We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“University of Utah Guesthouse” 5 of 5 stars
Review of University Guest House & Conference Center

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added University Guest House & Conference Center to your Saves list
University Guest House & Conference Center
110 South Fort Douglas Blvd, Salt Lake City, UT 84113-5036   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 74 Hotels in Salt Lake City
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Langley, Oklahoma
1 review
“University of Utah Guesthouse”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2012

I expected something much less; than we found on our arrival at the University guest house. We had a weeks stay and found the facility to be better than most hotel/motels we have stayed at in our extensive travels. Personnel were always friendly and helpful. Our rooms, clean and very comfortable and the towels were outstanding...thick and absorbent. Breakfast was substantial and offered many healthful options. I can't say enough about the quality and comfort of our stay. A topnotch facility.

Room Tip: As far as I could tell, all the rooms were acceptable
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at University Guest House & Conference Center, responded to this review, July 5, 2012
Thank you for your review and all the great things you have to say about us. I love to hear when we have exceeded expectations. It is funny that you mention the towels because that is something that we put a lot of thought into when we were selecting them. It is great to know that our guests notice these things. We hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

639 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    496
    116
    21
    4
    2
See reviews for
217
78
57
201
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (180)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Edmond, Oklahoma, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2012

Accomodations were great, breakfast was great with lots of variety items. Would stay here again if I ever get back to Salt Lake City for a University of Utah conference.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at University Guest House & Conference Center, responded to this review, July 5, 2012
Thank you for your review. It was great to have the School of Alcoholism and Drug Dependence conference here again. I am glad you had a great stay and we do hope to see you again next time you are in Salt Lake City.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2012

We loved staying at the University Guest House & Conference Center. The breakfast was large and had everything from Starbucks Coffee to omlets, and free apples and cookies the rest of the day. The rooms were nice and comfy, including a bench and couch. Great place to stay! Reasonable prices too.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at University Guest House & Conference Center, responded to this review, July 5, 2012
Thank you for your review. Someone commented awhile ago that they missed the cookies in the afternoon so we brought them back. We have also just added complimentary Tazo Iced Tea for our guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pittsburgh
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2012

This reasonably priced hotel was a pleasant surprise for our conference. It had a refrigerator and microwave in the room, and good bed. The free breakfast had lots of food items including omelets (the frozen kind made with instant egg) and fruit. Our only complaint was that the breakfast area wasn't big enough for the number of diners.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at University Guest House & Conference Center, responded to this review, July 5, 2012
Thank you for your review. I am very glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay. We were very busy while you were here. Even with our expanded dining area it still gets a bit crowded on those really busy mornings. Thanks for your patience in dealing with that while you were here. Hopefully when you stay with us in the future this will not be a problem.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City, Utah
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2012

The University of Utah Guest House is a great place to stay. My family had a room with 2 queen beds. The room felt big and was very clean. Having a couch in the room was a nice touch when our friends came over. It was also nice to have a fridge and microwave since we stayed longer than one night. The staff was very friendly and always went the extra mile. The breakfast was more than we expected... eggs, pancakes, French toast, bacon, sausage....yum! We also had a great view of the city and the sunset from our room.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
justin_slc, General Manager at University Guest House & Conference Center, responded to this review, June 11, 2012
I love to hear your comment about the Guest House being a "home away from home." We really do want to make everyone feel the comforts of home while they are staying with us. Thank you so much for taking the time to share your experience. Hope to see you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2012

My wife and I stayed for two nights. The room was quiet, spacious, and clean. We used the university bus service at no cost for attending an speaker's event on campus, to visit the new Rio Tinto Natural History museum on campus and to visit the university's art museum the next day. A stop on the line of Salt Lake City's Trax tram system was just "out the door" and across the pedestrian bridge which gave us access to downtown SLC. From the Guest House we walked to a nearby student cafeteria where we paid (reasonable expense) for an all-you-can-eat buffet both nights. As others have mentioned, the breakfast was pretty good but could use a touch of improvement (the microwaved eggs were so-so; the bacon was on the greasy side). All in all, though, a marvelous place to stay.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
justin_slc, General Manager at University Guest House & Conference Center, responded to this review, June 11, 2012
I appreciate you taking the time to review our hotel. It sounds like you had a great visit and enjoyed many of the wonderful activities available on the University campus. We are especially excited to have the new Natural History Museum so close. Thank you for providing feedback on our breakfast. We are always looking for ways to improve each of our amenities and this feedback will be very helpful as we make improvements. We hope to see you again next time you are in Salt Lake City.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honolulu, Hawaii
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2012

I stayed at the University Guest House for 4 nights. My room was spacious, clean and comfortable with a king bed, desk, sofa, wi-fi (or wired), microwave, mini fridge, and coffee maker. The Guest House had nice fitness center with various exercise epuipment, including free weights, cardio machines, exercise balls, bands, and balance boards. The Guest House also provided full breakfast buffet in the morning, and coffee/tea service during the day. It doesn't have restaurant of swimming pool, but worked for me. I would definitely stay there again when in Salt Lake City.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
justin_slc, General Manager at University Guest House & Conference Center, responded to this review, May 31, 2012
Thank you for your review. We look forward to seeing you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to University Guest House & Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about University Guest House & Conference Center

Address: 110 South Fort Douglas Blvd, Salt Lake City, UT 84113-5036
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Utah > Salt Lake City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Salt Lake City
#2 Business Hotel in Salt Lake City
#2 Best Value Hotel in Salt Lake City
#4 Romantic Hotel in Salt Lake City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 180
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our 180-room hotel features spectacular views of the Salt Lake Valley and the surrounding University of Utah campus. Its proximity to both a TRAX train station and a campus shuttle stop allows you to explore both campus and Salt Lake City easily. Add affordable, comfortable rooms with fantastic amenities and you’ll understand why visitors love the Guest House. Our amenities include complimentary hot breakfast and wireless internet, complimentary local shuttle, state of the art fitness room and 30,000 sq ft of conference space. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your University Guest House & Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
University Guest House And Conference Center
University Guest House Hotel Salt Lake City
University Guest House & Conference Center Salt Lake City, Utah

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage University Guest House & Conference Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.