We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Kudos to the Staff and Amenities!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hyatt Place Salt Lake City

Save Saved
You added Hyatt Place Salt Lake City to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hyatt Place Salt Lake City
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   55 N. 400 West, Salt Lake City, UT 84101   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Free Breakfast & WIFI
Ranked #16 of 76 Hotels in Salt Lake City
Grand Junction, Colorado
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Kudos to the Staff and Amenities!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

Brady and Greg at the front desk checked me in early after a long drive. The room was huge with granite counters even in the desk area. Greg explained all the standard rooms were the same size which impressed me. There's a sectional with ottoman that can convert to a sofa bed. Spacious lounging in that area.
Breakfast was the usual better than continental but not over the top. However, I did eat in their restaurant and loved the mushroom soup. You can also purchase lattes with Starbucks coffee. There's a bakery counter and Brady popped fresh gooey chocolate chip cookies into it while I ate.
The light rail is very convenient and I used it to meet my friend at the airport. Cheap and efficient. There's also numerous restaurants within walking distance but I would suggest the TRAX rail a few stops to the fabulous area on Main Street.
There's parking on premises so leave your car and enjoy a clean, well organized city visit.
One last thing, Brady and Greg remembered my name and greeted me that way. Customer service goes a long way and I appreciated their attention to detail.

Room Tip: I had a view of downtown which was still quiet. The windows are excellent to keep out traffic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

278 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    153
    85
    27
    9
    4
See reviews for
78
73
22
76
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Laguna Beach, California, United States
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

I am enjoying this hotel SO much I'm writing my review while still here (so I actually get it done). As with all Hyatt's, this hotel feels fresh and clean and has trendy decor. The room is like a suite with a seperate sitting area, refrigerator, workspace. Super nice for business traverlers. Haven't been to the Gateway mall yet but it's just a few blocks away, as well as Temple Square. But here's what prompted me to review...the personal service is incredible. The staff is so friendly! Everyone greets you with a smile, front desk helped me navagate through the city with added tips on places to see and eat. Best of all...I was in a crunch and needed a small gift to bring a client. I decided to purchase some of their cookies as my gift. Staff members Greg and Sana came to the rescue! Greg quickly prepared a fresh batch of cookies and Sana packaged them up for me with colored tissue paper! OK...now that is what I call going above and beyond. Thank you Greg and Sana! On my next trip to Salt Lake...there's no other place I'd stay than HERE!

Room Tip: I was up on 6th floor. Pretty views and super quiet!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
107 reviews 107 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
110 helpful votes 110 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

This was our first time visiting Salt Lake City and the Hyatt Place was in the perfect location for us. The sprawling open-air Gateway Shopping Centre is across the road, and the shops are open until 9pm Mon-Sat. There is a variety of casual restaurants there too. Temple Square and the Convention centre are a 10-15 minute walk away, or you can ride the Trax light-rail for a couple of stops (free fare zone).
Pros - large modern room with separate seating area, nice bathroom and toiletries, very clean, fast wifi, included breakfast with selection of hot and cold items, secure self-parking.
Cons - some noise from street traffic and light-rail turning the corner (we were on the fourth flloor), $10 parking charge, pancakes and donuts at breakfast were a bit dry.

Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

Selected this property due to its location at one end of the Gateway open air mall. The property is in excellent condition and the staff was excellent. The rooms are well laid out with a comfortable seating area, separate desk/work area and sleeping area separated from the seating area by a partial wall. While small the space if very efficient and comfortable. I enjoyed the large walk in shower. The staff was very friendly and always helpful. When I returned from dinner the first evening and asked about coffee they made me a complimentary fresh Starbucks as they did again on my 4:30 AM departure. Complimentary breakfast offered some good choices for every taste although I would like to have seen more hot food options. The location allows you to walk comfortably to the shops and restaurants in The Gateway and the Energy Solutions Arena home to the NBA Jazz is just across the street. This is by far the nicest limited service hotel I've stayed in while downtown and had the best price during my time frame.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southern New Hampshire
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

Stayed here the Labor day weekend, we had a great stay. The room was more like a suite than just a hotel room, The breakfast was good with hot and cold items. The only down side of breakfast is the coffee station. Why do all hotels have such small coffee stations? it is the busiest part of any breakfast area, but the are always cramped for space and people are alway lining up. It is like whom ever engineered this thing doesn't drink coffee. Other than that this is a great place to stay, great beds and great location. The BAR as they refer to it is like 4 stools and a small counter, with 6 different beers and limited liquor selection, so if you like to drink other than the basics, you can walk down to a different watering hole down the street. There is a $10 parking fee. The lot does get a little cramped as the night goes on. There was no place to park after coming in later at night. I was able to use the hanicapped parking because my elderly in-laws have a tag that they carry with them. Other than that I do not know where I would have parked that night.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NY
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

Overall a great hotel. Clean rooms, comfortable beds, friendly and competent staff, and free breakfast in the morning. I didn't like having to pay $10 a day for parking. The lot is a secure lot that can only be entered with a room key, but $10 a day is rather steep.

Room Tip: All the rooms have a nice separation of the sleep and sitting areas.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Park City
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

I just stayed in the hotel over Labor Day weekend for one night. I was really impressed.

The location is awesome...you can walk to almost anything...restaurants, shopping, movie theaters, Energy Solutions Arena, bars, etc. It is also very easily accessed from the freeway.

The rooms were really well-designed and spacious. I enjoyed the open floor plan, the built-in desk and the swivel TV.

Breakfast was fast and convenient. I enjoyed the different options.

I tried to use the electronic check-out kiosk, but it wasn't working properly. The front desk checked me out just fine, though.

I also wasn't too stoked about parking fees, but the room rate was so affordable that it was still the best deal.

I would recommend this property to anyone...I think you'll be very happy!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hyatt Place Salt Lake City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Place Salt Lake City

Address: 55 N. 400 West, Salt Lake City, UT 84101
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Utah > Salt Lake City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Family Hotel in Salt Lake City
#15 Romantic Hotel in Salt Lake City
#21 Business Hotel in Salt Lake City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hyatt Place Salt Lake City 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Odigeo, Priceline, Hotels.com, Tingo, Reservation Counter and Venere so you can book your Hyatt Place Salt Lake City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Place Salt Lake City Hotel Salt Lake City
Hyatt Place Salt Lake City Utah

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hyatt Place Salt Lake City, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.