We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hyatt Place Salt Lake City - Downtown

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hyatt Place Salt Lake City - Downtown to your Saves list
Hyatt Place Salt Lake City - Downtown
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   55 N. 400 West, Salt Lake City, UT 84101   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Double Your Points
Ranked #14 of 74 Hotels in Salt Lake City
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Delaware
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
55 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
“Great value”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2011

Huge new rooms, super clean, nice gym and pool, a great location, and really inexpensive for the quality. The only negative is that check in may take a while because there is only one person working the desk at a time. Dallas checked us in, was very apologetic for our wait (it really was only about 7 minutes), and gave us free parking to compensate us. This hotel is right next to the Gateway shopping center with it's many stores, restaurants, and movie theater. We switched to a ski resort after staying in the city for a couple of days and we wish we hadn't. We payed four times as much per night at the resort, it was more luxurious but less than half the size. Next time we will stay in the city and drive to the resort; the food is better and the price is right.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

324 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    176
    98
    33
    13
    4
See reviews for
91
85
25
86
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Salt Lake City, Utah
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2011

Some girlfriends and I stayed here and we loved it. The room is nice and big. Having the sofa bed couch was great. There were 2 queen beds which I found difficult to find in the city. The service was superb and they were very willing to help us and even gave us an extra parking pass with no charge. The free breakfast had a lot of different options and was great for being free. The price was right too. An excellent hotel for the price.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Top Contributor
148 reviews 148 reviews
67 hotel reviews
Reviews in 66 cities Reviews in 66 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2011

This place is right next door to the gateway mall, which is very convenient. Rooms are nice and clean. Free wifi and continental breakfast. I would stay there again.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2011

Huge clean rooms, new, friendly staff, amble breakfast, great value. Less than a one minute walk to some excellent shopping at the sleek Gateway outdoor mall (Apple store, A&F, Barnes & Noble, many more). Less than 10 min taxi to the airport. Less than 10 min walk to Temple Square or TRAX. Ideally located. Pity no airport shuttle.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2011

We stayed here two nights in September. It is within walking distance of most of the major sights in Salt Lake City, including the Mormon Temple complex. It is also adjacent to a very attractive shopping mall with good restaurants. The old Union Pacific Railroad station serves as one of the entrances to the mall. The tram is nearby. Construction in the front of the hotel makes access a little confusing at first. We appreciated being able to park in the lot at the rear of the hotel, where there is another hotel entrance. Service was good. Rooms were comfortable and attractive. Breakfast was included in the price and was very good. Construction work (in front AND back) closed down during the evening and night, so noise was not a problem. Overall, a very good place to stay.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danville, California
Top Contributor
155 reviews 155 reviews
50 hotel reviews
Reviews in 66 cities Reviews in 66 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2011

When you need to feel secure, comfortable, and Able to do business this is the best hotel. I've stayed here during the Week. They are across from the mall, fuel, and the freeway. I was on business and felt very safe and they provided everything I needed. Great place.

  • Stayed June 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Wa
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2011

From the moment I checked in, I had bad encounters with the staff. One would be reasonable, multiple bad encounters on multiple days is unacceptable. Customer service is severely lacking at this hotel.
1. Check-in: person busy waited for a long period of time without ANY acknowledgement and then told to use kiosk.
2. Was not informed there would be a charge for parking, had to ask where I should park
3. Waited to order a glass of wine and then told I could not take it to my room – again very rudely. Said OK, I will drink it in the bar THEN told I had to order food. Said OK, I’ll take a cookie. Told NO again. 2 gentlemen at the bar were drinking a beer and I asked them what they ordered and they had not ordered any food. The person then openly scolded the person that served them the beer. This was in front of approx. 6 people. I was appalled at the entire experience. I travel 8-10 times per year for business and have NEVER had such a bad customer service experience as I did at this hotel.
4. Check-out. No one was around and 1 of the 2 kisoks was not working.

Room Tip: Rooms were nice and large
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hyatt Place Salt Lake City - Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Place Salt Lake City - Downtown

Address: 55 N. 400 West, Salt Lake City, UT 84101
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Utah > Salt Lake City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Family Hotel in Salt Lake City
#17 Romantic Hotel in Salt Lake City
#29 Business Hotel in Salt Lake City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hyatt Place Salt Lake City - Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 128
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hyatt Place Salt Lake City - Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Place Salt Lake City Hotel Salt Lake City
Hyatt Place Salt Lake City - Downtown Utah

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hyatt Place Salt Lake City - Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.