We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“U of U Guest house is the best!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of University Guest House & Conference Center

Save Saved
You added University Guest House & Conference Center to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
University Guest House & Conference Center
110 South Fort Douglas Blvd, Salt Lake City, UT 84113-5036   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 76 hotels in Salt Lake City
Reno, Italy
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“U of U Guest house is the best!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

I have stayed at the guest house numerous times for University business and personal pleasure and have always had a wonderful time, great service and a clean room and facility. The free continental breakfast is excellent with 4 hot entrees, oatmeal, pancakes, fresh fruit, yogurt etc. and of course coffee!
The prices are generally some of the best in town as well.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PerryHacker, Owner at University Guest House & Conference Center, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
Nostler,

Thanks for your great review. It's great to hear from our repeat guest, and especially nice to hear that each stay is wonderful. Our housekeeping staff is amazing. They truly keep our hotel spotless. We are always finding ways to enhance our breakfast. I am glad you enjoy it. In then end, our goal is to provide the best amenities and service for our guests at a great value.

Next time you visit with us, please stop by the front desk and say hello.

Sincerely,
Perry Hacker
Director.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

494 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    387
    88
    14
    3
    2
See reviews for
169
64
42
148
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (140)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Salt Lake City, Utah
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

Excellent location, clean, perfect stay! I would highly recommend staying at the University Guest House when traveling to Salt Lake City. The stay was excellent! The room was, priced right, clean....even offered breakfast!

Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PerryHacker, Owner at University Guest House & Conference Center, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
MRad01,

Thank you for your great review. Your comments reflect our mission to provide complete guest satisfaction to everyone who stays with us. I'm you enjoyed your stay with us and we were able to provide an excellent experience. Our staff works tirelessly to ensure five star service at an excellent value.

Thanks again for staying with us.

Perry Hacker
Directory
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

This was my second stay at the Guest House. Love the location; being on the University of Utah campus. The rooms were comfortable and clean. Had a nice breakfast the next morning with a variety of items to choose from. Good value for the money!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PerryHacker, Owner at University Guest House & Conference Center, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
Denise R,

Thank you for your review. I am glad you had a great stay with us. We love our location too. And the views from our hotel are amazing. Glad you enjoyed your room and breakfast. Our goal is to provide a great value.

Sincerely,
Perry Hacker
Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SA
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013

My stay at the University Guest House was excellent. It's a less than 5 minute walk from the TRAX station which makes it convenient for getting around the city as well as the airport. The staff was friendly throughout the stay making sure I was comfortable. They provided free shuttle service to and from The Pie, which would have been a 15-20 minute walk in the cold damp weather. The room was great as well. It was clean, the bed and pillows were very comfortable. The location is also great being on campus and close to the medical center. Overall, a great stay where I was able to relax and rest and cared for by a very friendly staff.

Room Tip: ask for a room with a view of the valley
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PerryHacker, Owner at University Guest House & Conference Center, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
KumarPatel4,
Thank you for your excellent review. I am glad you were able to relax and rest, and that our staff took care of you. They are amazing and strive to create the best guest experience possible. I'm glad you were able to take advantage of our shuttle. The service is about a year old now and has been very well received.

I hope we see you again the next time you are in SLC.

Sincerely,
Perry Hacker
Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jackson, Wyoming
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

Located on the University of Utah campus and run by the University. Staff is simply amazing. Good, typical buffet breakfast. Rooms a tad small, nicely furnished, with very comfortable bedding, and very clean. Convenient to all the medical and other University facilities. Great public transportation to downtown. Not five star, but certainly the best lodging value in SLC. You can look forward to staying here!

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PerryHacker, Owner at University Guest House & Conference Center, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
justabite,

Thank you for your great review. I am glad you enjoyed your stay with us. Our staff is the best around. I am constantly amazed at what they do for our guests. I am glad you were able to take advantage of our breakfast. We work hard to find the best quality items for our guests.

Our main goal is to provide five star service for a great value. We love our guests and strive to make them feel comfortable and at home. Thank you for choosing us for your visit.

Sincerely,
Perry Hacker
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helena, Montana
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

The University Guest House mainly serves two types of clientele: patients/families of patients at the University hospital, and conference attendees. You could not ask for a better place to stay if you fall into one of these groups. All the conference facilities, and especially the food, were outstanding (a few audio glitches). The rooms are very nicely appointed, the internet is fast, the campus location is quiet and safe, the staff are friendly, etc. There is easy access to the Arboretum, the Museum of Natural History, and hiking/biking/running trails, as well as the TRAX system. The only downside, as many have noted, is that the hotel is not within walking distance of any decent restaurants, so you either need to drive or take TRAX, which is an expensive proposition ($2.50 each way for an adult)

Room Tip: Third floor rooms are quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fresno, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

I have stayed at University Guest House for one week for the conference. I gave 5 STARS for this hotel for following reasons.
1* for the price, very reasonable price
2* for the location, Guest House is located near a lot of hospitals and University. You can take Trax to go to center city and airport. Trax station is 5-7 min walk from Guest House.
3* for the service, Free shuttle to near by hospitals, university and restaurants. All staffs are very friendly and helpful.Hotel also provide free Internet access, and gym. Each hotel room has microwave, refrigerator, and coffee machine.
4* for the cleanliness, hotel room is spacious and clean. Beddings are clean and very comfortable.
5* for the food, breakfast is included and it is excellent. There are variety of food to choose. Hotel also provides coffee and tea and fruits... Cookies at lobby through out the day.
I would give 6* if they have restaurants near by. There are no restaurants in walking distance, the closest ones are about 30-40 minute walk. You can order the food for delivery or take the hotel Van to go the restaurants.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to University Guest House & Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about University Guest House & Conference Center

Address: 110 South Fort Douglas Blvd, Salt Lake City, UT 84113-5036
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Utah > Salt Lake City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Salt Lake City
#2 Best Value Hotel in Salt Lake City
#2 Business Hotel in Salt Lake City
#4 Romantic Hotel in Salt Lake City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our 180-room hotel features spectacular views of the Salt Lake Valley and the surrounding University of Utah campus. Its proximity to both a TRAX train station and a campus shuttle stop allows you to explore both campus and Salt Lake City easily. Add affordable, comfortable rooms with fantastic amenities and you’ll understand why visitors love the Guest House. Our amenities include complimentary hot breakfast and wireless internet, complimentary local shuttle, state of the art fitness room and 30,000 sq ft of conference space. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your University Guest House & Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
University Guest House Hotel Salt Lake City
University Guest House And Conference Center
University Guest House & Conference Center Salt Lake City, Utah

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage University Guest House & Conference Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.