We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“UGuest it!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of University Guest House & Conference Center

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added University Guest House & Conference Center to your Saves list
University Guest House & Conference Center
110 South Fort Douglas Blvd, Salt Lake City, UT 84113-5036   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 74 Hotels in Salt Lake City
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Gilbertsville, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“UGuest it!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2012

The University Guest House & Conference Center is one of the best kept secrets in Salt Lake City/on the University of Utah campus. This has been our 3rd time staying there and as the saying goes, 3's a charm! Consistently comforatble, clean and courteous/helpful staff. It's ideal location gives us the convenience of helping our daughter assimilate into college at the U while also taking advantage of the beautiful surroundings that the area has to offer (ski resorts, downtown SLC, etc.). Great value, breakfast and hospitality.

Room Tip: Have not had a 'bad' room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
justin_slc, Manager at University Guest House & Conference Center, responded to this review, August 16, 2012
Thank you for your review. I love the title "U Guest it". You win a prize for the best play on words. Hope to see you again for a 4th time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

635 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    494
    114
    20
    4
    3
See reviews for
215
78
57
200
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (178)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Allentown, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2012

I recently stayed at the University Guest House for a conference. The rooms were comfortable and clean and the staff was very helpful with directions, etc. The breakfast was another unexpected bonus compared to most hotels offerings. The price and the view were extra add ons to a great place.

Room Tip: Try to get a view of the valley.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
justin_slc, Manager at University Guest House & Conference Center, responded to this review, August 16, 2012
Thanks for your review and for mentioning our complimentary hot breakfast. Your room tip is a good one. We are lucky to be up on the foothills with amazing views.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kamas, Utah
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2012

My husband & I stayed here while we were in town for a Red Butte Garden Concert. It was just a few blocks away, we had a great place to park & comfortable room to come back to after the concert--clean room, nice amenities, comfortable bed & linens. So close to the venue & so nice to not have to drive home after a night out. We will definitely be doing this again next time we go see a Utes game or a concert at Red Butte.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
justin_slc, Manager at University Guest House & Conference Center, responded to this review, August 16, 2012
Red Butte Garden hosts an awesome lineup of shows each summer. It is good to hear that we can be a part of that experience. I would highly recommend that if you are at the hotel during the summer that you check out these events. Thanks for the great review of our hotel and for mentioning Red Butte. Also football season is just around the corner. GO UTES!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Memphis, Tennessee, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2012

The University Guest House & Conference Center will be our home away from home whenever visiting Salt Lake City in the future. The facility and room were very clean, modernly furnished and had all of the amenities that were needed for our one-week trip. Loved the staff's helpful and positive attitude. Great breakfast options and really appreciated the ice water, Starbuck's coffee and Tazo tea available 24/7. We will highly recommend this hotel to anyone staying in the Salt Lake valley. Thanks UGH!

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the new wing for an exceptionally clean stay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
justin_slc, Manager at University Guest House & Conference Center, responded to this review, August 16, 2012
Thanks for your great comments. We would love to be considered your home away from home. I am glad to hear that you enjoyed all the amenities we have to offer. Hope to see you again next time your in Salt Lake City.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cove, Utah, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2012

I have stayed at the University Guesthouse over a dozen times and it is always a great experience. The rooms are clean and nice, the breakfast is delicious but the staff "ROCKS". They are so friendly and willing to help me out whenever I have a request. I look forward to my stays in Salt Lake.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
justin_slc, Manager at University Guest House & Conference Center, responded to this review, August 16, 2012
Thank you for your review. Glad to have you back again and again. I would agree that our staff does "ROCK". Many of them are students and I am amazed at how they balance both work and school. See you again shortly.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keller, Texas
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2012

I stayed here while my mom was a patient at the Huntsman Cancer Center, the staff at the UGH were both pleasant and professional. The room was always clean, the breakfast in the morning was great, particularly the Starbucks coffee. As a frequent traveler for business I would say that the University Guest House offers services comparable to major chain hotels for a reasonable price. I would definitely stay here again and would highly recommend to others.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
justin_slc, Manager at University Guest House & Conference Center, responded to this review, August 16, 2012
Thank you for your review. I am glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay. It is great to be able to be here for those who are patients and family of patients at Huntsman Cancer Center.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2012

Our family of four stayed the University Guest House only for one night, but if we had more time and knew how good it is we would have stayed longer. While the Guest House is about 10min. by car from the city centre it has everything to make your stay very pleasant. We booked based on the ratings on Tripadvisor and weren't disappointed, especially after the pricey accommodation we had around the Yellowstone national park.

The only thing you won't get from the University Guest House is being in a central location, other then that it provides great value for what you pay for a night. We paid around $110 for two adults and two kids in a room with two Queen sized beds, which works perfectly fine with small children. In addition the Guest House provides free parking, free internet access, very nice rooms, a fitness centre and a reasonable breakfast. They also have free apples all day - if you after some fruit - and bananas for breakfast, which is much better then a lot of other places we stayed at. Also, if you after some social activity, they have a large selection of board games that you can use to spend a relaxed evening at the Guest House.

While the Guest House, as mentioned, is not in the city centre, I believe there is a tram connection that takes you into the city.

Overall we were very happen with the accommodation and also the friendliness of the staff. You will be hard pressed to find a better accommodation for the price in Salt Lake City.

Room Tip: Ask for top floor facing the city if you like that type of view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
justin_slc, Manager at University Guest House & Conference Center, responded to this review, July 27, 2012
Thank you for your wonderful review. I am glad to hear you found us on Trip Advisor. It sounds like you had a nice trip visiting various places including Yellowstone. I am glad we were able to be one of your destinations. Happy traveling!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to University Guest House & Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about University Guest House & Conference Center

Address: 110 South Fort Douglas Blvd, Salt Lake City, UT 84113-5036
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Utah > Salt Lake City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Salt Lake City
#2 Business Hotel in Salt Lake City
#2 Best Value Hotel in Salt Lake City
#4 Romantic Hotel in Salt Lake City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 180
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our 180-room hotel features spectacular views of the Salt Lake Valley and the surrounding University of Utah campus. Its proximity to both a TRAX train station and a campus shuttle stop allows you to explore both campus and Salt Lake City easily. Add affordable, comfortable rooms with fantastic amenities and you’ll understand why visitors love the Guest House. Our amenities include complimentary hot breakfast and wireless internet, complimentary local shuttle, state of the art fitness room and 30,000 sq ft of conference space. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your University Guest House & Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
University Guest House And Conference Center
University Guest House Hotel Salt Lake City
University Guest House & Conference Center Salt Lake City, Utah

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage University Guest House & Conference Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.