We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Avenues Gem” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ellerbeck Mansion Bed & Breakfast

Save Saved
You added Ellerbeck Mansion Bed & Breakfast to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Ellerbeck Mansion Bed & Breakfast
2.5 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   140 North B Street, Salt Lake City, UT 84103   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 11 Salt Lake City B&B and Inns
Salt Lake City
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Avenues Gem”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2012 via mobile

My husband and I had an impromptu weekend getaway at the Ellerbeck Mansion B&B. We were welcomed right away. The room we stayed in (winter dreams) was very clean, large and beautifully decorated. Our bathroom was down the hall but robes were provided for us. The other rooms had on suites. The neighborhood is full of historical homes and mansions. We were given three great options for breakfast. There was so much food I couldn't finish it all.
I will definitely be returning to this wonderful B&B.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

18 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    9
    5
    1
    1
    2
See reviews for
1
8
2
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2011

We recently spent time at the Ellerbeck and I have to say that it was a big disappointment. While it was "o.k.", it lacked the charm and extras that one comes to expect when staying at a B&B. Honestly, there was nothing that set this place apart and I would have felt more pampered if I'd chosen a nice hotel for the same amount of money.

Aside from the antiques, the decor looked tired and dated, there just wasn't a freshness about it. The remodeled bathroom was nice, but would have benefited from a little TLC, the fixtures were clean, but the corners & moldings were dusty. Stains on the ceiling were unappealing as was the good sized hole in the ceiling.

Breakfast was served in a cramped room that that lacked any decor. It served it's purpose, but it was just blah. There was also a fair amount of clutter on the other surfaces in the room, papers and such. As for the breakfast - guests are given choices from an order form. The food was nothing special and nothing I couldn't go and purchase at my local Sam's Club or Costco. Disappointing because "Breakfast" is 1/2 the reason we like to stay at B&B's.

Now, in order to be fair, here are the things I liked. . .
The exterior is really beautiful
Beautiful stained glass window and staircase leading to the upstairs
Spacious bedrooms
It was quiet
Nice common area with a good selection of books
Guests have access to the kitchen until 10 p.m. and there was a good variety of snacks and beverages available to us

Overall, kind of a been there done that experience. I would not recommend

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mission Beach, Australia
Top Contributor
105 reviews 105 reviews
48 hotel reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2011

Enjoyed our 3 nights stay. Comfortable beds and great house with plenty of places to sit and read and relax. Vey close to some good restaurants adn coffeshops. Loved The Wild Grape and the Pagoda (Japanese) restaurants nearby. Manager does great job!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SF
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2009

We had a wonderful stay. We stayed in the Spring Room - so light and gentle; the bathroom was a delight and opened to a private roof deck.

Debbie, the innkeeper, was the perfect balance of service and giving us the space to be private and feel at home. There are 2 sitting areas - one right outside of the bedoom that afforded pleasant relaxing time in the eveing.

I thought it was the perfect location - walking distance to downtown, yet quietly residential with tree lined streets.

We loved it.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2009

We to Salt Lake City on business and we were looking for a change of pace. The Ellerbeck Mansion Historic B & B built in Victorian Era circa 1892 fit the bill. From the moment Debbie greeted us at the door our stay was perfect. My room the "Calm Seas" overlooked B Street in the historic district. The furnishings were comfortable and very clean. Breakfast included a fresh fruit dish which was wonderful. Downtown, Temple Square and the Family History Library are withing walking distance. There is free parking in the rear. This is also a great city park within walking distance called Memory Grove Park with a great jogging route up City Creek Canyon Road. - Ed and Joe

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lansing, MI
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2009

This lovely old home was delightful. I stayed for a week during a conference, and it was wonderful to get away from the convention center and the big box hotels, and pad into the sparkling kitchen to get myself a cup of (complimentary) tea in the evenings. It was a short walk to downtown through the lovely flowers and fountains of the Mormon Temple Square. I felt safe walking at night. The B&B was super-clean. I never saw a bug or a speck of dust. The innkeeper was helpful and friendly. Breakfast was delicious, and not so huge you felt like you were wasting half of it. I had the Summer Hill room which was charming. The rocking chair was so comfy! I can't say enough good things about this B&B. Do yourself a favor and stay here if you get the chance.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
montana
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2009

after reading the last reviews I was really worried as I had not checked these before booking - when I got there I mentioned the bad reviews - the manager was sorry to hear about the reviews and really tried to make a good impression. We found the inn to be very clean - no problems there. It is a great location - walking distance to the main downtown and great restaurants. Breakfast was average at best - fruit was good. Manager was pleasant - better experience than I expected - I would stay there again

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ellerbeck Mansion Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ellerbeck Mansion Bed & Breakfast

Address: 140 North B Street, Salt Lake City, UT 84103
Location: United States > Utah > Salt Lake City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Salt Lake City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Ellerbeck Mansion Bed & Breakfast 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ellerbeck Mansion is conveniently located at the corner of 3rd Avenue and B Street, in a quiet residential neighborhood just five blocks from the center of downtown Salt Lake City. Guests can walk to Historic Temple Square, museums, Family History Library,downtown shopping and dining. The mansion isa short fifteen minute drive from the Salt Lake International Airport and just 30 to 45 minutes from our famous ski resorts. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Ellerbeck Mansion Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ellerbeck Mansion Bed & Breakfast Salt Lake City, Utah

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ellerbeck Mansion Bed & Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.