We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location and accommodations” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Comfort Inn Downtown

Save Saved
You added Comfort Inn Downtown to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Comfort Inn Downtown
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   171 W 500 S, Salt Lake City, UT 84101   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #42 of 76 hotels in Salt Lake City
New Hartford, New York
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Great location and accommodations”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2013

Was wonderfully surprised to a spacious room and the manager's weekday welcoming party. The full hot breakfast was appetizing and shocked to see the variety of snacks and ice creams near the front desk, a nice addition. The washer & dryer was useful since we were traveling for a week. Took a leisurely walk around downtown visiting the sites.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark R, General Manager at Comfort Inn Downtown, responded to this review, November 11, 2013
We are very glad you chose to stay with us! Thank you for your feedback and we hope you will stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

104 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    35
    31
    24
    7
    7
See reviews for
29
31
7
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Inverness, FL
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013

A friend and I stayed at this hotel for a week. We had a nice, clean suite for a reasonable price, and at a manageable distance from the Trax light rail line. The suite was clean, adequately furnished and comfortable, albeit somewhat dated.The staff was very friendly and mostly helpful. A free breakfast with a wide assortment of foods and beverages was available every morning.The Belgian waffle irons were very popular. Other foods available were fresh fruits, eggs, sausage, and beverages.
We had a bit of trouble logging onto our computers but the staff rescued us each time.
A couple of problems were not dealt with although we notified the desk: My friend could not hang up her clothes because one sliding door of the closet was off the track and would not open (I had already appropriated the usable part of that closet). However, she was able to use the couch in the living room instead. One of the drawers on my side of the dresser was missing a knob, so I only had two usable drawers. These were not serious issues since we had plenty of room in the suite. The drapes were better than at most hotels and the clock radio did not have bright display, so light pollution was not a problem.

Room Tip: We had the suite closest to the food...a nice perk when on a tough schedule.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark R, General Manager at Comfort Inn Downtown, responded to this review, November 11, 2013
I really appreciate your taking the time to review our hotel and I apologize for the exceptions in your room. We are working very hard to correct these in between seasons and hope you will choose us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MN
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013

This was one of the BEST comfort Inns we have stayed at. No pool, but we were too busy to use it this trip, anyway. I suppose if you have kids, a pool is a requirement, but they did have a hot tub. This place was CLEAN clean clean. The staff very friendly.

The manager's reception during the week- with WINE and beer and appetizers.. wow! Their breakfast was very good. Nothing lacking.

Was within walking of MANY great places to eat. We walked all over downtown Salt Lake City from here. Enjoyed our stay.

I think I KNOW why one of the other customers had that puddle in their room, I blame the construction workers who put in their tubs! OUR tub, was slanted towards the outside, and the shower curtain never really sealed to the wall, so the water all went to the floor outside the tub. We would try hard to stop it, had to put two bath towels down and they would be soaked! It's not the hotel's fault this is happening at the moment.. I bet they fix it soon, too.

Room Tip: A room facing the street MIGHT be quieter than the parking lot.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark R, General Manager at Comfort Inn Downtown, responded to this review, October 29, 2013
Thank your for taking the time to review our hotel. I will definitely share our kind words with the staff and we hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southeast
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

We chose this motel in order to be downtown in walking distance of sites we wanted to see. The location was good but the room had problems. Everything was fine the night we checked in but by morning there was a puddle in the doorway of the bathroom from a leak in the ceiling. My husband reported it to the front desk and was told it was probably just air conditioner condensation. (There was a crack in the ceiling and the water dripped constantly.) When we came back to the room later that day, nothing had been done and the puddle was deeper. We put a towel over the water but it began to spread out into the room, soaking the carpet. Whenever we entered the bathroom we had to step over the puddle (hard to do if you get up in the dark). We checked out the next day and I reported it once again to the front desk. Again, it was suggested it was condensation.
There are also a very limited number of electrical outlets in the room and if I used the ones in the lamps I had to make sure we didn't turn the lamps off with the wall switch.
Could never get wifi to work in the room. Asked for help at the desk and was told "my phone doesn't pick up well either" (I had an iPad). I think my problem was I had received the wrong code but wasn't offered the right one.
Breakfast was just OK - waffles were the best part.
We weren't offered any maps, coupons, etc. that have been mentioned in other reviews.
As far as location, there were other motels in the area.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark R, General Manager at Comfort Inn Downtown, responded to this review, October 29, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to comment on our hotel. I apologize for the leaks and internet and will use you comments to improve our service.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edison, New Jersey
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

The staff was friendly and helpful. The manager had a complimentary weekday social hour, with beer and wine and a light meal. The location is pretty good, about a block or so away from the Trax light rail line on Main Street.

The room was clean, but the carpet, bedding, and curtains were all a bit old. The beds were comfortable.

Overall, this is an average place. The lobby appears to have been updated, but the rest of the hotel is older and a bit run down. I chose here because there was a large convention in town and many other places were not available. If you are traveling to SLC, find out when the Outdoor Retailers Association convention is (I think twice a year) and come another time. I would probably choose another hotel the next time I visit.

Room Tip: Choose a room on a floor higher than street level.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark R, General Manager at Comfort Inn Downtown, responded to this review, August 14, 2013
Thank you for staying with ua and for taking the time to comment on our hotel. It is great to hear you enjoyed our social. Though we are not a new hotel my staff works very hard to keep the property clean and maintained. Additionally, we have some room feature upgrades planned for the end of theis year to in=mprove your experience. I hope you will stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ogallala, Nebraska
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

I work front desk at a hotel, and I was so impressed with this Comfort Inn and their staff! I arrived early and Grace was so nice and got us into a room without any problem. She was so helpful, as we had never visited the area. Grace gave us maps and coupons to use. The place was very clean, and the breakfast was awesome. I just wanted to acknowllege what a wonderful job she did!! I would defenitly stay here again!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark R, General Manager at Comfort Inn Downtown, responded to this review, August 14, 2013
Thanks for your kind words. I have passed them on tho Grace and I look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nevada
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

The 2.5 day stay began 7/26/13, when a family member was admitted to a nearby hospital. After being up 28 hours, I arrived at this hospital in an extremely exhausted state at about 9:00 AM. I inquired about an early checking with a 1-2 night stay. The desk clerk was EXTREMELY helpful, understanding, and cordial. She placed me in a far away room to allow for rest and quiet while maintenance & housekeeping worked through the day. The room was very nice, Clean, well maintained, QUIET, and comfortable. The morning breakfast was nicely prepared and offered a great variety of choices. The bed and pillows were super comfortable.

I'd recommend this pet-friendly property without hesitation with hopes that you, too, will enjoy the same great service, welcoming attitude, and pleasant stay that I was allowed to have. GREAT JOB TO ALL AT COMFORT INN DOWNTOWN - SLC.

Room Tip: First floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark R, General Manager at Comfort Inn Downtown, responded to this review, August 14, 2013
It was great to read your compliments.and I have passed them on to my staff. Thank you for taking the time to post them and we hope to see you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Comfort Inn Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn Downtown

Address: 171 W 500 S, Salt Lake City, UT 84101
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Utah > Salt Lake City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #42 of 76 hotels in Salt Lake City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Inn Downtown 2.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Choice Hotels, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Otel, Tingo, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Comfort Inn Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Downtown Hotel Salt Lake City
Comfort Inn Downtown Salt Lake City, Utah

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Comfort Inn Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.