We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great and moving overview of Mormon history” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Church History Museum

Church History Museum
45 N. West Temple, Salt Lake City, UT 84150
801-240-3310
Website
Improve this listing
Type: Specialty Museums, Museums
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Museum detailing the history of the Church of Latter Day Saints.
Menlo Park, California
Top Contributor
141 reviews 141 reviews
40 attraction reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
94 helpful votes 94 helpful votes
“great and moving overview of Mormon history”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

The Mormon pioneers played an important role in the settlement of the American West and in the development of the United States. This historical exhibit is well done and, I found, quite moving in its depiction of Mormon piety and their search for religious freedom, and their work to make the desert bloom in creating Salt Lake City and modern Utah.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

152 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    102
    36
    10
    3
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Draper, Utah
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
28 attraction reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Inspiring and Entertaining”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

I spent over two hours pouring over the exhibits here. They are a fascinating testament to the perseverance of the founders of the LDS church and Salt Lake City.

Special note: All displays are family friendly (interestingly displayed to appeal to even younger family members) and there is a special interactive area for children which is among the best I've seen in a museum focused on history.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryville, Tennessee
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Perfect”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

We very much enjoyed visiting the museum. It was wonderful to see many of the things that I have heard about all my life.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galway, Ireland
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
17 attraction reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“very interesting”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2012

This should also be on your list of places to visit, seeing the struggle the pioneers had to endure, is inspiring. Such an interesting place so filled with history. Really like it.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitewater, Colorado, United States
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
15 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Great Salt Lake Trip”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

VERY informative. We learned a lot about the Mormons and their journey to Salt Lake. They had a rough life back in those days....

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Church History Museum also viewed

 

Been to Church History Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Church History Museum, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.