We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly place - Good Sushi” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Simply Sushi

Simply Sushi
180 W 400 S, Salt Lake City, UT 84101-1947
801-746-4445
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #593 of 1,212 restaurants in Salt Lake City
Cuisines: Sushi
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night
Los Angeles, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Friendly place - Good Sushi”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

I walked over from my hotel and ordered some sushi to go. The restaurant is big and airy, especially for a sushi place. Looks like a nice place to hang out. The sushi chefs were friendly.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

90 reviews from our community

76% Recommend
    55
    13
    10
    4
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“mushy rice”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2012

I have eaten at several sushi restaurants around the US. This place seems like they did not make a good batch of rice during my dining moment. The rice was mushy and that is bad on the texture while eating sushi rolls. Enough said.

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Slc
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Satisfying sushi”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2012

best place to satisfy that sushi craving you get (which is pretty often for me). The best thing is that it's not expensive when you get the all you can eat. The chefs are friendly and fast. I love the vibe during dinner time. It's upbeat and fun. The sushi is also really good (especially dinner). I have practically had all the deluxe rolls and i definitely recommend the Las Vegas (if you like a little sweet) and the Caterpillar.

If you're having sushi for the first time, i definitely recommend Simply. For it's price you can try out different kinds of rolls to see what you like, instead of going to a more expensive sushi place and have a much more costly experience.

The past five times I've been I've found that tony is the best and most flexible for first timers. He'll get to know you and then tailor rolls according to you. He knows fresh ingredients and puts them together fast.

  • Visited January 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Mason is the man!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2012 via mobile

Great sushi, great service and great atmosphere. Mason was my server and was awesome.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City, Utah
1 review
“Sunny is the best chef at Simply Sushi”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2012

Sunny is the best chef at Simply Sushi, and Tonny also. The food is great! Service is great! Dragon is the best Server!

  • Visited May 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Simply Sushi also viewed

Salt Lake City, UT
Salt Lake City, UT
 
Salt Lake City, UT
Salt Lake City, UT
 

Been to Simply Sushi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Simply Sushi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.