We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Check in people nice & hotel cheap but it ends there” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Motel 6 Salt Lake City Downtown

Save Saved
You added Motel 6 Salt Lake City Downtown to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Motel 6 Salt Lake City Downtown
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   176 West 600th South Street, I-15/80 at Exit 310, Salt Lake City, UT 84101   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #60 of 76 Hotels in Salt Lake City
Napier, New Zealand
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Check in people nice & hotel cheap but it ends there”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

Asked for a non smoking room - got a room that smelt strongly of smoke. Bad area of town - didn't feel safe , good price for Salt Lake City - 55 dollars for two before tax. Walls thin, noisy - security guard walking round all night.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

48 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    7
    6
    14
    6
    15
See reviews for
6
13
10
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013


This is an updated location, yet in a bad neighborhood: prostitutes hang out on the street corner just outside the motel, a hired security guard paces the balcony all night. When we arrived at midnight, the cashier was breaking up a wild party.

Reservation said 2 beds, clerk gave us 1.

Changed rooms, 1 bath towel, had to get more.

Supposed to be non-smoking, yet someone smoked in this room.

There is free open wifi, yet the night we were staying, it wasn't working, so used 3G.

On the bright side, the beds are comfortable and the commodes work great!

I had made reservations ahead for 2 nights, so the cashier wanted us to pay ahead, yet because of the location, my husband wanted us to stay only one night, so she agreed to make the change.

There are no queen beds at this location, even though the national reservation rep promised us 2 queen beds.

Our cost was $77 for the night, the posting in the room says $100 for the first person, etc.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Motel6, Public Relations Manager at Motel 6 Salt Lake City Downtown, responded to this review, August 24, 2013
Dear RABNs - Thank you for sharing your review. We sincerely apologize for the unpleasant stay you had as a result of the unwelcoming environment you found upon arrival, in addition to the reservation discrepancy and Wi-Fi issue you experienced. These issues are not consistent with Motel 6 standards for quality, and we kindly encourage you to contact our guest relations department so they can have a record of your experience to help us provide our guests with better service in the future: 1-800-577-3435.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Forest
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

When we do travel, we look for budget and clean. Motel 6 has always delivered that for us. We stayed at this Motel 6 in April while visiting the Univ of Utah with my daughter. It is a typical Motel 6; basic amenities, clean, in my budget and the location was great for us. We will be back in August to move her in for school and have already booked a room here.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leesburg,Fl
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

Check in was fine. Very polite and helpful your lady. They handed us a preprinted card that said to be sure to lock our room and car. If anyone knocks on your door, do not open it. Use the peep hole. This should have been a tip off but we took it as a good practice. The room was actually nice though lacking even the basic Kleenex bx. We settled in and though we might stay another night or two.
0300-there's the warning card. Person BANGING on our door. Used the peephole and could only see a big face. Peeked out the drape and saw a man and a running pickup truck. He didn't give up easily but finally left.
Morning desk person simply said we should have called the front desk. No sympathy.We did not stay any additional nights.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

Let's not mince words: this is a Motel 6, a chain not known for being fancy, and this location isn't. But, considering the reputation, I was pleasantly surprised at the quality of the room. Basic but clean accommodation with a nice good-faith attempt at trendy styling in the bathroom areas.

I'd stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
362 reviews 362 reviews
49 hotel reviews
Reviews in 85 cities Reviews in 85 cities
89 helpful votes 89 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013 via mobile

Passing through Salt Lake City on business and needed inexpensive room for the weekend and this Motel 6 was the answer. Located downtown and for only 49.99 plus tax its hard to beat. Better than most other Motel 6's which are located on noisy interstates. The front desk clerks are friendly and check in was fast and easy. The room was clean & fresh smelling. The room appeared to have been remodeled recently. My only complaint was the very outdated very small TV. Easy walking distance to Starbucks and other restaurants.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boise, Idaho
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

I am the other guest in the room with reviewer ReNae58. She made the review better than it was. Let me correct the part about being evicted. I picked up the ringing phone in the morning having the office tell me if there were anymore problems between our room and the other that the police would be called. Not being able to get a word in to the lughead calling I handed phone to my sister in a W.T.F. way. This room was reserved for a second night but we had checked out and had that night refunded. Unbelievable!!!

Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Motel 6 Salt Lake City Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Motel 6 Salt Lake City Downtown

Address: 176 West 600th South Street, I-15/80 at Exit 310, Salt Lake City, UT 84101
Location: United States > Utah > Salt Lake City
Amenities:
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #60 of 76 Hotels in Salt Lake City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Motel 6 Salt Lake City Downtown 2*
Number of rooms: 109
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Tingo, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo and Venere so you can book your Motel 6 Salt Lake City Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Motel 6 Salt Lake City Downtown Hotel Salt Lake City
Motel Six Salt Lake City
Salt Lake City Motel Six
Salt Lake City Motel 6
Motel 6 Salt Lake City Downtown Utah

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Motel 6 Salt Lake City Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.