We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of University Guest House & Conference Center

Save Saved
You added University Guest House & Conference Center to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
University Guest House & Conference Center
110 South Fort Douglas Blvd, Salt Lake City, UT 84113-5036   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 76 hotels in Salt Lake City
Fresno, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Excellent hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

I have stayed at University Guest House for one week for the conference. I gave 5 STARS for this hotel for following reasons.
1* for the price, very reasonable price
2* for the location, Guest House is located near a lot of hospitals and University. You can take Trax to go to center city and airport. Trax station is 5-7 min walk from Guest House.
3* for the service, Free shuttle to near by hospitals, university and restaurants. All staffs are very friendly and helpful.Hotel also provide free Internet access, and gym. Each hotel room has microwave, refrigerator, and coffee machine.
4* for the cleanliness, hotel room is spacious and clean. Beddings are clean and very comfortable.
5* for the food, breakfast is included and it is excellent. There are variety of food to choose. Hotel also provides coffee and tea and fruits... Cookies at lobby through out the day.
I would give 6* if they have restaurants near by. There are no restaurants in walking distance, the closest ones are about 30-40 minute walk. You can order the food for delivery or take the hotel Van to go the restaurants.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

498 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    390
    88
    15
    3
    2
See reviews for
170
65
43
148
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (140)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Beecher, Illinois
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013

i stayed there for business meetings. the hotel was clean and well managed. breakfast was very good with more than enough choices to pick from. hotel is on university of utah campus, scenery was beautiful but absolutely no restaurants or bars within walking distance. nothing negative about the hotel except for the distance to all the fun. i do not know the price difference, but if you want to be close to the action stay downtown.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chubbuck, Idaho, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013

Room was spatious, price was reasonable, exercise facility was good, bed was very comfortable, and the staff was absolutely fabulous! The only negative is that they don't have a pool, but other than that it was a good stay. I already have 2 more business trips booked to stay here. I highly recommend it!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, Missouri
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013

We stayed for a convention. Rooms were well maintained, quiet, and restful. The beds were super comfy. The whole hotel was perhaps the cleanest one I have ever been in. The entire staff was wonderful and helpful. Given the location (which is very convenient near the light rail) and the price, it really can't be beat in Salt Lake. I'd stay there again and would recommend it highly.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view, they are spectacular.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, Missouri
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013

The University Guest House is located within the University of Utah campus, right next to the mountains. A short ten minute or so walk leads you to the Red Butte Gardens and the mountains.

The Guest House was great! The breakfasts were excellent, and the food provided for our conference was great. The customer service at the front desk was very good. I asked a number of questions about what to do in the city, and I received nice recommendations. The rooms were very clean and well-maintained.

The conference center is also located right next to the TRAX, so there is is easy transportation into the city and to the airport.

It is a great conference center, and I would highly recommend it for small conferences.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
McMinnville, Oregon
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

The University Guest House and Conference Center is located at the University of Utah, on the portion of the campus that was at one time, Fort Douglas. It is located near the light rail line, from which you can easily get to downtown Salt Lake City. If you get a room overlooking the
city and valley, you have have a wonderful view. The rooms are very comfortable. The only
quibble is the series of light switches, which seem to be connected to one another, you have to have them on to turn other lights on. Very confusing. A very bountiful complimentary breakfast
is offered. There is no restaurant. I recommend this hotel very highly, the staff are very helpful and friendly.

Room Tip: Ask for a city view room to get a view over the valley.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairbanks, Alaska
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

Last May, we had a medical procedure scheduled at the John Moran Eye Center, and they gave us the Guest House referral. When making reservations, we were given a medical discount. Requested corner room with 2 windows for additional light, and that was done.

We flew in from Alaska, and were unfamiliar with Salt Lake City, so appreciated the close location and guest services.

Impressive Hotel Management makes guest satisfaction high priority.
Complimentary morning breakfast.
Newspaper.
Iced/hot Coffee, ice water and apples were available at all times.
Small convenience store near front desk.

There's a shuttle you can request for nearby transportation. Although we could walk to all pre-opt procedures, Doctor said to use transportation on surgical day and for post-op. No problem arranging ahead of time for shuttle both days, but long waits both times for returns to Guest House. (Even Eye Center staff kept asking if we were sure someone was coming to get us.)

Found small Cafe on top floor of John Moran Eye Center. Ordered homemade soup & sandwiches/salads "to go" for dinners in our room at night.

We have a follow up medical procedure scheduled for October, and I made reservations here again. Always stressful traveling for medical reasons, so grateful for staff that understands that challenge.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to University Guest House & Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about University Guest House & Conference Center

Address: 110 South Fort Douglas Blvd, Salt Lake City, UT 84113-5036
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Utah > Salt Lake City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Salt Lake City
#2 Best Value Hotel in Salt Lake City
#2 Business Hotel in Salt Lake City
#4 Romantic Hotel in Salt Lake City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our 180-room hotel features spectacular views of the Salt Lake Valley and the surrounding University of Utah campus. Its proximity to both a TRAX train station and a campus shuttle stop allows you to explore both campus and Salt Lake City easily. Add affordable, comfortable rooms with fantastic amenities and you’ll understand why visitors love the Guest House. Our amenities include complimentary hot breakfast and wireless internet, complimentary local shuttle, state of the art fitness room and 30,000 sq ft of conference space. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your University Guest House & Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
University Guest House Hotel Salt Lake City
University Guest House And Conference Center
University Guest House & Conference Center Salt Lake City, Utah

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage University Guest House & Conference Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.