We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good rooms, good location” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Candlewood Suites Salt Lake City - Airport

Save Saved
You added Candlewood Suites Salt Lake City - Airport to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Candlewood Suites Salt Lake City - Airport
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2170 W North Temple, Salt Lake City, UT 84116   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #42 of 75 hotels in Salt Lake City
San Diego CA
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Good rooms, good location”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2013

I booked this hotel to save money over convention center hotels and it was a good choice. Reasonable price, near the Trax, nice staff, nice room, very convenient to have a full kitchen. There is no restaurant on site but you can walk to some good ones and hop on the Trax to get anywhere.
Reasonable prices on sodas and snacks in the convenience store, too.

Room Tip: Walking distance to Trax, very helpful and friendly staff, nice rooms with full size kitchen.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Candlewood Suites Salt Lake City - Airport, responded to this review, December 7, 2013
Dear Mary Beth W,

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us your feedback. I am pleased to know that you liked our rooms and rate. Your review is vital for improving the service and quality we offer to our valued guest. It is always hugely motivating when one takes the time and trouble to acknowledge or give points for improvement. We hope to get the opportunity of welcoming you back in the future. Thank you once again for your valuable comment, and if you might have any suggestions that will contribute to enhancing your stay, please do not hesitate to contact us.

Sincerely,

Krysllin G.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

70 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    24
    26
    7
    9
    4
See reviews for
5
22
14
28
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Sherman Oaks, & Aust
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2013

This hotel and it's people deliver about the best value in Salt Lake City - spacious, very well designed and maintained rooms and services for both the business and family traveller. It's not 5 star luxury, but 95% of both groups of travellers will find it as comfortable. 'High end' fit-out, big fridge, very comfortable bed, plenty of lighting, desk, bench and shelf space. Modern bathrooms with new, highly efficient plumbing. Flat screen and DVD player. Plenty of power points. Well-equipped, clean gym.
Although near the airport, it's quiet.
If you have a car, you'll find it very convenient - if you don't, you won't be too inconvenienced.
The staff are thoughtfully, genuinely helpful; not the mindless, robotic, superficial, programmed friendly service you find in so many places. These people want you to have an enjoyable, trouble-free stay, whatever your needs.
If you find fault here, it's because you want to, and you'll find fault anywhere.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kailua, Hawaii
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

This hotel does not (or did not) have any rooms with more than 1 queen size bed. When I made my reservation it was for a "standard suite" which I assumed would have a bedroom or at least a sofa sleeper. I had to rent another room for my adult son. Other than that the room was clean. Rooms are cleaned only once a week but you can request additional cleaning. Best part was the free laundry. There is also a small pantry with an honor system payment method. The rates were very reasonable and there is a shuttle to the airport. Also, no printers available for the guests.

Room Tip: My room (216) had a very noisy air conditioner. Make sure you check out if the air conditioner has a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Candlewood Suites Salt Lake City - Airport, responded to this review, October 20, 2013
Dear OahuBandMom,

Thank you for taking the time to express your thoughts and concerns. Kindly accept my sincerest apologies for the housekeeping service you have experienced and disappointment you had with the rooms. Please be assured that we treat this matter seriously and actions will be taken by the management accordingly. I appreciate your feedback as this is our best resource for improving guest services. I hope that you will give us another opportunity to provide you with exceptional service.

Sincerely,

Zelyn N
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

We stayed there one night to make an early flight home. We chose it because it was the cheapest IHC property in the area and we use their loyalty program. In fact it was a free night.

Without any prompting we were given a one bedroom suite and it was very nice. Clean, wsell layed out and, wonder of wonder, scads of electric outlets.

The common areas were tiny and a bit dreary. Not dirty or anything like that but a bit institutional looking. The room itself was much better.

All in all, just average but at the price an excellent value

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Candlewood Suites Salt Lake City - Airport, responded to this review, October 8, 2013
Dear stevej2001,

Thank you for taking the time to review our property. We work diligently to ensure our facilities are well maintained and we try our hardest to provide not just good value, but comfortable, clean and friendly accommodations. I am very pleased that you liked our room accommodations. However, it is regrettable to hear that our common areas did not live up to your expectations. Please accept our sincere apologies for any inconvenience it may have caused you. Your comments are important to the success of our organization, as we rely on you, our guest, to tell us how we are doing and how we can better meet your needs.

Your patronage and support to the hotel is very important to us and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Sincerely,

Lera P
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

We landed real late that night. The property is conveniently located near the SLC airport. The front desk staff were warm and welcoming. I and my husband quite liked the fact that check in and out formalities were real quick and easy. The rooms are pretty sufficient, real clean with comfortable bed. There is a small kitchen area with all possible amenities including fridge and microwave. Yes that ensures guests carrying to-go food boxes will have one one less thing to worry about. Did I mention the dinner was a short drive from here? The stay was comfortable and convenient for us. I would recommend this property for a comfortable and pleasant stay.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munroe Falls
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

Very close to airport. Be aware that they do not have their own shuttle, but do have free transportation. It is just not flexible. It is a private company that runs roughly every half-of-an hour. It is pretty easy, it was just a surprise to us. Room was more than adequate for one night. Small kitchen area with fridge and nicely remodeled room. Did I say how close to the airport?

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NJ
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

Not a good experience at all... the only good thing was the location and free laundry.. the room was clean , and bed was comfortable..there was a kitchenette which was nice except range did not work.. but microwave and fridge was fine.. but the worst part of my stay was:
1. The front desk assigned my room to someone else even though they assigned to me. I was in bed, sleeping . someone came in my room as i slept in bed.. i was very frightened. I was alone and very scared when someone came in.
2. Front desk staff extremely rude, especially blonde hair girl with short hair hat i checked in with on august 10 around 3:00m very rude...
3. Very thin floors. i could hear person above me walking heavily all night.
I would not recommend this place at all.. stay somewhere else. This is an extended hotel, it can have a rough crowd.. I advise LaQuinta, thats pretty nice... i just wouldnt recommend this place. its one of the worst experiences ever.. in all of the countries and places i visited, this is one of the worst..

Room Tip: if you absoutely must stay here., ask for third floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Candlewood Suites Salt Lake City - Airport, responded to this review, September 1, 2013
Dear Bavavia,

We welcome feedback especially from our valued guests like you. We are always happy to provide a consistently clean, comfortable and courteous place for our guest to stay. We apologize for the inconvenience you encountered due to the conduct of our hotel staff, noise challenges and issues encountered during your stay. Your comments will help us improve our services and offer a great experience for our guest. While we understand that your stay was not 100% satisfactory, we would hope that you would give us another chance to make your stay as best as it can be.

Again, thank you for sharing your thoughts and we hope that you will consider us again on your next travel.

Sincerely,

Zelyn N
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Candlewood Suites Salt Lake City - Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Candlewood Suites Salt Lake City - Airport

Address: 2170 W North Temple, Salt Lake City, UT 84116
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Utah > Salt Lake City
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#32 Business Hotel in Salt Lake City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Candlewood Suites Salt Lake City - Airport 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come and experience our new Comforts of Home™ Bedding Collection. The Candlewood Suites Salt Lake City Airport Hotel is an ideal choice for both business and leisure travelers. Each spacious suite has a fully equipped kitchen complete with a full-size refrigerator/ice maker, microwave, range, and dishwasher. Traveling on business? Bring your laptop and work efficiently at your executive desk. Communication is no problem with voicemail, free local calls, free high speed Internet access and two separate phone lines. Borrow your favorite movie or music from the hotel library and enjoy in your room from the comfort of your recliner. Hungry? Visit the Candlewood Cupboard, our on-site convenience store, and charge it to your room. Work off some stress in our 24-hour Fitness Center. Staying a long time? Take advantage of our on-site complimentary laundry facility. We re a pet friendly hotel too (fees apply). The Candlewood Suites Salt Lake City Airport Hotel is located just 2 Miles West of Downtown Salt Lake City and Temple Square. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, BookIt.com, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Candlewood Suites Salt Lake City - Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Candlewood Suites Salt Lake City - Airport Hotel Salt Lake City
Candlewood Salt Lake City
Salt Lake City Candlewood Suites
Candlewood Suites Salt Lake City - Airport Utah

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Candlewood Suites Salt Lake City - Airport, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.