We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dying of neglect” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Comfort Inn Downtown

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Comfort Inn Downtown to your Saves list
Comfort Inn Downtown
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   171 W 500 S, Salt Lake City, UT 84101   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #42 of 76 Hotels in Salt Lake City
San Francisco, California
Top Contributor
227 reviews 227 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 65 cities Reviews in 65 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“Dying of neglect”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

I stayed here for a week on some business. Let's see, when I got here at midnight, the front desk was friendly, but the room was about 100 degrees, the air conditioning was weak and wasn't even on in anticipation of the guest, the hair dryer was broken, the television channels were unavailable, the window curtain was ripped to shreds, and there are stains deep in the carpet. Kinda gross. I complained and they fixed a few items promptly. I was rarely in the room other than to sleep, so didn't demand a room change. A low end "motel" at best in need of badly needed upgrades. The free breakfast was passable but never went to the manager's happy hour. Location is close to downtown so is reasonably convenient. Parking is a problem if you return late. Positives? The wi-fi was reasonably reliable. All in all, I doubt I will be staying here again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

120 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    41
    36
    28
    8
    7
See reviews for
35
38
8
17
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

We stayed at this Comfort Inn because it had a guest laundry (we have been on a road trip for a month and do laundry about every 7-10 days). Our room - No. 133 - was huge, but that was the only good thing about the hotel. The window was broken in two places and patched with scotch tape; the rug was unraveling where it abutted the bathroom tile floor; the ink/toner had run out in the printer in the "business center" and, even though we asked twice, was never replaced while we were there; there was NO HEAT in the room (temp went down to the 40s that night), and we were told the boiler had gone out and not "rebooted"; there was rust around the tub drain; the showerhead plate was coming off the wall; the showerhead would only mist around the edges and poured out the middle (not sprayed); the sheer curtain over the window had an 8" rip in it; the desk clerk was grumpy and didn't like the fact that we didn't want the room she assigned us on the street and wanted one away from the traffic; and last, the lady servicing the breakfast area (on the 2nd floor) glared at everyone, never spoke a word - but did make sure everything stayed replenished.
I brought up all of these problems when we checked out, and "Laura" was apologetic and wrote everything down on a "checklist." She also comped us one night's stay. Nice, but I still felt it wasn't worth the stay. If you don't need a laundry, stay somewhere else.

Room Tip: Stay away from the street side - other Trip Advisors have made this recommendation, and I followed t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark R, General Manager at Comfort Inn Downtown, responded to this review, June 5, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We have recently undergone a management change and are working hard to correct any deficiencies. Your repair list was given to maintenance the same day and all items were repaired-I apologize that we did not correct them before you arrived. We are working hard with all of our staff to improve their performance and ensure everyone has a great stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Campbell Hill
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

We stayed in Salt Lake City while waiting to fly back home. The motel was clean and within walking distance of Temple Square (about a mile). About 2 blocks from the free downtown train. The breakfast was very good and was supplied well. The breakfast area was very nice.

Room Tip: Try and get a room on the parking side rather than the street side as it will be a lot quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark R, General Manager at Comfort Inn Downtown, responded to this review, June 5, 2013
Thank you for your great review! My staff works very hard to ensure a great experience. I will pass your kind words on. We are very close to Temple Square and i would recommend that everyone vist this historic site and also the great new City Creek Mall.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

Simply put, it was by far the best VALUE anywhere the Salt Palace Convention center... so I rated it as "Very Good" for what it is (not what it isn't). i.e. it's NOT a high-end hotel with room service, etc. But what it IS is a quiet clean room that has been updated fairly recently and has nice amenities and very friendly staff.

The nice extras that mattered most to me included AIRPORT SHUTTLE, Wi-Fi and HOT BREAKFAST. Was the breakfast "VERY Good"? Nope, but it was more than adequate AND the other hotels in the area didn't offer it AND it saved me time every morning!

It was a quiet and comfortable room.

The only negatives were the mattress dished (sagged in the middle) just a bit, and we had ongoing trouble with our room keys.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark R, General Manager at Comfort Inn Downtown, responded to this review, July 4, 2013
Thank you for your kind words. I am pleased to hear your enjoyed your visit. Your comments are very helpful to us. We hope to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013

Though the hotel is on the edge and not really walking distance to most of the major attractions or adobe. But you can always catch the trax. Well to begin with besides clean /decent size rooms with a view of the city you have best staff and service. Though i love this city so do i love the breakfast and the people who manage it, particularly Darrell. Great person who will talk to you at length about anything in the city and surprise you with complimentary snacks / drinks or some special cuisine every evening.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, NC
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

I just stayed here last week while in town for the LDS Conference. Location is great for access to Downtown SLC, walking distance to the TRAX line. Hotel Staff was very friendly and capable. They have a large hot tub on premises that is outside of the hotel, but inside of a covered area and accessed with your room key. Breakfast buffet was excellent, with a very attentive staff member keeping everything well stocked.

As other guests have mentioned, I thought it was funny that the information book in the room stated: "We suggest you don't leave valuables in your room, leave them in your car." The next sentence said, "Don't leave anything valuable in your car.". I think what they meant was to not leave anything visible in your car, i.e. pack in in your trunk.

The surrounding neighborhood is marginal, but even the most expensive parts of Downtown SLC seem to have a significant homeless population. I was approached by 4 or 5 homeless folks in my 2 day visit to SLC.

I have nothing really negative to say about this hotel. If you want 5 star accommodations you would not have booked here to begin with, value of the product was in line with the rates charged.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bartlesville, Oklahoma
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

First, the positives. The staff is amazing including the wonderful people who do the breakfast! The place is clean. The beds and pillows were good. Our king-suite was VERY spacious.
Almost everything negative I have to say about the hotel has to do with it's age and location. There was a large red stain on the carpet. The bedspread was stained (a turn-off). The bath was slow to fill and not a soaker tub you can lay back in. One of our biggest issues was the noise. People coming in and out and being noisy in the hall most of the night. I know that's not the hotel's fault. It's not the greatest location, literally on the edge. Definitely don't walk anywhere after dark. Some funny instructions at the hotel said something like, "We suggest you don't leave valuables in your room, leave them in your car." The next one said, "Don't leave anything valuable in your car." lol If you stay be sure to ask for a room away from the street. It's situated funny on the property. The front of the hotel faces the back so don't say room in the back, as the front is the back, say away from the street.
They really are nice there and it IS clean so if the rest doesn't bother you be sure to stay there. But I think I'll opt to stay at a more updated place further north.

Room Tip: Away from the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Comfort Inn Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn Downtown

Address: 171 W 500 S, Salt Lake City, UT 84101
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Utah > Salt Lake City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #42 of 76 Hotels in Salt Lake City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Inn Downtown 2.5*
Number of rooms: 85
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Choice Hotels, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Otel, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Comfort Inn Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Downtown Hotel Salt Lake City
Comfort Inn Downtown Salt Lake City, Utah

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Comfort Inn Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.