We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Event Location and Service!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of University Guest House & Conference Center

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added University Guest House & Conference Center to your Saves list
University Guest House & Conference Center
110 South Fort Douglas Blvd, Salt Lake City, UT 84113-5036   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 75 Hotels in Salt Lake City
Bountiful
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
122 helpful votes 122 helpful votes
“Fantastic Event Location and Service!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

I recently used the new University Guest House Ballroom for a large Business event which I was the program planner for. Our event involved 100+ guests, with special set-up needs for a poster session and light meal. The Guest House assigned me my own event planner to coordinate with and she did a lovely job of communicating and take care of all the little details to make sure everything would go smoothly. She was very responsive to my emails. On the day of the event there were several people assigned to make sure set-up and other needs were completely taken care of. This was the first time most of our team had seen or used their new meeting facility, and it was lovely. The Ballroom was the perfect place for our event. Everything went so well, and we had so much positive feedback from our guests, presenters, and visiting faculty we now plan to make this our annual location. The Guest House has several different meeting rooms of various sizes. If you are planning a large event, whether business or a wedding, The Ballroom would be perfect. One of the nicest things is that unlike most hotel Ballrooms, this one has a lot of windows providing natural light, and it opens onto a lovely patio with a rock fireplace.

PROS:
Location is easily Accessible from I-215 / Foothill Drive, or from Downtown SLC, it is also directly across from a TRAX stop (Red Line).
Very Reasonable Rates
Very Reasonable and Comfortable Lodging is available for guests
Excellent customer service, attention to detail, commitment to a successful event.
Perfect location for any University related event, or something done in conjunction with the University campus / U Hospital / Primary Children's Hospital / VA Hospital / Research Park

Possible CONS / CHALLENGES:
1. Parking is fairly limited. If you plan on having a lot of guests arrive by car. For an extra fee the guest house will reserve parking spaces in their West Lot, which worked out fine for our event. However, they cannot accommodate too many and if the Guest House has full occupancy there would be less spaces available. So, if you know that many guests will be coming by car you will need to look into shuttling options. Their planning coordinator can give you many ideas and options.
2. You must use a Guest house / University approved Catering company for all events held here. This would only be a potential problem if you have your heart set on a caterer not on their list. Their planning coordinator will provide the list. We used Majestic Catering which I highly recommend - they did a beautiful job! (Tip: Their shrimp bowl, salmon platter, and chocolate covered strawberries were a huge hit)

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

563 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    440
    101
    17
    3
    2
See reviews for
187
74
50
172
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (157)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Salt Lake City, Utah, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

We held a conference at the Guest House for CF professionals from Mountain West centers. This was a great location and the staff were fantastic! The close proximity to the airport made it very easy for all of our meeting attendees and speakers to get here and being close to the University of Utah and PCMC made it ideal for local professionals to attend. The staff and accommodations far exceeded our expectations. The staff at the Guest House and the conference staff were wonderful to work with. We would definitely use this location again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013 via mobile

This place was a good spot for a couple of nights while visiting Salt Lake and we will stay again. The room was okay, breakfast was good and the staff was outstanding. Just could not have had more supportive front desk staff.

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

The rooms at the Guest House are comfortable, quiet, and clean. The breakfast is SUPER! Complimentary drinks are offered all day and the warm, fresh chocolate chip cookies served at 4 p.m. are awesome. The staff is very friendly and helpful. We stayed here for the second time and would return.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tahoe City, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

Our stay at the University Guest House was nice - the room was comfortable and the surroundings were quiet, even though there were guests on either side and down the hall. We enjoyed the breakfast, also, and appreciated the complimentary newspapers. This is our 4th stay here, and we will keep coming back.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meridian, Idaho
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013 via mobile

Stayed for 3 nights. Staff very courteous & competent. We booked a King Deluxe & other party with us booked 2 queen bed room. Their room was same size as ours but configured differently. Would recommend the Queen room as it had a very large vanity compared to our tiny single vanity. Both rooms had frig, microwave & sofa. Overall, a nice place to stay overlooking downtown SLC. Would definitely recommend.

Stayed April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brno, Czech Republic
Top Contributor
106 reviews 106 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

This place is just great. It has the perfect location at the campus and all the service you need. Rooms are extremely clean and spacious, internet is fast and realiable, staff is friendly and helpful. And oh, don't forget about the perfect breakfast with pancakes, eggs, bacon and Starbucks coffee. Complimentary newspapers, refrigator, microwave and coffee maker in the room, fitness room. What else would you want as a guest at University of Utah?

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to University Guest House & Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about University Guest House & Conference Center

Address: 110 South Fort Douglas Blvd, Salt Lake City, UT 84113-5036
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Utah > Salt Lake City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Salt Lake City
#2 Business Hotel in Salt Lake City
#2 Best Value Hotel in Salt Lake City
#4 Romantic Hotel in Salt Lake City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 180
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our 180-room hotel features spectacular views of the Salt Lake Valley and the surrounding University of Utah campus. Its proximity to both a TRAX train station and a campus shuttle stop allows you to explore both campus and Salt Lake City easily. Add affordable, comfortable rooms with fantastic amenities and you’ll understand why visitors love the Guest House. Our amenities include complimentary hot breakfast and wireless internet, complimentary local shuttle, state of the art fitness room and 30,000 sq ft of conference space. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your University Guest House & Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
University Guest House And Conference Center
University Guest House Hotel Salt Lake City
University Guest House & Conference Center Salt Lake City, Utah

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage University Guest House & Conference Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.