We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Clean, comfortable hotel in the University area” 5 of 5 stars
Review of University Guest House & Conference Center

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added University Guest House & Conference Center to your Saves list
University Guest House & Conference Center
110 South Fort Douglas Blvd, Salt Lake City, UT 84113-5036   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 76 Hotels in Salt Lake City
Georgia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Very Clean, comfortable hotel in the University area”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2012

We stayed 4 nights in a double queen room on the 3rd floor of the new wing at this hotel and enjoyed it very much. The rooms were immaculately clean and the beds were very comfortable, with their down duvets. The hotel serves a hot breakfast until 9am, which was good. However, I wish they would serve breakfast until 10am for those who prefer to sleep in. On one of the nights, the adjoining room was very noisy; The next morning, I asked the front desk if I could move rooms, and they were very accommodating. Other than the one night, the rooms were very quiet. It is a short 10 minute drive to downtown (or you can take Trax which is very convenient). The ski resorts are within 30 minutes. I would recommend this hotel, and stay here again.

Room Tip: A top floor in the new wing away from elevators and ice machines on the opposite side from parking l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PerryHacker, Owner at University Guest House & Conference Center, responded to this review, October 20, 2012
kimetraveler,
Thanks for your great review. Our housekeeping staff is amazing and takes great pride in ensuring our hotel is as clean as possible. We have discussed extending breakfast during the week, however, the volume drops significantly after about 9:30. However, if you stay with us again and miss breakfast (I can understand the desire to sleep in), let us know and we will prepare anything for you even after 9am. We do serve breakfast until 10 on Saturday and Sunday.

We hope to see you again soon.

Perry Hacker
Directory
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

553 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    432
    99
    17
    3
    2
See reviews for
185
74
48
168
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (154)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Berkeley, California
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2012

The University Guest House was the perfect place to stay while in Salt Lake City. The location is lovely and quiet, transportation convenient, breakfast bountiful, and the staff helpful and friendly. In fact, "friendly" characterizes the entire establishment.

The rooms are efficient, pleasant, and nicely furnished. The lobby is comfortable. In short, the Guest House is a terrific bargain—a bargain, but not at the cost of comfort!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PerryHacker, Owner at University Guest House & Conference Center, responded to this review, October 20, 2012
Bradbunnin,
Thank you for your review. Our goal is to provide a friendly, comfortable stay at a great value, without cutting back on service or amenities. I am glad you enjoyed your stay and that our efforts have not gone unnoticed.

I hope the next time you are in SLC you will visit us again.

Thanks again for your feedback.

Perry Hacker
Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntingdon Valley
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012

When visiting our daughter, who is on the faculty of the Unmiversity of Utah, we were looking for accomodations that would be convenient for her. The University Guest House proved to be the ideal place for us and made our stay in Utah very pleasant and comfortable. The room was very large, with 2 queen size beds as well as a sofa and refrigerator. A major plus was the free breakfast, which was called continental but was actually a complete hot breakfast with some different choices every day. And the staff couldn't have been any nicer. No question that this will be our choiice again the next time we are in Salt Lake City.

Room Tip: A room near the elevator is convenient to all in services and the inn is very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PerryHacker, Owner at University Guest House & Conference Center, responded to this review, October 21, 2012
Edriloff,

Thank you for your wonderful review. I am glad that you enjoyed our rooms and were able to take advantage of our hot breakfast. Our staff works very hard to make sure the Guest House is a friendly, comfortable place to relax when visiting Salt Lake City and the University of Utah.

I hope we see you the next time you are visiting your daughter. Feel free to contact me directly if there is anything I can do for you.

Perry Hacker
Director
801-587-10101
phacker@universityguesthouse.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orem, Utah
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

I stayed 4 Nights and was very impressed. The staff were wonderful, VERY clean and modern interior, Comfortable room, great views of valley and nice full hot breakfast. The Best gym I've ever seen in a hotel too. All new and up to date equipment.
I will definitely come stay again on future visits to Salt Lake and recommend to family and friends.

Room Tip: If available, ask for a room on 2nd or 3rd floor with windows facing the valley for the great view
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PerryHacker, Owner at University Guest House & Conference Center, responded to this review, October 21, 2012
Russell,

Thank you for your great review. I believe our staff is the best. We work tirelessly to provide a fantastic experience for our guests. Our housekeeping staff is amazing and they love to hear when our guests comment on how clean the Guest House is.

Our newly expanded lobby and breakfast are a big hit, and we also love the views of the valley.
I am glad you enjoyed our work out facility. I feel it is one of the best.

We hope to see you again the next time you are in SLC.

Perry Hacker
Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nampa, Idaho
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

We had a room in the corner near the road this time, and wanted the window open at night, but too much noise for that. Great place and no complaints. Staff will go out of their way to help if you need anything.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spearfish, SD
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

The University Guest House is excellent. The staff is very courteous, knowledgeable and very willing to help make your stay pleasant. Directions to the Guest house are acceptable if you are not familiar with SLC but a little difficult if you are not. The price is right and we will be going back. We have a grandson attending the University.

Room Tip: The west side is excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenville, South Carolina
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012

There is not anything to fault this hotel. The staff were very helpful in making a reservation modification with no fuss. The room was well appointed and in good condition showing no signs of age. The continental breakfast was a bonus which we did not anticipate with a choice of hot teas (important to my wife). parking was easy and close to the entrance. I cannot imagine why will stay anywhere else next time we are in Salt lake City.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to University Guest House & Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about University Guest House & Conference Center

Address: 110 South Fort Douglas Blvd, Salt Lake City, UT 84113-5036
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Utah > Salt Lake City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Salt Lake City
#2 Family Hotel in Salt Lake City
#3 Best Value Hotel in Salt Lake City
#4 Romantic Hotel in Salt Lake City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 180
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our 180-room hotel features spectacular views of the Salt Lake Valley and the surrounding University of Utah campus. Its proximity to both a TRAX train station and a campus shuttle stop allows you to explore both campus and Salt Lake City easily. Add affordable, comfortable rooms with fantastic amenities and you’ll understand why visitors love the Guest House. Our amenities include complimentary hot breakfast and wireless internet, complimentary local shuttle, state of the art fitness room and 30,000 sq ft of conference space. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your University Guest House & Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
University Guest House And Conference Center
University Guest House Hotel Salt Lake City
University Guest House & Conference Center Salt Lake City, Utah

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage University Guest House & Conference Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.