We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A comfortable stay near SLC airport” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Candlewood Suites Salt Lake City - Airport

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Candlewood Suites Salt Lake City - Airport to your Saves list
Candlewood Suites Salt Lake City - Airport
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2170 W North Temple, Salt Lake City, UT 84116   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #46 of 75 Hotels in Salt Lake City
New Jersey
Level Contributor
31 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“A comfortable stay near SLC airport”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

We landed real late that night. The property is conveniently located near the SLC airport. The front desk staff were warm and welcoming. I and my husband quite liked the fact that check in and out formalities were real quick and easy. The rooms are pretty sufficient, real clean with comfortable bed. There is a small kitchen area with all possible amenities including fridge and microwave. Yes that ensures guests carrying to-go food boxes will have one one less thing to worry about. Did I mention the dinner was a short drive from here? The stay was comfortable and convenient for us. I would recommend this property for a comfortable and pleasant stay.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

99 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    30
    41
    12
    9
    7
See reviews for
11
28
14
37
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Munroe Falls
Level Contributor
33 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

Very close to airport. Be aware that they do not have their own shuttle, but do have free transportation. It is just not flexible. It is a private company that runs roughly every half-of-an hour. It is pretty easy, it was just a surprise to us. Room was more than adequate for one night. Small kitchen area with fridge and nicely remodeled room. Did I say how close to the airport?

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NJ
Level Contributor
50 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

Not a good experience at all... the only good thing was the location and free laundry.. the room was clean , and bed was comfortable..there was a kitchenette which was nice except range did not work.. but microwave and fridge was fine.. but the worst part of my stay was:
1. The front desk assigned my room to someone else even though they assigned to me. I was in bed, sleeping . someone came in my room as i slept in bed.. i was very frightened. I was alone and very scared when someone came in.
2. Front desk staff extremely rude, especially blonde hair girl with short hair hat i checked in with on august 10 around 3:00m very rude...
3. Very thin floors. i could hear person above me walking heavily all night.
I would not recommend this place at all.. stay somewhere else. This is an extended hotel, it can have a rough crowd.. I advise LaQuinta, thats pretty nice... i just wouldnt recommend this place. its one of the worst experiences ever.. in all of the countries and places i visited, this is one of the worst..

Room Tip: if you absoutely must stay here., ask for third floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Candlewood Suites Salt Lake City - Airport, responded to this review, September 1, 2013
Dear Bavavia,

We welcome feedback especially from our valued guests like you. We are always happy to provide a consistently clean, comfortable and courteous place for our guest to stay. We apologize for the inconvenience you encountered due to the conduct of our hotel staff, noise challenges and issues encountered during your stay. Your comments will help us improve our services and offer a great experience for our guest. While we understand that your stay was not 100% satisfactory, we would hope that you would give us another chance to make your stay as best as it can be.

Again, thank you for sharing your thoughts and we hope that you will consider us again on your next travel.

Sincerely,

Zelyn N
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City
Level Contributor
84 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013

when I have visitors to my company I recommend this hotel as I was invited to ture it during the grand opening in 1997. I recently stayed there after working until 11:00 at night and had to be back at 6:00 am. (yes same clothes but I always keep a tooth brush/paste and make up at work) It is still a great place to stay. I love the kitchen in each room and the popcorn hit the spot while trying to wind down and only a 3 minute drive if that from work. I am going to stay here again next time my hubby gives me any attitude! LOL.

Room Tip: if you do not want to eat out everynight buy some food first. This hotel is not really near anythin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Level Contributor
394 reviews
112 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

Decent hotel, most Candlewoods are. Has everything you need for your stay. There is a short drive for dinner. Staff was friendly and check in and out was quick and easy. I would have not problem staying again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Candlewood Suites Salt Lake City - Airport, responded to this review, July 17, 2013
Dear Adak C,

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your comments online. It is very nice to know that you found the staff friendly. Please accept my apologies for falling short of your expectations on some aspects of your stay. However, we are thankful that you enjoyed your stay despite some issues. I appreciate your feedback as this is our best resource for improving guest services. We all hope that we will have the opportunity to host you again on a future visit.

Sincerely,

Karen G.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, TN
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2013 via mobile

The room we stayed in would be perfect for a business trip. The kitchenette was not top of the line but functional, except that our kitchen sink did not work. The bathroom was clean and spacious. Excellent water pressure, though we were on the first floor. The bedroom was a nice size and the bed itself was comfortable but the pillows, while seeming fluffy flattened with even slight pressure. That was my only complaint, however. Overall, it was more than we needed for a one night stay, but it was comfortable and would suit anyone staying multiple days.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Box Elder, South Dakota
Level Contributor
114 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013

I have to admit I had my doubts.. I usually stay at major chains and this was the first time I have stayed at a Candlewood property. The lobby is more of a window counter and a quite small waiting area, however the rooms are great value. My room had a small kitchen and a huge office meeting style desk, which I absolutely loved, a queen bed in the "living room" and a queen in the separate bedroom and a decent bathroom. Without transport there doesn't seem to be too many options other than delivery, or hit the "store" downstairs. I wasn't too hungry so I hit the downstairs cupboard. There is quite a selection down there, from sandwiches to complete frozen meals. Each shelf has a price but nothing over $5, so I decided to go upscale and splash out with the $5 (Healthy choice beef something or other), which turned out to be pretty good.
This is a good choice - I hope they are all this good, I booked another one next week as a result.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Salt Lake City hotels
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites - Airport / East
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suit...
#15 of 75 in Salt Lake City
4.5 of 5 stars 144 reviews
2.6 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Salt Lake City Airport
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham...
#43 of 75 in Salt Lake City
3.5 of 5 stars 523 reviews
11.5 mi away
Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Salt Lake City-Fort Union
Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Salt ...
#34 of 75 in Salt Lake City
4.0 of 5 stars 395 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Airport Inn Hotel
Airport Inn Hotel
#49 of 75 in Salt Lake City
3.5 of 5 stars 279 reviews
0.1 mi away
Comfort Suites Airport
Comfort Suites Airport
#16 of 75 in Salt Lake City
4.0 of 5 stars 160 reviews
3.7 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites SLC Airport
Hampton Inn & Suites SLC Airport
#14 of 75 in Salt Lake City
4.5 of 5 stars 482 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Candlewood Suites Salt Lake City - Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Candlewood Suites Salt Lake City - Airport

Address: 2170 W North Temple, Salt Lake City, UT 84116
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Utah > Salt Lake City
Amenities:
Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #46 of 75 Hotels in Salt Lake City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Candlewood Suites Salt Lake City - Airport 2*
Number of rooms: 122
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come and experience our new Comforts of Home™ Bedding Collection. The Candlewood Suites Salt Lake City Airport Hotel is an ideal choice for both business and leisure travelers. Each spacious suite has a fully equipped kitchen complete with a full-size refrigerator/ice maker, microwave, range, and dishwasher. Traveling on business? Bring your laptop and work efficiently at your executive desk. Communication is no problem with voicemail, free local calls, free high speed Internet access and two separate phone lines. Borrow your favorite movie or music from the hotel library and enjoy in your room from the comfort of your recliner. Hungry? Visit the Candlewood Cupboard, our on-site convenience store, and charge it to your room. Work off some stress in our 24-hour Fitness Center. Staying a long time? Take advantage of our on-site complimentary laundry facility. We re a pet friendly hotel too (fees apply). The Candlewood Suites Salt Lake City Airport Hotel is located just 2 Miles West of Downtown Salt Lake City and Temple Square. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, IHG, Odigeo, BookIt.com, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Candlewood Suites Salt Lake City - Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Candlewood Suites Salt Lake City - Airport Hotel Salt Lake City
Candlewood Salt Lake City
Salt Lake City Candlewood Suites
Candlewood Suites Salt Lake City - Airport Utah

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Candlewood Suites Salt Lake City - Airport, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.