, and the breakfast is real food you can eat (not like the chain hotels). Breakfast is included in the price; the have a great oatmeal ready made with different mix-ins to add, fresh fruit, cereal, coffee, tea, juices, eggs, sausage, pastries, really anything and everything you could want. The rooms and common areas are very nice, clean and well kept. There is nothing bad to say about this place, I really enjoy staying here for business trips to the U and have never had a bad experience. It really feels comfortable and like home. Oh and free wi-fi that isn't super slow, which is hard to come by nowadays at hotels.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reno, Nevada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2014

This was a great place to stay while we were in Utah for a family member who had to have surgery. The staff was extremely pleasant, the hotel was very clean, the rooms were large, beds were comfortable and the breakfast was great. We loved the fresh cookies in the afternoon. Would recommend this to anyone staying in Salt Lake and would definitely stay again! Thank you.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to University Guest House & Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about University Guest House & Conference Center

Address: 110 South Fort Douglas Blvd, Salt Lake City, UT 84113-5036
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Utah > Salt Lake City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Salt Lake City
#2 Family Hotel in Salt Lake City
#2 Best Value Hotel in Salt Lake City
#4 Romantic Hotel in Salt Lake City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our 180-room hotel features spectacular views of the Salt Lake Valley and the surrounding University of Utah campus. Its proximity to both a TRAX train station and a campus shuttle stop allows you to explore both campus and Salt Lake City easily. Add affordable, comfortable rooms with fantastic amenities and you’ll understand why visitors love the Guest House. Our amenities include complimentary hot breakfast and wireless internet, complimentary local shuttle, state of the art fitness room and 30,000 sq ft of conference space. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your University Guest House & Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
University Guest House And Conference Center
University Guest House Hotel Salt Lake City
University Guest House & Conference Center Salt Lake City, Utah

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage University Guest House & Conference Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.