We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding service!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of University Guest House & Conference Center

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save Saved
You added University Guest House & Conference Center to your Saves list
University Guest House & Conference Center
110 South Fort Douglas Blvd, Salt Lake City, UT 84113-5036   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 76 Hotels in Salt Lake City
Salt Lake City, Utah, United States
1 review
“Outstanding service!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

We held our wedding on the campus that day and stayed in the hotel that evening. The Guest House staff is phenomenal! They were very helpful with all of our needs and very accommodating. I was impressed with their knowledge and hospitality. They helped make our special day perfect from start to finish. Our rooms were on the South end and 2nd floor had a beautiful view of the mountains and chapel. It was extremely quiet all night and we slept well after our big day. We rented 2 rooms that night and both were very comfortable and the rooms are very clean. The beds were soft, the linens were clean and fresh. The whole hotel is very warm and inviting from the moment you walk in. Breakfast in the morning was delicious and the variety was awesome.

Room Tip: Our rooms on the South end and 2nd floor had a beautiful view of the mountains and chapel. It was ex...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PerryHacker, Owner at University Guest House & Conference Center, responded to this review, May 19, 2013
Dear Rford27,
Thank you for your amazing review. I will be sure to pass your comment on to our staff who work so hard to create memorable experiences for our guests. I know your wedding day is one that you will always remember and I am happy were were able to be part of it.

Congratulations on your special day and best wishes for all the days ahead.

Perry Hacker
Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

535 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    418
    95
    17
    3
    2
See reviews for
178
72
46
163
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (151)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Los Alamos, New Mexico
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

We enjoyed our stay very much. The rooms were clean, well equiped and comfortable. The front desk staff, cleaning staff and the breakfast serving staff were all working hard, friendly, and helpful. Appreciated the breakfast, and all day fresh coffe, tea, etc

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PerryHacker, Owner at University Guest House & Conference Center, responded to this review, May 19, 2013
Dear H N,
Thanks for your review. I am glad you had an enjoyable stay and that our staff took care of you. We love our all day coffee and tea service just as much as our guests. :)

Thanks again for sharing your experience with us.

Perry Hacker
Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Queensland
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

A family visiting SLC for the first time, this hotel was excellent on so many levels. Very pretty location with stunning views of surrounding mountains and city night lights. Rooms were extremely clean and comfortable. IN house laundry, dryers, healthy breakfast options (included in price), with all day water, tea and coffee available in lounge area.
An easy walk to local TRAX (Red line) to travel easily within U of U campus and around city sights.
Uni campus also has great facilities to utilise. Will return here in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PerryHacker, Owner at University Guest House & Conference Center, responded to this review, June 4, 2013
MaxBear08,

Thank you for your excellent review. I am glad you had such a great experience. We work hard everyday to ensure our guests receive the best service, and amenities they can, for a good value. We love our views as much as you do, especially during sunset.

I hope we see you again soon.

Sincerely,
Perry Hacker
Director.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southern Pines, North Carolina
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

Our son was graduating from University of Utah with his Masters! Hotel was steps away from his dorm and walking distance to all campus locations. Room was very comfortable and the morning breakfast was outstanding!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PerryHacker, Manager at University Guest House & Conference Center, responded to this review, May 19, 2013
Dear Goduke9,

Congratulations on your son graduating. We are very glad you enjoyed your stay with us. We always strive to make each and every experience memorable. Thank you for your review and we hope to see you again.

Andrea De Paz
Front Desk Supervisor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NW FL
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

After reading reviews here we knew to ask for the new section (didn't get it), third floor (got it), and valley view (didn't ask but got it anyway). Forgot to ask, not right by the squeaky elevator! However, overall, the room was quiet and very pleasant with a lovely view.

Staff was gracious and friendly. The management understands the needs of travelers and has fresh coffee out all day, along with hot water and a variety of teabags, as well as ice water (one with lemon!) Breakfast included hot and cold items, a variety of pastries/breads, yogurt, fruit.

We were there to attend a graduation ceremony so the Guest House was convenient to everyone we needed to see, and every place we needed to go. Since it's located in the old Army post area, the setting is lovely (hmm, how did Army post and lovely make it in to the same sentence??)

Definitely stay here if you're in the area.

Room Tip: Ask for valley view, third floor, new section (and if you get the old section, away from the squeaky...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PerryHacker, Front Office at University Guest House & Conference Center, responded to this review, May 19, 2013
Dear RGRCNwFI,

Thank you so much for your review. Our new wing is frequently requested by our guests especially during events such as graduation. Although this time it was unavailable, I'm glad to hear that your experience was enjoyed through all the great amenities our hotel has to offer. We strive to provide the best and I'm happy to know our services were up to par. I apologize about the elevator noise you experienced, we are installing a new and quieter elevator next week which will help to lessen the noise considerably. I will make sure to pass along your comments to our staff and we hope to see you again soon.

Thank you,
Andrea De Paz
Front Desk Supervisor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2013

I absolutely love this hotel. My son is a U of U student and the convenience of the location is awesome. The grounds are beautiful and the place is always spotless! They have a great beverage center in the lobby 24 hours. Breakfast is nice too. You can even sit outside! Great place. I won't stay anywhere else when I come to Salt Lake City. That says a lot coming from me. I'm from Vegas home of the luxury hotel!

Room Tip: If you are a Tier 2 U of U Parent Association member you get a great discount on any room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PerryHacker, Front Office at University Guest House & Conference Center, responded to this review, May 19, 2013
Dear Michelle M,

Thank you for your great review. I am happy to hear that your experience with us was an enjoyable one. From our wonderful rooms to the surrounding areas, the University Guest House and Conference Services strives to maintain a beautiful atmosphere for all our guests. We hope to continue to provide a great stay for you always. Thanks again for your comments and we hope to see you again soon.

Andrea De Paz
Front Desk Supervisor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2013

Our stay at the Guest House was wonderful in every way. The room was comfortable, clean and spacious; all staff members were gracious and helpful; the breakfast was outstanding in quality and variety; and the location, with views across the valley and access to TRAX and UTA bus services, was stunning. There was a lot to see and do in and near the University campus: for example, Red Butte Gardens and UMFA are within easy walking distance.

We had a wonderful stay at the Guest House and we will be back!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PerryHacker, Front Office at University Guest House & Conference Center, responded to this review, May 19, 2013
Dear E B,

I'm happy to hear you had a wonderful stay. We take pride in providing the best service possible to all our guests. I'm glad that the transportation system was of assistance to you, with the closest TRAX line being a five minute walk from our hotel, it provides easy access to the surrounding Salt Lake City areas and it's very convenient for our guests to use. We hope you visit Salt Lake City again soon and thank you for your great review.

Andrea De Paz
Front Desk Supervisor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to University Guest House & Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about University Guest House & Conference Center

Address: 110 South Fort Douglas Blvd, Salt Lake City, UT 84113-5036
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Utah > Salt Lake City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Salt Lake City
#2 Family Hotel in Salt Lake City
#3 Best Value Hotel in Salt Lake City
#4 Romantic Hotel in Salt Lake City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 180
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our 180-room hotel features spectacular views of the Salt Lake Valley and the surrounding University of Utah campus. Its proximity to both a TRAX train station and a campus shuttle stop allows you to explore both campus and Salt Lake City easily. Add affordable, comfortable rooms with fantastic amenities and you’ll understand why visitors love the Guest House. Our amenities include complimentary hot breakfast and wireless internet, complimentary local shuttle, state of the art fitness room and 30,000 sq ft of conference space. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your University Guest House & Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
University Guest House And Conference Center
University Guest House Hotel Salt Lake City
University Guest House & Conference Center Salt Lake City, Utah

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage University Guest House & Conference Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.