We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wedding Day at Post Chapel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of University Guest House & Conference Center

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added University Guest House & Conference Center to your Saves list
University Guest House & Conference Center
110 South Fort Douglas Blvd, Salt Lake City, UT 84113-5036   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 75 Hotels in Salt Lake City
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Springdale, Utah
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Wedding Day at Post Chapel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

Two weeks ago our daughter and her fiance were married in the Post Chapel, immediately adjacent to the University Guest House & Conference Center. The Conference Center staff are in charge of the rentals of the Fort Douglas properties, and were very helpful during the planning of the wedding day. As part of the package deal when you book a wedding at Fort Douglas, you receive one free night at the University Guest House, which we used as the Bride's Room the day of the wedding. This worked out great! Everyone was lovely to work with, the hotel is very clean, the breakfast is plentiful, the view from the hotel is beautiful. The Post Chapel is simple perfection, and the other Fort Douglas properties that are available looked intriguing as well. Gorgeous area on the Univ. of Utah campus, perfect day, perfect arrangement for our newlyweds!

Room Tip: Ask for a room that looks down into the Salt Lake City valley.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PerryHacker, Owner at University Guest House & Conference Center, responded to this review, July 31, 2013
snars,

Thank you for your excellent review. I am very happy to hear of the wonderful experience you had for your daughters wedding. I am glad we could be part of such a special day. I will forward your comments on to our staff, I know they will enjoy reading them.

I hope the next time you are in SLC, you will visit us again.

Regards,
Perry
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

608 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    476
    108
    18
    4
    2
See reviews for
203
76
54
190
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (173)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
The Villages, FL
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
84 helpful votes 84 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013

I chose this place because of the excellent reviews, and we were not disappointed. The place is spotless, and well maintained. The check-in staff and the folks that care for the breakfast buffet were all first rate. The maids that clean the rooms do a great job – they really seem to care.

The breakfast buffet is as good as any you will find, and the coffee (available 24/ 7) is the best we have ever seen at a hotel. Great view of the city, plenty of parking, and proximity to public transportation – this is the place to be.

Room Tip: Choose a room on an upper floor (quieter with no one above you) better view of the city.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PerryHacker, Owner at University Guest House & Conference Center, responded to this review, July 31, 2013
VillagerRick,

Thank you for your fantastic review. We love guest feedback. I am glad we lived up to your expectations. We pride ourselves on the exact things you speak of. Excellent facilities, fantastic staff and plentiful amenities. While we didn't have much say in the views of the valley, we love them as much as our guests.

If you are in Salt Lake City again, we hope you will visit us again.

Regards,
Perry
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

Overall great experience - we stayed here just for one night before heading to Yellowstone. The room was comfortable, the bed was great, and the staff were wonderful. There are beverages and fruit out all day and breakfast in the morning was very good. Overall, we recommend!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PerryHacker, Owner at University Guest House & Conference Center, responded to this review, July 31, 2013
ChicagoTravel85,
Thank you for your review. I am glad we could be part of your trip to Yellowstone. It's great to hear you had such a wonderful stay. I hope the rest of your trip was wonderful and memorable. Yellowstone is an amazing place.

Regards,
Perry
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Armstrong, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

It is a great place to stay. Friendly, clean and quite. My daughter had an competition and we had quality rest at the Guest house. The campus is big, but the shuttle service was excellent and they get us to the place without any worry at all. Thank you very much for the excellent service we received.

Room Tip: Especially appreciate the service provided by the campus Shuttle /guest shuttle team. The staff were...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vashon, Washington, USA
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

My husband and I stayed at the University Guest House for three nights this past weekend. It was delightful! The hotel sits up above the city overlooking the University of Utah, and is surrounded by beautifully restored 1862 Fort Douglas officers' homes, an old chapel, and even a round covered bandstand. The hotel staff were extremely helpful and friendly, the rooms were clean and very comfortable, and the breakfast buffet was abundant. The view of the Salt Lake Valley is lovely. I plan to stay at the University Guest House on my next visit to Salt Lake City! It is a real gem.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Cruz, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

I cannot say enough good things about the University Guest House & Conference Center. My husband had surgery at the Huntsman Cancer Center. In less than five minutes from the hotel we were there. The staff at the desk are friendly and very accomendating. The same with the house keeping staff. Recovering from surgery sometimes puts you on a different schedule. They were always willing to come back and do the room at a later time. Breakfast was wonderful and having iced coffee and teas in the afternoon refreshing. Not to mention the cookies.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
85 helpful votes 85 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

We had a king size with valley view. Staff was very friendly.
Room was large and well equipped: refrigerator, coffee machine, etc.
Very, very clean.
Wifi worked well. Souvenir shop on site with university items.
Starbucks coffee and refreshments are free in the lobby all time.
Breakfast was varied and plenty of choice.
Parking was enough, including across the street.
Easy to reach all landmarks in SLC, either by car or public transport.
Most likely the best place in the city to stay.
Did I mention Starbucks coffee in the lobby?

Room Tip: Take valley view rooms - you can see the entire city with the mountains in the background.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to University Guest House & Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about University Guest House & Conference Center

Address: 110 South Fort Douglas Blvd, Salt Lake City, UT 84113-5036
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Utah > Salt Lake City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Salt Lake City
#2 Business Hotel in Salt Lake City
#2 Best Value Hotel in Salt Lake City
#4 Romantic Hotel in Salt Lake City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 180
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our 180-room hotel features spectacular views of the Salt Lake Valley and the surrounding University of Utah campus. Its proximity to both a TRAX train station and a campus shuttle stop allows you to explore both campus and Salt Lake City easily. Add affordable, comfortable rooms with fantastic amenities and you’ll understand why visitors love the Guest House. Our amenities include complimentary hot breakfast and wireless internet, complimentary local shuttle, state of the art fitness room and 30,000 sq ft of conference space. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your University Guest House & Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
University Guest House And Conference Center
University Guest House Hotel Salt Lake City
University Guest House & Conference Center Salt Lake City, Utah

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage University Guest House & Conference Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.