We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“so fun and great animals” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Utah's Hogle Zoo

Utah's Hogle Zoo
2600 East Sunnyside Ave., Salt Lake City, UT 84108
801-582-1631
Website
Improve this listing
Visit Utah's Hogle Zoo like an insider
Top Rated
$31*
and up
Salt Lake City Hop-On Hop-Off Tour
Ranked #32 of 144 things to do in Salt Lake City
Activities: Walking
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Family-friendly entertainment at affordable prices: this zoo features more than 1,100 animals fom all over the world.
west palm beach, florida
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“so fun and great animals”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

wonderful trip for the whole family. loved all the animals especially zuri the elephant and the polar bears.

wonderful displays and so interesting.

not to be missed, you will love it and very reasonably priced.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

305 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    97
    140
    47
    12
    9
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Grand Junction
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“nice zoo and making it even better”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

We were there at 1:30 in July. It was very very hot and animals were not active. the price is affordable, the zoo is clean, and the staff is happy and helpful. I have been there before and kids were given a bird seed stick, but we didn't see that this time. The bird show was neat. The seal show and polar bears are my all time favorite. We would have been wise to see if the zoo posts a schedule of animal feedings and activities. I saw people with coolers so it might be nice to pack a lunch and take drinks if you were inclined.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boise, ID
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“I need more stars for this place!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

This is the best zoo I have ever been to. The entrance fee is very reasonable and well worth it. You can tell that the animals are all taken very well care of. They are all healthy, active, and very interesting to watch. I have never been to a zoo where they have staff members actively patrolling in order to answer questions and help visitors. We were able to watch their young Silverback Gorilla have lunch while asking one of the zoo ambassadors question after question about him and the other primates we were viewing. The bird show is top notch and a must see if you visit the zoo. They are in the process of building a safari exhibit that looks like it will be pretty awesome. I can't wait to return and check it out!

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City, Utah
Top Contributor
148 reviews 148 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
101 helpful votes 101 helpful votes
“Go for the bird show”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

The zoo is under serious construction and has little in the way of animals, but the World of Flight bird show is worth a trip to this zoo. It's interactive, informative, entertaining and fun. The show times are 11am and 1pm everyday with a third showtime at 3pm Friday - Sunday. It's a good opportunity to get up close and personal and get some good photographs of some amazing birds.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
29 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Paid to see dirt not animals”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013 via mobile

Save your money and avoid this zoo for the summer. Half the place is torn up due to construction leaving an unattractive view of dirt every where. The train and play ground for the kids are gone as well.
Didn't even get to see most of the animals since it has been so hot. You are better off going to a park.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Utah's Hogle Zoo also viewed

 

Been to Utah's Hogle Zoo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Utah's Hogle Zoo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.