We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Business hotel in town” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hyatt Place Salt Lake City - Downtown

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hyatt Place Salt Lake City - Downtown to your Saves list
Hyatt Place Salt Lake City - Downtown
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   55 N. 400 West, Salt Lake City, UT 84101   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Free Breakfast & WIFI
Ranked #16 of 75 Hotels in Salt Lake City
Calgary
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Best Business hotel in town”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

The Hyatt, has a hot breakfast, spacious room, big screen flat TV's.
Service is great, and a great gym also. The pool should be indoors in such a cold place, but everything else is great. Staff is helpful, and always ready to help.
Bed very comfortable, and the room is a really nice suite.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

303 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    166
    92
    29
    12
    4
See reviews for
87
81
23
80
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012 via mobile

From the first step this hotel felt right. The front desk staff were terrific and very helpful. We were early but they had us checked in before normal checking time. Location was great close to the light rail so helped with the kids walking around. The room was spacious for the five of us. Beds very comfortable..helped get over our jet lag from Australia. The breakfast was great. Plenty variety to suit all of us. Highly recommend to any one.

Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
54 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
99 helpful votes 99 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

My wife and I stayed one night in this hotel and found it to be a very nice experience. One of the reasons why Hyatt is my favorite hotel brand is primarily due to the nice accomodations all of its hotels aim to provide. This one was no different...the hotel looked relatively new or at least recently refurbished, the accomodations were roomy as per the normal Hyatt standard, and the location was excellent, that is, very well positioned to take advantage of most of the amenities located in downtown Salt Lake City. For example, the Gateway, one of Salt Lake City's best mall and entertainment complexes is a leisurely 10 minute or so stroll down the road. If you feel like walking further, Temple Square is also accessible. However, the best thing about the hotel was the price, $79 for the night, taxes included. In closing, I would stay in this hotel again without a doubt.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Murfreesboro, Tennessee
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

My husband and I stayed here when we were in SLC on business. The Hyatt has worked to makeover the hotel experience it seems. For the most part, the changes were good, but a bit "yuppie" perhaps (Gallery Host rather than Front Desk Clerk, etc...). The room was clean, beds were comfortable. The furniture left something to be desired (ripped couch and old fabric) and the whole decor could use some upkeep. The breakfast in the morning was very good for a hotel breakfast. Very close to the Gateway Mall which has good shopping and restaurants. Overall, except for some room decor, it was a good stay. I would stay again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2012

I hate to write a bad review, because the front desk staff was so nice, but I was SO disappointed in my stay. The hotel itself was fine--decent lobby, okay rooms (though the furniture was a bit worn). But the housekeeping staff completely ruined the experience. They were the worst of any hotel I've stayed at, ever. Appalling. To start with, my room wasn't taken care of until 5PM every night of my stay--and I was there for five nights. So I'd come back from a long day of working and exploring to find that the cart was parked outside of my room.

That in itself wouldn't have been a big deal, but the quality of the housekeeping was so shoddy that it just added insult to injury. I went to make a cup of coffee one day and found that the cup that was in the one-cup maker was coated with white powder--creamer, I assume, from a previous guest. I used the other cup, and left it on the bedside table. When I came back, that night, I found that the housekeeping staff had simply moved the glass to another table and left it. The leaving of dirty cups happened several times during my stay. Another day, I came back to find that the housekeepers had not replaced the toilet paper--so I had to call down to the desk. Another day, they left the toilet plugged up with toilet paper--I could tell at a glance that it would overflow if I tried to use it or flush it. I had to call for someone to fix it.

It was an endless stream of small things that added up to a terrible stay. The housekeepers never tucked the sheets into the bed--they simply pulled the comforter over to make it look like it was made. When I pulled back the blankets, the sheets were hanging off the side of the bed, all wrinkled. Sloppy. The linens were not changed after three days, as stated on the little card. When I hung towels up to indicate that they shouldn't replace them, they replaced them. When I left them on the floor, they hung them from the shower door handle. Oh, and one day, one of the hand towels had a huge red spot on it--that was certainly not mine. Clean or not, that was disgusting. The light in the shower was burnt out, which the housekeepers clearly knew about, because they left the bathroom lights switched on every day. Oh, and the sinks weren't always cleaned.

The cheap iron in the room leaked some kind of disgusting white stuff all over my clothes when I tried to use it. The Internet was super slow. Half of the TV channels had no sound. The extra blanket in the room was dirty--it had some kind of crusty stuff on it. It was rolled up on a shelf and clearly hadn't been cleaned in a while.

I literally started keeping a list because the issues were so numerous. I got tired of calling the front desk, and eventually I was so disgusted that I just stopped. I mean, it's one thing to have one or two things go wrong, but this was just ridiculous. It really soured my time in SLC. I travel there frequently for work and stay at many of the downtown hotels, and this was the worst--very disappointing for the Hyatt brand. Also, when I emailed in a complaint, I got no response. Not only would I not recommend it to friends, I would actively discourage people from booking.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012 via mobile

Stayed here for a big conference in SLC. Pretty close like a few minutes walk and next to the mall for some shopping. This is a very clean hotel with great staff. Taxi to airport is around $15-20 ish.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012 via mobile

A large spacious room, quiet and convenient to transport. Great place to stay for a week attending a conference. Great staff with a causal atmosphere that made the stay easy - enough room to relax. Off street parking for $10/night, free wifi, gym and breakfast all enhanced stay.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hyatt Place Salt Lake City - Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Place Salt Lake City - Downtown

Address: 55 N. 400 West, Salt Lake City, UT 84101
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Utah > Salt Lake City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Family Hotel in Salt Lake City
#16 Romantic Hotel in Salt Lake City
#21 Business Hotel in Salt Lake City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hyatt Place Salt Lake City - Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 128
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Hyatt Place Salt Lake City - Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Place Salt Lake City Hotel Salt Lake City
Hyatt Place Salt Lake City - Downtown Utah

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hyatt Place Salt Lake City - Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.